We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Customer Service Skills” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Auburn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service Skills”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My fiance and I visited the Hilton Garden Inn to evaluate it as a possible location for our guests to stay during our wedding weekend. We do not live locally so admittedly the visit was last minute and we did not speak with anyone before arriving. However, I was thoroughly disappointed in the reception we received. The staff at the front desk was entirely unhelpful and unaccommodating. We only requested a brief tour and to be shown a guest room. We were snidely told that only those having an event at the hotel could reserve a block of rooms and that the person we needed to speak with was unavailable. Even if we couldn't reserve a block of rooms, we would have been open to suggesting this location for our guests but after the rude and dismissive service, we are looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for considering our location for your family and friends visiting for your wedding. We are so sorry for the poor reception you encountered at our front desk and assure you it is not common to find any staff member who is rude or unwilling to help and we will address your experience with our team. We welcome you to come in again at your convenience and we would be happy to show you around our property. If I may be of any assistance or if you would like to discuss your visit further, please do not hesitate to call.

Eric Ridley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    129
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
169
150
24
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is simply a beautiful hotel with lovely decorating emphasizing the garden in its name. The room was great with a super comfy bed. The location is right in Auburn. It was a quick business stop so I didn't get to use the facilities they offer. Everything was clean and bright. I would definitely choose this hotel when in the area again. They do not offer a complimentary breakfast, but offer a buffet for about $10. We did not take advantage of that, but went to the Riverbend Coffee Shop downtown instead. As others have mentioned in their reviews, it's a great stopping place for visiting Skaneateles (one of my all time favorite places), Seneca Falls, etc.

Room Tip: Taking a tip from previous reviews, we requested a room on the fourth floor which offers a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gratefulgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your response! We are so glad you had a wonderful stay! Our hotel is most definitely bright and beautiful, with the "garden" theme extending throughout the entire hotel. We do hope you come back and take advantage of our numerous amenities! Style and form were key elements to the design of the hotel and we really strive to bring life to the "garden"!

We hope to see you again soon.

-Eric Ridley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn, located in Auburn between Rt.s 20 & 5 east and west is perfectly located for visiting Skaneateles, Seneca Falls and Geneva. The pricing is great and beats the major hotels of cities/towns just mentioned. The Hilton Garden Inn includes a gym, indoor pool, business center, restaurant/bar and warming fire for cold winter days.

My stay with my wife was perfect. Quiet room, king size bed....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were glad to end our day at the lovely Hilton Garden Inn. After a full day of wine touring, we finally arrived at the Hilton. I must admit our friends had a large room w/king bed and our room was much smaller. Both paid the same price and booked the same time. The Inn was very empty while we were there, but were told it was sold out the night before. Just wondered why we had such a small room when we probably had many empty rooms to chose from. We didn't stay for breakfast, were in a hurry to get moving, but they had a nice breakfast for $9.99 each. Coffee was free in the lobby. We will return, but ask for a larger room next time. We felt a bit cramped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winechick329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed @ this hotel in October 2012 and found it clean, quiet and well-maintained. It was a great place to stay to explore the Finger Lakes region. We had the continental breakfast which was very reasonably priced - approximately $6.00/person but for an extra $3.00 you could upgrade this to a cooked breakfast. We would definitely recommend this hotel - it was close to the centre of town where we found an excellent Italian restaurant to eat - parking was free and there was plenty of it. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

After a visit to Bass Pro Shops and the Fingerlakes Malls in Auburn, N.Y., we were delighted to discover the Hilton Garden Inn just a short drive away. The location was easy to reach and parking was easy, as well. From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we were impressed. The staff were enthusiastic and friendly. Pleasant greetings from every staff member we met were the norm. Check in was fast and efficient and accompanied by bottled water. A phone call to our room shortly afterward to check that all was to our liking was appreciated. These little instances of special treatment stand out in our minds and we hope they remain standard at this hotel. Our room was spotless and well appointed with a microwave, fridge and coffee service. Thank you for REAL cups and glasses. The bed was comfy and the heating/cooling system was simple to operate (which is not always the case). There were lots of choices for tv viewing. We made good use of the Business Centre and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant (see BeauVine review). The bar area was lively and sociable. Being able to grab a quick beer and wine at the small, but well stocked, Pavilion Pantry was a welcome perk. We had purchased the Bed and Breakfast package. During breakfast, we were pleased to have hot entrees prepared to our order and served by wait staff and to also take advantage of a nice buffet of other items. Although we didn’t travel out and about in the town, the hotel’s location seems very central, yet not directly on a busy street. All costs incurred seemed very reasonable to us. We certainly recommend this hotel to any travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harleyjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Greetings HarleyJourneys!

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad you were able to experience many of our accommodations and enjoyed them all! We always are looking to greet and get to know all of our guests and in addition to our amenities, I am happy that you were able to experience the level of commitment that our staff has to our guests.

It makes me smile to hear you mention our real coffee mugs in the room! As a coffee drinker, there's nothing that I like more than a fresh cup of coffee in a real mug!

Thank you again for your comments! Next time you're in the area, whether you are staying or just passing through, make sure you stop in and say hello.

All the best,
Eric Ridley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a great hotel with a very nice staff and a much better fitness room than the competition! It's new so everything is in great shape but beyond that the rooms are a good size and and the restaurant even has gluten-free bread to eat with meals. The bedding is very comfortable.

Room Tip: The fourth floor offers good views of churches in the area (which were built back in the day when ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OkArtist2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I am happy that you were able to experience our fitness facility. We have excellent PreCor equipment with LCD televisions with headphone jacks that make it very comfortable to work out (which we can never do enough of)! Further, our restaurant strives to please every guest and we understand that the desire for gluten-free options is rising. We make every attempt to offer selections for those who would like this option and we are glad you took advantage of it.

Auburn, NY does have excellent historical buildings of which there is a great view from the fourth floor of our hotel. It is a beautiful site to behold first thing in the morning with the sunshine coming in from the east!

Hope to see you again!

Eric Ridley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Auburn

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
Address: 74 State St, Auburn, NY 13021-3438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing