We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and friendly staff”
Review of Golden Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Pine Hotel
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and friendly staff”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the last week of May 2013, and all i can say i'd stay here again. The staff where all friendly and attentive, even the hotel restaurant and security never failed to be of help. Although we orginally booked a superior double (P2,500), we complained that the bathroom didn't had a bidet and we where just expecting they'd give us a bucket and dipper to make do. But they didn't, instead they changed our room to a master's bedroom (P2,600) at the same rate of the superior double. The room is Big enough for 3-4 people, the bathroom was very nice and spacious plus a bathtub. A warm dip on that bathtub is a nice relief from all the walking and chilly wind of baguio. The in room wi-fi as my wife said was fast since she can play youtube over it and we where at the 5th floor room at that. The free breakfast was on the generous side with drinks refill unlike the other baguio hotel i've stayed in. On our last day there we ordered our breakfast, while waiting two other attendants asked us if we had ordered and that wasn't like 7mins from when we gave our order.

Any hotel new or old, if the staff aren't attentive no matter what price point would suck. This hotels is tops on my book.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heavyarmscustom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    52
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
44
37
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My hubby and I spent on this hotel last January (2013) to celebrate our post first month as married couple and my birthday. We arrived in Baguio quite early around 4 am...The Hotel is easy to find which is actually a walking distance from the Capitol. We tried to check-in more than 8 hours than the required check in time, but since the hotel was full, we were not able to get a room, not until after lunch time. Focusing on the hotel's review, I must say that it was just average.

Reservation:

I love the idea that once you make your reservation online, they will call you up to confirm it. I made a request since the purpose of going there is actually a double celebration, but it seems they did not consider the request.

The Staff

They are very accommodating from the security guard to the hotel crews. They allowed us to stay and rest in the guests area (lobby) when we returned before 6 am after checking other hotels that have available rooms. They were friendly, too, attentive and able to answer our inquiries and needs.

The room

It was huge enough for both of us since that was the available room during our stay, which I think is still in peak season. The bathroom is huge with a tub, no complaint on said part. The smell in the room was not that fresh though, but clean. We can hear the noise from the street, which is one of the flaws and can affect the relaxation mood. Another thing, wi-fi is not reliable despite the fact that you can connect to it. What else? The carpet I think was not vacuumed for days as I can feel some dirt when I have to be barefoot.

Food

The only complimentary is their breakfast, nothing else and I think 2 bottled water in the room, which is not even cold. No complimentary coffee or tea for a hotel like that. The breakfast choices is limited. For the American breakfast, 1 egg, 2 strips of bacon, 1 wheat bread cut in half and coffee or tea. Honestly, it has very small portion to think of for a girl's appetite. Good thing, the lady waitress allowed me to have the hot choco, though the only choice is coffee or tea. We did not bother to eat there for lunch and dinner because we doubt with the portions...lol! One more, there is a difference of price when you eat in their restaurant and when you order in their restaurant and ask them to take it in your room. The latter is considered a room service price which has an added charge. I can't remember if they even let us pay for the hot water.

Overall, just fine. If I will be asked if we will consider going back, I don't think so,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel is situated in de heart of great places. Malls, church, park. Just need to explore around. I recon walkin wif guidance of a MAP. So u cud find ur back to de hotel. We did a lot of walkin, great sight seeing n will knw wad n whr to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location and just 20minutes walk through Burnham park. It easy to get the taxi plus close to Macdonald as well. But i dont like the noise of the traffic in morning and sometimes the TV channel doesn't work at all. The breakfast of this hotel its alright, but the staff are so courteous and helpful all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is located in a good central area in Baguio, walking distance to a lot of local attractions and restaurants. The service at the front desk was very good and the room was large and clean. The beds were also very comfortable.
Be careful of the bathroom floors, when wet they are unusually slippery, quite dangerous in fact. Make sure u stand only on the towel or use the paper slippers provided.
My only real problem was the waiter service and food for the included breakfast. The waiter was very unfriendly and rude. it was almost as if he just wanted us in and out as fast as possible. He took our orders but his attitude was incredibly rude, i dont know him and had never met him before so there was no reason for this poor service. He did get our coffee as requested then moved straight off to another table. No suger or milk though. We had to ask him for that , and didnt those eyes roll! After that we just asked the other waiter for anything further. The breakfast had 2 choices. Filipino or Western. The filipino was very tasty, the western was awful. The bacon was so over fried (deep fried?) it neither tasted or really looked like bacon. I ate the egg on some toast then went to another place for a real breakfast.
This hotel is a nice place to stay , the staff are mostly happy and efficient, the rooms comfortable and clean.
I would recommend this place for a stay but if your gonna eat there then you might be ok if your filipino , otherwise theres a smorgasboard of alternative places within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rick3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Baguio is a busy, noisy place. The first hotel we stayed in at Baguio was, for the price, terrible. We checked in late at night (off the bus from Manila) the room was not clean and it smelled of sewerage (entering the bathroom made us gag). We checked out first thing and thanks to Trip Advisor I contacted Golden Pine Hotel and booked a family room. It was excellent! A little more expensive than I had budgeted for but so worthwhile. The staff were awesome and we ate all of our breakfasts and dinners at the hotel. It isn't a new place but it is comfortable, elegant and safe. After long days of sightseeing and horseriding it was nice to come back to our room with air com where the kids could watch cable TV and I could read or use the wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gerberas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This Hotel although unassuming from outside offers good clean comfortable rooms, very good service and nice restaurant in a handy central position close to Burnham Park and the markets.
The staff were particularly helpful with all requests and information.The rooms were well equipped, clean,good views ( of traffic chaos that is Baguio).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.1 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 48 in Baguio
154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#18 of 48 in Baguio
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
0.4 mi away
Inn Rocio
Inn Rocio
#13 of 48 in Baguio
54 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pine Hotel

Property: Golden Pine Hotel
Address: Cnr of Carino and Yandoc Sts, Baguio, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Pine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Golden Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing