We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing, beautiful, picture-esque place ever :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Auburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The title says it all! Wicher Garden is truly the BEST spot for a relaxing getaway esp. for couples.. Gail and Gary are absolutely wonderful hosts and they were really helpful answering all our questions thoroughly and they're great conversationalists :) We stayed in the Rose Suite which was a really nice room with the whirlpool tub..The location is ideal because it's so quiet, peaceful, and beautiful.. most of the wineries and other sight-seeing attractions are like 45 min to more than an hour away, but you don't even notice the distance because you're too busy looking at all the gorgeous scenery and just enjoying the fresh air.. To top it off, the food is amazing!!!! esp. the pumpkin muffins :) Really hearty and delicious!

ps. I LOVED the bed soooo much that I slept in and was late to breakfast every morning.. hehe, thanks for being so understanding G-squared!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2009

We celebrated our 30th anniversary here and we could not have picked a better bed and breakfast! Gail and Gary were perfect hosts in their beautifully decorated country home. Everything was perfect, from the delicious breakfasts to the wonderful Emerald room. The decor was great, always finding something that we had missed just looking around. We are hoping to return next year--when we left, Gary was building another sun garden--Good Luck to both of you--and many thanks for your gracious hospitality--Jean and John

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailandGary, Owner at A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2009

We thank John and Jean for their 5 Star review and we thoroughly enjoyed their company for several days. We note that in their exuberance to give us a good rating, they inadvertently marked each individual category as a "1" thinking this meant we were number "1". Oops, but thank you for the kind words! Gail and Gary Wichers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We were looking for rest and relaxation in the countryside, and we found it at Wicher Garden. We stayed for three nights in the Garden room, which had a single-person jacuzzi and a plush king-size bed. The room was clean, comfortable, nicely-decorated, with a good temperature, and very quiet. The shower was great, and the Jacuzzi even better! The room included a newly-installed flat-screen television, and when we checked in and inquired about having a DVD player, it promptly appeared the next day (only because we declined Gail's kind offer to install it immediately). The room also included a small fridge with chilled water, which was a nice amenity, especially when we brought dinner and wine back to our room one evening and needed to keep it cool. Our room had a separate entrance from a second-floor covered patio with deck chairs that were perfect for looking out at nature.

Gail and Gary were such gracious hosts! They were knowledgeable about where to go and what to do in the area without being obtrusive (we especially appreciated this because we live in NYC, where everyone seems to insist that you visit their favorite restaurant or tourist attraction). They had plenty of brochures available about area attractions and menus for local restaurants. Each morning, Gail and Gary seamlessly blended serving a delicious 3-course breakfast with interesting conversation. After breakfast each day, we were greeted by their Golden Retriever, who was so well-behaved she would wait in the kitchen until given the signal that breakfast was finished. We also enjoyed their four cats, who made fast friends with us and happily accepted TLC.

On our final evening at the inn, following Gail's directions, we discovered the secret pond behind the B&B. The walk through the shaded lane to the pond was as charming as the pond itself.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends. In fact, our experience was a boost to our own fledgling dreams of one day having a B&B of our own.



Room

Service

Inspirational

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepyheadOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I know, another 5 star rating. But they are well deserved! Gail and Gary do a great job with this B & B and are very knowledgeable hosts. We stayed in the Rose Room, which has a king size bed, sitting area, and a Jacuzzi tub for two. There were two heart shaped chocolates on the (very comfortable) bed when we arrived. One of my pet peeves is low water pressure in the shower, not here! And plenty of hot water too. About breakfast, lets just say don’t make any lunch plans. Hearty and fresh, and Gail will tweak her offerings to suit your tastes and needs. Once you are done with breakfast the door opens to their private residence and their very friendly golden retriever will visit you in the dining area for some petting and the cats will come out for a quick visit. If I had not seen the pets, I would not have believed they had any.

There were always cookies on the table at night when we came back from visiting the wineries. They had a very good album of local restaurant menus of the area. Call ahead and see if you can bring your own bottle of wine. All the rooms have a fridge and freezer, flat screen TV and are quiet. Great little touches all around the B & B. My wife and I usually do not stay in the same place twice, but we will make an exception this time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foghorn8508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We booked all four rooms for our family to get together. It was our youngest daughters college graduation and we came together from the far corners of the country for the weekend. Gail and Gary were wonderful hosts and the house was magnificant. We used the parlor as a place to relax and socialize. The breakfasts were excellent. Everything about it exceeded our expectations. The best B & B experience we've had.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlinyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for a long weekend for our birthdays. Two months ago I started looking up and down the east coast for the perfect B&B....and we found it! A Wicher Garden is a beautiful bed and breakfast just outside of the city of Auburn but within minutes to everything. Upon arrival we were greeted by Gail who quickly explained everything and let us get right to our room to relax. We had been in the car for hours and I was anxious to kick my shoes off. We stayed in the Lodge which was exactly what I expected and more. Gail and Gary provide lush bathrobes which we took full advantage of. Downstairs in the living room was an extensive amount of information about the area and Gail took time to recommend some sights. They also have a book of all the restaurants in the area. We highly recommend stopping at Michael's for some Italian. (Bring your appetite, the portions are large...but luckily Wicher Garden has a fridge for leftovers). And last but not least, the breakfasts! They are nothing less than amazing. Gail is a great cook and we were stuffed and satisfied each morning. My favorite was her Blueberry and Cream Cheese Strata. Gail was even nice enough to bring me out a copy of her recipe. I consider myself very picky when it comes to vacations and I would highly recommend A Wicher Garden to anyone...we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akucharik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We arrived at the B&B and were greeted by the owners with a smile. Very impressed that the owner said Welcome and used my first name. We knew from that moment that it was going to be a great stay. Very personable owners that were friendly but not intrusive. We originally booked the Emerald room which was beautiful but then was made an offer to upgrade to the Rose room which we chose to do. We went straight to the most romantic room! The sitting area with a fireplace was so relaxing in the evenings not to mention the 2 person jacuzzi in the room. The entire B&B was immaculate but very inviting. We truly loved our stay and the owners Gail and Gary made it easy to enjoy our time while visiting the local sites. They offered a wealth of information with accuracy on their recommendations. Winery's, restaurants and interesting sites were all a very close by. The little things like the linens, chocolate hearts, cozy breakfast tables, (beautiful table settings), apple brownies and cookies, made the experience special. I recommend A Wicher Garden HIGHLY!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nyrec101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.6 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
6.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
721 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
10.9 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
351 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Inns of Aurora
The Inns of Aurora
#1 of 5 in Aurora
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5831 Dunning Ave, Auburn, NY 13021-9836
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range: $140 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing porches, nature walks and outdoor Hot Tub Spa. Artist designed rooms are all private with pillowtop beds, luxury linens, Heat and AC, free wireless internet, TV/DVD, CD player and en-suite baths. Whirlpool baths in King Rooms. Fingerlakes Information Center and Restaurant Menu Guide Book in house. Full breakfast served, all rooms non-smoking. A short drive to Wine Trails, Auburn Historic Sites, scenic Skaneateles Village, Seneca Falls, Ithaca gorges and three Finger Lakes within 15 minute drive or less. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing