We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Finger Lakes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Auburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our visit to the Wicher Garden was just what we needed. We stayed in the Adirondack Room and just loved the way it was decorated with its cabin/lodge look. Our host Gary and Gail went beyond being just innkeepers but became friends. The comfort and friendliness of the Innkeepers and the Inn made us feel like we were home and lets not forget the delectable breakfasts that were served. We hope to visit against soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenMar0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We enjoyed excellant hospality for two days with Gail and Gary while visiting the Auburn area after being away from the area for ten years. The breakfasts were nicely prepared and very adequate. The room was nicely decorated and fully supplied. A very enjoyable experience!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Smith1023_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Wicher Garden in the Garden Room for five nights in July. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. The whirlpool bath was very relaxing. We seemed to spend the time that we were at the B & B either taking walks or simply relaxing on the covered porch. I cannot say enough about Gail and Gary. They were absolutely wonderful hosts. From the moment that we arrived they made us feel comfortable and at home at Wicher Gardens. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We were treated to fruit, parfaits, all kinds of home baked bread, blueberry pancakes, quiches, egg casseroles, french toast etc.. All I can say is that I wish that I lived closer so that I could make Wicher Garden B & B into an escape weekend for us throughout the year.

Room Tip: I believe that all of the rooms were very nice. I did like the Garden Room because it was large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I and my friend recently were looking for a place to go for a few days that we could be pampered, relax, with a good bed and preferably a jacuzzi. Somewhere near water to sightsee and some shopping. Somewhere that our worries could just melt away for just a short time. Well, we found all of this and more here at the Wicher Garden. Tastefully decorated it was nice to come back to a room with a chocolate on the pillow, a nice air conditioned room that was so cozy. The Inn Keepers greeted you eah day with a smile and were helpful in every way. The breakfast each morning was beyond what i had expected and the whole experience has made me realize how much i was missing by staying in hotels. From the great big wrap around porch to sip our morning tea to the jacuzzi at night on the back porch to soak our aching body with a nightcap and the fireflies- truly a wonderful experience that i would suggest to anyone looking for a great getaway with plemty to do. Carolyn, Lockport NY

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjn1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailandGary, Owner at A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We are so glad you have discovered the wonderful difference of a B&B Experience, and thank you for telling the world about it! We enjoyed your company, isn't a girlfriends getaway the best!
Gail and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in the Garden Room for four nights in July 2012 and really had a fantastic time. The room was appointed beautifully. I really enjoyed being able to walk out the front door of the unit onto a nice outdoor porch with great Adirondack chairs.

Breakfast and Fellowship where awesome.

We searched for hotels...they were booked for graduation so we took what we could get. What we got was better than any hotel could ever offer. Very private, very well kept, excellent food and Gail and Gary were both very hospitable when needed but also allowed for all of the privacy we wanted.

I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thanks Ken! I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to our area. I especially like to hear that you found your experience at a Bed & Breakfast a much more enjoyable stay than that of a standard hotel/motel stay. We hope that in future travels you and your lovely wife will seek out B&B's for a much better visiting experience.
Gail and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in the garden room and really enjoyed how nicely it was decorated. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and everything we needed was there. The hosts were very warm and the food delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48261Katew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Who wouldn't want to spend a few nights in a quiet house on lovely property where breakfast is a feast served by delightful hosts?

Needed some serious relaxation after a hectic week and this was the place. Gail and Gary are the perfect hosts and happily took my last-minute reservation. Their inn is designed to make guests welcome and comfortable. The location is just right, on the edge of town, so that you can choose the quiet or take in historic sites. Bed and bath are luxurious. House dog and house cats know their limits and are also perfect hosts.

And Auburn is a must with it's numerous historic sites and charming downtown. As an arts and theatre community, there's really no end to the list of entertaining things to do.
The changing seasons mean you have to visit more than once to see it all.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
6.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
733 reviews
1.8 mi away
10 Fitch Luxurious Romantic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Whispering Winds Motel
2.6 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5831 Dunning Ave, Auburn, NY 13021-9836
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range: $140 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing porches, nature walks and outdoor Hot Tub Spa. Artist designed rooms are all private with pillowtop beds, luxury linens, Heat and AC, free wireless internet, TV/DVD, CD player and en-suite baths. Whirlpool baths in King Rooms. Fingerlakes Information Center and Restaurant Menu Guide Book in house. Full breakfast served, all rooms non-smoking. A short drive to Wine Trails, Auburn Historic Sites, scenic Skaneateles Village, Seneca Falls, Ithaca gorges and three Finger Lakes within 15 minute drive or less. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing