We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Piece of History”

Seward House Museum
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We invite you to visit the Seward House Museum, the historic home of William Henry Seward; New York State Senator, two time New York State Governor, US Senator, and Secretary of State during the Lincoln and Johnson administrations. Our knowledgeable staff is on-hand to provide guided tours, helping you navigate the many fascinating aspects of this beautifully preserved home. Enjoy masterpieces of American art and special exhibitions in both the historic house and the museum’s gardens.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Piece of History”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was an interesting tour. The young man who showed us around was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all the questions from the group. Well worth the trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Soaringeagles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    46
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our recent tour of the Seward home was fascinating! I learned things about William Seward that I didn't know and feel inspired to follow up and read a good biography of him. Everything in the house is authentic and just as it was when the Sewards lived there, which isn't true of many historic homes. The grounds/gardens are really lovely and a nice place to just sit. Our tour guide was very well informed, but he spoke so fast that it took me a while to accomodate my listening speed! This home is definitely worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PeaceSalaamShalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“At home with the Sewards”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

You MUST GO here if you are anywhere nearby. Seward House offers a top-notch historical house tour. Passed directly from the Seward family to the historical foundation which maintains it, the home appears much as it would have when occupied by the Seward family. It is truly a time capsule, with original furniture, decorative objects, books, portraits, and even the family's china on the dining room table. Our tour guide was superb, and my opinion simply echoes what other reviewers have stated; it seems that all of the guides are knowledgeable, welcoming, and want to share their love of this house with visitors. You will see a carefully maintained 19th century home, and learn a lot about our country's history during your tour.
You can experience all of this for the price of a mediocre lunch; what a bargain! There's a small gift shop, and you can walk the grounds if you're waiting for your tour. Parking spaces are scanty, so plan on parking elsewhere unless you get lucky. You'll probably spend about ninety minutes to two hours at Seward House, but your visit will linger in your mind long after you have returned to the 21st century.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Often Overlooked Historical Figure”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

As senior citizens, our knowledge of William H. Seward was sadly lacking and a visit to his home gave us much-needed information regarding his achievements as an influential figure in the early history of our country. The house is filled with memorabilia from his 40 year political career and our guided tour centered on his accomplishments and his role in the crucial issues of our country in the mid-1800's. We left feeling that Seward should hold a higher place in history and that he should have a greater place in historical education taught in the schools.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringTwoTimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Presidential history must see”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My fav part was the upstairs with photos of people whom Seward met as Secretary of State. I also enjoyed viewing the carriage that Seward fell from and that Lincoln had ridden. Great museum with very detailed oriented tour from Joyce. A hidden treasure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank judyannwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seward House Museum also viewed

 
Auburn, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seward House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing