We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BeauVine Chophouse & Wine Bar - CLOSED

BeauVine Chophouse & Wine Bar
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Transforming raw materials into delicious, modern fare. At the Refinery, you'll find fresh, locally sourced produce and meats that are transformed into refined, modern fare. Our drink menu includes carefully crafted cocktails, locally sourced wine and craft beer, as well as a selection of classics. All of our menu items have been inspired by this idea of using classic ingredients and recipes with a twist to make them unique and unlike anything you may have had before. When you enter the Refinery, you'll find a unique atmosphere filled with both raw and refined treatments, which are a nod to our namesake. You will be part of a dining experience unlike any other in Auburn, NY!
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The stay at the hotel on Oct 4 was very nice. Everything you expect for $200/ night.
The jewel in the experience was Beau Vine Chophouse Restaurant. We were tired from the travel and decided to try the in-hotel restaurant. AS GOOD AS ANY MORTONS OR RUTHS CHRIS I've tried. Each item was truly delicious, top quality food, and not quite as pricey as those chains. The steak was superb. Onion Straws were perfect. The appetizers were excellent (lobster salad- YES). The dessert was deep and rich. The selections from the bar are very good. I could do a foodie exploration of the cooking, but just go. It's wonderful. Fixed Price theater menu is a real deal.
The service was attentive and caring. The decor was arty, classy and comfortable. Oh crap. Soon it will be crowded!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guitarpelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Second Visit: Disappointing Food, Service, and Ambience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our first visit to this small upscale chophouse restaurant in May was generally excellent despite a few rough edges, but a second visit four months later in hopes of repeating our previous experience was a total disaster. On a very slow Sunday evening with only four tables occupied, the two waitresses were pleasant but poorly trained, hopelessly inefficient, inattentive, and unable to multitask, the kitchen was excruciatingly slow in getting the food out (I envisioned one cook working on a one-burner stove), and the food simply wasn't as carefully prepared as on our first visit. It took twenty minutes for our waitress to deliver our pre-dinner drinks, and the overall experience went downhill from there.

All of which would have been disappointing enough, but a very noisy party of seven university employees in town for a meeting was four sheets to the wind when we arrived, continued to drink their meals rather than eat, and no manager or maitre d' was on duty to rein in this motley crew and get the chaotic situation under control. The two men in the party were actually well-mannered, but three of the five women were well into their white wine, mouthy in the extreme, and the minutia of their daily jobs and personal lives was continually broadcast at full volume to all of the other diners in the room.

Our dining experience was a total disaster. This situation would have been unlikely in a blue collar diner and certainly is not acceptable in a restaurant that purports to provide a fine dining experience. I would strongly recommend avoiding this restaurant completely until such time as general management cleans house and replaces their food service management and staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island, ny
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were staying at the hotel and after checking menus of places in the area and then the one in the lobby, we decided that eating here was a good idea. It turned out to be a great idea. Michael, our waiter, was charming, knowledgeable and a real pleasure to speak with. He gave us excellent advice about items on the menu - I have never had a waiter tell me that a particular menu selection wasn't up to snuff that evening. We had pork chops, rib eye steak and cod. The cod had a fabulous lemon reduction that was unlike anything I've ever had. The steak and chop were perfectly cooked to order (and bleu cheese melted on the over the steak) Spinach salad was nice - served warm and the crabcakes had a nice spicy touch. the truffle parmesan fries are outrageous. Dessert was just enough - peach cobbler, chocolate mousse. TRY IT!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A NYC Steakhouse in Auburn, NY.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent food and fantastic service (by our waiter Michael), make this a fantastic restaurant. NYC steakhouse quality! Our group had Salmon, Pork Chops, Filet Mignon, and I had the Porterhouse steak. Everything perfect including the side dishes and desert. And local NYS beers are on tap. Expensive but worth ever penny!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveslj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A gem in auburn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Wow! I was staying at the very nice Hilton Garden Inn in Auburn and I checked in and noticed this restuarant near the lobby. I saw the wine lounge and was impressed with the fine dinning option at this hotel. I was happy Hilton put a quality restuarant in there hotel.

First, this restuarant has an outdoor patio and the hostess gave me the option of eating inside or on there outdoor patio. We ate on the outdoor patio, a good choice.
There was a pre fixed menu with 3 courses for 30$ or the regular menu. 2 of us got the pre fixed menu and micheal b. and the other man got the regular entre. We shared the appetizers and desert. To start we got the market salad which was very fresh with some nice arugula and crumbed cheese, cucumbers, tomatoes and string beans, this had a nice and light yet creamy dressing.
Then for the entrees, I got the sirloin with fritas( good) In a red wine reduction. Micheal B. got ny strip skirt steak. He said it was very good. It was served with asparagus. She got the cod with lovely risotto. She enjoyed it. He got the filet menyon. It was good and had fried onions on top!
Then for desert we had very nice and fluffy cheesecake with a Carmel sauce! And I had the chocolate raspberry lava cake. I enjoyed it very much. Much recommended.It had small chunks of chocolate on the bottom! Yum. It was a very nice attmosphere. The chef gave us fried chipeas as a welcome which were delectable.

Maria was our waitress and did a very good job! She was very attentive and always filling our water and was very proffesinal!! When you go, ask for Maria.
Micheal b. got a nice cabrina and it had a large wine list! Also I!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew43234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeauVine Chophouse & Wine Bar also viewed

Auburn, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing