We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly above Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slightly above Average”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. We won a free night, the first time we stayed and it seemed adequate at that time. Due to it's location, it is a convenient place to stay for my husband's quarterly doctors visits in Auburn. The other reason we chose to stay here (and not Syracuse), was that it has an Irish Bar and we thought since it was St. Patrick's Day, we could stay right on site and enjoy the festivities. We arrived early evening and did not get a positive feel when we checked in. The woman behind the desk was not at all helpful. She did not know what was going on in the restaurant, other than there was music and food. She did not point us in the direction of our room and when asked, gave us inaccurate information. The room was clean but the tub did not drain properly. After searching out other options for St. Patty's Day festivities, we decided to stay at the hotel and go to McMurphy's. Our Irish dinner was average, as well as the entertainment. We then decided to go in the indoor pool. We were disappointed that they did not have a hot tub, but were pleasantly surprised how nice the heated pool was! The beds were not overly comfortable, but not the worst I have slept on. The shower/tub needed some attention, as the water control plunger was not working well. Also, since the tub did not drain well, we had water up to our calves while showering. There was not a free breakfast, but there was free coffee. After getting a couple of cups of coffee however, the machine started brewing out light brown colored water. My husband reported it, but it was still in the same condition over an hour later. At that point, we left and went to Dunkin' Donuts!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgeschips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ridgeschips,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I am pleased you like our clean rooms and convenient location. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. I was disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the room amenities and level of service received from our staff, and would like to apologize for any inconveniences. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

Again, we appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    121
    82
    52
    27
See reviews for
120
105
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Left this property after only 5 hours. In-house a church service of sorts was was going on next to the pool in the public space with someone talking into a microphone for over 2 hours. Children roaming unattended everywhere.
We thought the last straw was when over 40 kids descending upon the pool with no adult supervision....until we arrived at our room to find young children blocking the entire hallway playing hockey again no adults in site. Told the front desk that all hell was breaking loose in their hotel and she said sorry I am here alone. We packed up and left as the noise was deafening. When we checked out the front desk attendant didn't say much. The toilet was dirty, and the room itself was something like you would find at a truckers motel. Will not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SYCmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Auburn NY. I apologize I was unable to exceed your expectations. The hotel was at maximum capacity with two groups during your stay.
We have security on property during these functions that are walking the floors to ensure guest concerns are addressed.
Our pool rules state children are to be supervised.
We inspect our hotel on a regular basis to ensure we exceed guest expectation on cleanliness. I apologize if we missed your room.
When you return to Auburn NY, I hope that you once again choose Holiday Inn and allow us to demonstrate our impeccable service that our guest expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We came from a weekend convention. The service was great. The food was mouth watering. The room was clean and comfortable. Lots of pillows. The front desk was professional. The bathroom was large. The shower was relaxing. The kids had a great time in the pool. I was pamper. Thanks for the great experience.

Room Tip: Suites are large and can fit large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Auburn. We pride ourselves on exceeding the expectations of our guest. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our McMurphy's Authentic Irish Pub.
We look forward to your next trip to Auburn NY and the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I got a Sunday rate for my first night, that was actually cheaper than the Days Inn. After that, I found it difficult to leave. Nevermind that I got sick. I was glad to be sick in such a nice place. Everyone at the desk was nice. No A-holes. A great place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Try the first floor. It worked for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Auburn, and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I was happy to read your review "Best Holiday Inn Ever." I was sorry to read that you were ill during your stay. I hope you are feeling 100% better. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Auburn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as a part of a wine tour package. I have to say that I was VERY impressed! The staff was very friendly, always saying Hello whenever you come in from outside. The room was nice comfy bed, nice size bathroom and really quiet! I would stay here again. Thanks for the great getaway!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammytigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, and for choosing the Holiday Inn Auburn. I was happy to read that you and your husband reviewed the Holiday Inn as a "Great Place" and were "VERY impressed!" Many visitors stay with us while visiting our award-winning wineries. I'm delighted that you and your husband had a great getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my two young daughters. The staff was very nice and very professional. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The rooms are very well cared for, clean and up to date. The place smelled nicely, My daughter has mildew issues and this place was wonderful, no problems at all. The pool was great fun although the acoustics of indoor pool can be a little sketchy. I would definitely recommend this hotel, the best I've stayed in the area at a very reasonable price. I've paid more money for bad experiences in the Ithaca area. The location was also great for going east, west and south, we did all three.

Room Tip: Suspect higher rooms may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeronimo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn during your recent visit to Auburn. I was so happy to read that you were very pleased with our staff, the cleanliness of our hotel, and the very reasonable price you paid for your accommodations. We hope you and your family will stay at the Holiday Inn Auburn again the next time your travels bring you to the Finger Lakes Region. Thank you again for your patronage and your review. We wish you and your family a very happy and healthy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from visiting Niagara Falls so it was a good mid-way point coming from the greater Boston area at a very reasonable price $$. We were given a room on the indoor courtyard side, so for the first two hours in the room we had to listen to screaming kids at the indoor pool and after driving all day that was not much fun. Fortunately they closed by 10pm! We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Irish pub and since our family is Irish it was fun to look @ all the Irish paraphernalia on all the walls. All of the portions were very huge and well-priced. It was especially nice that we didn't have to leave the hotel to go out to dinner. The hotel was very quiet as it was Thanksgiving weekend but they had the fireplace going and all the holiday decorations were already up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carohughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn on your way home from vacationing in Niagara Falls. I was happy to read that you were pleased with our "reasonable price" "comfortable beds" as well as "a delicious dinner at the Irish Pub." I am happy to add that our hotel is scheduled to be renovated this year, and we hope you and your family will stay with us again the next time your travel plans bring you near Auburn, NY. In the meantime, we wish you a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
5.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
7.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region

Property: Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Address: 75 North St, Auburn, NY 13021-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auburn, NY is located in the heart of the spectacular Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Come take a swim in our indoor-heated pool or relax with dinner and cocktails in McMurphy's Authentic Irish Pub. When you stay with us, you can enjoy shopping at Waterloo Premium Outlets and Bass Pro Shops, tour the wineries on the Cayuga Wine Trail and Seneca Wine Trail, visit our local historic sites, or enjoy a show at the new Merry-Go-Round Playhouse Finger Lakes Musical Theatre Festival. We are in the center of it all. Stay at the Auburn/Finger Lakes Holiday Inn and visit the scenic village of Skaneateles. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing