We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicher Garden-the perfect place to stay for your Finger Lakes get away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Auburn B&B and Inns
HIGHLAND LAKES
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wicher Garden-the perfect place to stay for your Finger Lakes get away!”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Just returned from a three night get away to the Finger Lakes region staying at A Wicher Garden. Our visit couldn't have been nicer. Gail and Gary, the Innkeepers, are just wonderful people-so friendly and helpful. And what a job they have done lovingly restoring their old farmhouse to an amazing destination.

We stayed in the Rose suite and it was fantastic. While elegant would be the first word to come to mind to describe this room, Gail has managed to pair elegance with a homey, whimsical style leaving you to feel both pampered and comfortably at ease. The double whirlpool was awesome, as was the extremely comfortable bed. In addition to a sitting area in the room there was a lovely common sitting room just outside the room which was wonderful as a reading area for this early riser to use without disturbing a sleepier hubby. Because there was a full house when we were there, I wasn't able to view any of the other rooms, but ours was pretty much exactly as portrayed on the website so I can only assume the others were lovely too.

Breakfast was to die for. This lady can cook! Each day we had a fresh fruit offering, something homebaked-muffins or teabread, AND THEN a main course all delicious and beautifully presented. Each entree we had was honestly extraordinary. It would be hard to pick a favourite but if the words blueberry cream cheese strata conjure up a tingling in your taste buds, you are just starting to get the idea. Each looked like something that would grace the pages of Gourmet magazine.

Attention to detail is the hallmark here: comfy robes, beautiful linens, a well stocked tea station, ever present cookies, even a corkscrew and wine glasses to enjoy your day's purchases. I especially appreciated all the travel and "coffee table books" pertinent to the area.

The property is beautiful and inviting and the gardens are both well planned and well tended. Lovely viewed from the spacious porches or decks with a cup of tea or a glass of wine from one of your winery visits. Just a short drive to both Cayuga and Seneca Lakes and all they have to offer as well as the towns of Auburn and Skaneateles, and lots of fine dining or casual eateries. LOVED LOVED LOVED this place. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjTracyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Conestoga PA
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at A Wicher Garden B&B. We both enjoyed it very much. The rooms and amenities were fantastic as were the grounds complete with a wooded path to a small pond. We could not have asked for anything more but then there is. Owners Gary and Gail Wicher are such wonderful hosts and cooks (yes they have food!) and we enjoyed our breakfast conversations. They are also very helpful with suggestions and knowledgeable about the area. We are already looking forward to staying with them again on our next trip to the Finger Lakes! We would highly recommend A Which Garden B&B!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and we weren't quite sure of what to expect. Everything at A Wicher Garden was just perfect! The innkeepers were welcoming and lovely. Our room (we stayed in the Garden Room) was beautiful, and felt so much like home. The breakfasts were DELICIOUS and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the other guests over our morning coffee. We are looking forward to returning, and checking out some of the other rooms A Wicher Garden offers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardsAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I can't say enough good things about our experience at this B & B. Gail and Gary are great hosts and really take an interest in you. We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and our stay here made it even more special.
We stayed in the Rose room and it was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts served here are absolutely delicious and you certainly don't leave hungry.
i would highly recommend this establishment to anyone travelling in the Finger Lakes, you won't be disappointed. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

A Wicher Garden is as beautiful and welcoming as it looks on it's very easy to navigate website. The innkeepers were a lovely couple who made us feel comfortable immediately. The animals were friendly without being in your way and the decor was wonderful.

We both had dietary restrictions (one celiac and one vegetarian) and were happily and easily accomodated without feeling like we were putting anyone out. Food was fresh, hot and well made (including homemade gluten-free muffins!) and not to mention healthy.

The innkeepers were also happy to give advise to aimless travellers on local sites, attractions and restaurants and we manages to keep happily busy just wandering the local downtowns.

Many small wineries worth seeing and lots of small-town charm around Auburn. We will definitely visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lytle_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Finger Lakes are a wonderful place to visit and our stay at A Wicher Garden B&B made it all the more enjoyable. The owners/hosts are warm and friendly. They went out of their way to make each breakfast special. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich07869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Gail and Gary did a wonderful job with everything for our romantic weekend. The breakfast was excellent and the room was perfect. Gail and Gary made us feel very welcome and made great suggestions on what to do and where to eat. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great quiet place to stay that is near practically everything in the Finger Lakes Region.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doglover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
6.6 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
697 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
2.6 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
12.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
1.8 mi away
10 Fitch Luxurious Romantic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5831 Dunning Ave, Auburn, NY 13021-9836
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing porches, nature walks and outdoor Hot Tub Spa. Artist designed rooms are all private with pillowtop beds, luxury linens, Heat and AC, free wireless internet, TV/DVD, CD player and en-suite baths. Whirlpool baths in King Rooms. Fingerlakes Information Center and Restaurant Menu Guide Book in house. Full breakfast served, all rooms non-smoking. A short drive to Wine Trails, Auburn Historic Sites, scenic Skaneateles Village, Seneca Falls, Ithaca gorges and three Finger Lakes within 15 minute drive or less. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing