We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quantity not Quality”
Review of Circles Event Cafe

Circles Event Cafe
Ranked #5 of 1,361 Restaurants in Makati
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: When it comes to engaging, casual dining, Circles Event Cafe captivates food lovers with its fascinating open-theatre kitchens. Each station features its own selection of specialties, ranging from cold appetisers to seafood, Western cuisine to Asian cuisines, and desserts.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
718 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
“Quantity not Quality”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The variety of food is truly impressive. However, among our party of 8, not a single one of us found any dish to be more than passable, and some were outright disappointments.

The roast prime rib was clearly from a good cut of beef, but they managed to produce something tasteless. The Asian section had a very dry duck, a mediocre suckling pig, and sidewalk-vendor-quality noodle soups. The desserts were much less varied than the size of the total spread called for, and none of them were in any way remarkable. The Japanese section was competent, but no different from what you would be able to order in dozens of other restaurants around town.

The food attendants were less attentive to Filipinos than Caucasians. This is a common comment about Shangri-La hotels in the Philippines. The wait-staff initially tried to put us in a back-room, were slow to clear soiled plates, made no effort to be of any service except when summoned, and indeed often failed to notice that we were trying to get their attention. Our second bottle of wine (different than the first) took 15 minutes to be brought to us, and it was warm and needed to be chilled another 15 minutes in the ice-bucket.

We first ate at this restaurant over 5 years ago, and have come maybe once a year. I will also venture to opine that the clientele has gone down-market. The quality of people's dress, appearance, English, and table manners is appreciably lower than it used to be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    95
    53
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“high quality”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

lot of varieties from japanese, chinese, indian, arabic and western food everything was available with an authentic taste and excellent quality.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ann6230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“UNLI FOOD!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

best buffet ever!!!!!! you should try their seafood section... they even have lechon and unlimited bacon bits here... their chocolate cookies are awesome too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whatthefudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food was great!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had breakfast and lunch at the Circles Event Cafe and my expectations was met. All the presentation of all the food were nice and clean. A lot of selections to choose from.

Will definitely come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gcrevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing !”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I heard a lot about the diner buffet so I had high expectations. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. I started with a Sushi that was good. Then I wanted to move to the main course. I tried all kind of dishes (almost 6-7) and all of them were not good. I tried the Duck the Turkey the Shawarma the Lamb the Chicken, different Sauces but all was very disappointed. I ended up eating rice … and for 3,000php it’s very expensive for plain rice. Their desserts are good, but not worth the price you pay to eat there. If you want to spend 3,000php on dinner there are better places to eat in Makati.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AsafG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circles Event Cafe also viewed

 
Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Circles Event Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing