We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auburn, NY: Pass up the Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
latrobe
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Auburn, NY: Pass up the Holiday Inn”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Not worth the money.
Inside rooms surround the echo chamber pool. Little rest if you're an inside person during the day or evening. Weekend rates are doubled from weekdays.

The only saving grace for the facility I found was McMurphys Pub. the food was very good, reasonably priced and large portions.

What was discouraging was when I told locals I was staying there many made sour faces and said to try other places the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armedinfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Auburn. Weekend travel in the Finger Lakes and Auburn is busy. Our area is fortunate to have so many wonderful attractions and restaurants. I was glad you enjoyed our restaurant McMurphy's Pub. I will let the staff know that you wrote "the food was very good, reasonably prices and large portions." This winter our hotel is scheduled for a large renovation. Please try us again the next time your travels bring you to the Finger Lakes Region and Auburn, and I think you will really be very pleased with our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    121
    82
    52
    27
See reviews for
120
105
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We only stayed for one night. The hotel had a lot going on, there was a large group of motorcyclists, a wedding party, and many people in town to see a show at The Merry Go Round Theater. The front desk was packed with people but the staff was quick and efficient. They were friendly and helpful.
Even though there were that many people when it came to sleeping that night. We never heard anything from any other guests and we were on the 2nd floor.
The hotel is easy to get to from the New York State Thruway and is easily accessible to the main street in Auburn where there are shops and restaurants.
I do agree with other writers, the hotel could use some updating. For example I take the stairs and the stairwell could use a good cleaning. There was a chap stick lying on the floor near the vending machine both days we were there.
As far as the room, it was spacious, clean and cool. We were there in the beginning of August and it was hot that weekend but the room offered a nice break from the heat. Unfortunately, the common areas were warm and guests from the wedding party were over heard complaining about the heat. The room had a nice refrigerator and microwave. We did not use the coffee machine.
We did eat breakfast there and didn't find it over priced. The wait staff was attentive and the food was very good.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that our front desk "staff was quick and efficient. They were friendly and helpful." I was also glad to read that you were pleased with the spaciousness of your guestroom and our amenities, such as a refrigerator and microwave. We hope you will stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Finger Lakes Region. We will be renovating our hotel this winter, and I think you will be very pleased with what you will see when you return. Thank you again for staying at the Holiday Inn Auburn and for writing about us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, the cleaning people were very loud and noisy early on a Sunday morning. Noisy intoxicated guests were carrying on in the hallway at 4 in the morning. (There isn't much soundproofing from the hallway). The mattresses have likely seen better days. Last, one of the elevators was filthy. Grime on the buttons, grime on the moldings and filthy carpeting. I couldn't maintain signal for their free wireless. Though I received a discount due to a 3am arrival/booking, the normal rate of $169 is way to high for the poor quality of this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: I can not offer any tips. I did not like this hotel and will not stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schimizz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay. I was glad to read that our "front desk was very friendly and helpful." We receive many compliments about our front desk staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for the displeasures you encountered during your stay. All of your comments are appreciated, and will be addressed tomorrow at our next department head meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Area is so so, not much attractive. Hotel is big, thus lots of people. Reception is rush when we checked in. Swimming pool area is dark as well as corridor. Room is old, need some renovation. However, its still quite clean. There is no local street map available. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schimizz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently. I was sorry to learn that you felt your stay with us was "average" but glad that you were pleased with the cleanliness of your room. This hotel has a planned renovation scheduled for this winter. I hope you do try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a very long road trip and arrived much later than anticipated but we received a very warm welcome. We had a drink in the bar which had friendly staff. We had a nice quiet room where we slept in until 9:15 am the next day. Due to getting up so late we did not have time to enjoy the pool which looked very inviting. We had a nice room and everything worked, no complaints. This is the 2nd visit to this location and we will go again. It is close to the Finger Lakes which we were touring.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from ice makers etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schimizz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Holiday Inn Auburn on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you were greeted with "a very warm welcome" and "had a nice quiet room." Thank you too for your continued patronage. We appreciate and value your business, and look forward to the day that you return for another Finger Lakes vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were impressed by the size of our room & the splendid view from our 4th floor balcony into the interior courtyard with its swimming pool. Because it was a Saturday evening there was some kind of event (wedding-connected?) going on in the pool area & there was a lively air to the place. The restaurant on the premises was good but not great. However, the spaciousness of the room & the general sense of comfort gave us excellent value for the money. If you happen to be passing through the Auburn area, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schimizz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Good Day. Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Auburn and for taking the time to write a review about your stay on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you were 'impressed by the size and splendid view' of your guest room, and that it was "excellent value for the money." I was sorry to read that the restaurant was good but not great - did you dine in McMurphy's Pub or The Falls Room for breakfast? Your feedback is valuable to us. We hope you will stay with us again they next time your travels bring you to Auburn or if you are just passing through. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Can't rate this much more than average. The front desk was very friendly at check-in. When I went to use the iron it leaked water all over, and the iron board cover was also coming off. I left a comment card on the iron board for the maid the next morning. When we returned the card was gone. The iron and board were exactly as I left them.I went to the front desk and asked for another iron. She promised to have one sent up. About 30 minutes later, I went back to the front desk because the maid had not left a complete fresh towel set or replaced the paper products in the bathroom. About all she did was make the bed. I asked about the iron. The front desk person said they didn't have anymore. Really? I bet they have a number of empty rooms they could have taken one from. Or, there is always Walmart. They failed to meet my minimum expectations for service.

Breakfast is provided only through the restaurant and more expensive than many families are willing to pay. In room coffee is poor and no free coffee in the lobby.There is a subway across the street.

The room was very average. The hotel and the room if you look closely are quite dated.

Overall the rates are quit high for the lack of service and dated room.

Room Tip: If the pool noise or smells might be a problem for you, request a inner room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schimizz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review on Trip Advisor. My apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We take our guests' feedback very seriously, and your comments will be discussed in detail with our department heads and staff. Please accept my sincere apology, as we strive to make our guests stay pleasant and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
5.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
7.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region

Property: Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Address: 75 North St, Auburn, NY 13021-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auburn, NY is located in the heart of the spectacular Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Come take a swim in our indoor-heated pool or relax with dinner and cocktails in McMurphy's Authentic Irish Pub. When you stay with us, you can enjoy shopping at Waterloo Premium Outlets and Bass Pro Shops, tour the wineries on the Cayuga Wine Trail and Seneca Wine Trail, visit our local historic sites, or enjoy a show at the new Merry-Go-Round Playhouse Finger Lakes Musical Theatre Festival. We are in the center of it all. Stay at the Auburn/Finger Lakes Holiday Inn and visit the scenic village of Skaneateles. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing