We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”

Balloons Restaurant & Catering
Ranked #5 of 115 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Balloons is an Iconic post depression era restaurant that has been known as THE PLACE FOR STEAKS in Auburn for ever. We hand cut all of our steaks from USDA CHOICE beef or better all sourced from the midwest. We offer the best Wine list in Auburn at very reasonable prices. Don't judge the neighborhood please come in and ENJOY the best service and a great meal. Established 1934
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

When we drove up to this place, next to the prison it looked like the typical neighborhood bar. Since there we three of us, we decided to venture in, and get a seat. They wanted to know if we had reservations, which would be unusual for a neighborhood bar. I've eaten at some of the best restaurants in New Orleans, Washington, DC, Boston and New York and this place can hold its own against any of the those city places. It was outstanding. I was really amazed,it was one of those hidden treasures you discover when you are traveling. The hostess assured us they get no visitors from the prison, and happens to be the maximum security prison. Good friendly people and great food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mscri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    17
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rural NY
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Catering very well done!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Balloons catered our 50th class reunion picnic at Conquest Park. Our cook was on time, professional, had everything organized and was ready to serve in a timely fashion. The meal was delicious, there was plenty of food, we had REAL silverware and clean up was also accomplished quickly. I would highly recommend them to cater your next affair.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Conquesthistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and great service!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I heard many good things about this place and had to try it out! Our server (sadly I can't remember his name) was amazing and friendly. He made our experience! The food was good and a very large portion size. Not the best looking place outside but makes up for it with the friendly service and good food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nkm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't drive by. Food & service Top notch!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Took advice of reviews & did not pass on location. When walking in its a bit tight & confusing. We arrived at prime dinner hour & the bar was standing room only which is what you walk into. After getting drinks some space open so the four of us were able to sit. Minimum wait time for booth which was very cozy. Waiter was exceptional & very accommodating. Food was delish & everyone had doggy bags & full bellies. A little pricey but well worth it. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 315Stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool Place!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This place is like something you only see in old movies (been there since 1934). You walk in, Sinatra is playing in the background while you are greeted by the owner as you gaze over the fully stocked bar. This bar has so much character-old signs, sayings, sports memorabilia. The menu is full of some great appetizers (try the Chili pepper Calamari), loads of steaks, chops and seafood. And unless you haven't eaten for 3 days, be prepared to take Fido some treats. Great place for a business dinner, date or grab a seat at the bar and make some old friends. My colleague and I went on a night when the bar was stacked with locals. We learned a lot about the area and shared a lot of stories and laughs. Don't let the location in the middle of this quaint neighborhood in Auburn run you off (it is also across the street from a prison). This is one of the coolest places around and it would be a shame to pass it up.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cubvolfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balloons Restaurant & Catering also viewed

Auburn, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Balloons Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing