We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic,regale & elegant”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baguio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baguio Country Club
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“historic,regale & elegant”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

got the chance to visit & enjoy this place thrice compliments of a family member & a friend..breakfast served overlooking the chic golf greens so fantastic,staffs were attentive & always with a smile.. tried the famous raisin bread,good only if served fresh from the oven.. but voila! banana bread so delicious as well as the sinfully tempting strawberry & various cakes..bedroom is huge, bathroom dainty & nice but I love the long walks & picture taking of endless pines & green in the property..grab your cams, BCC float grandslam winner & hall of famer of Panagbenga's February float competition..salute to the Grand Dame of Baguio! The Baguio Country Club.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymmiconmapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    83
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
90
23
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Homey rooms, delicious food from the cafe to the restaurants. I think I like it just because of its cabin feel, and because it brings me back to childhood trips and friends' weddings, because to be really honest, it's starting to fall apart in places.

You can really see the wear and tear in the bathroom fixtures, in the sockets on the wall, and in the stained upholstery and table cloths. I'd never noticed it until my last stay 2 weeks ago, but there are no locks on the balcony doors? It made me feel somewhat unsafe.

Overall, what can I say? I still had a comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Unless you are a smoker, avoid the smoking floors. Ulk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
753 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Baguio is the summer capital of the Philippines. It is 5 hours by car north of Manila, It's all worth the trip. The temperature was between 9 to 20 degree F. Baguio country club is the oldest golf club in Baguio. Although I have been here several times, it has been renovated and updated. The view facing the golf course was great. The breakfast was also very good as they had fresh vegetable which they organically grow. Although it is bit pricey, but it is reasonable considering what are available in Baguio city. You have to have a member sponsor to stay there and there are fees. Their bakery have very famous raisin bread which people come just to line up for. Staff are very accommodating and gives very good service. If it is your first time in Baguio and you can stay in this exclusive club, staying there is a must. By the way, its location is very accessible.

Room Tip: Room facing the golf course has great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The small dark beige coloured rooms with lumpy pillows, those boarding school cheap brown blankets, and all at a 5-star price... Seriously?! Room designs are due for an overhaul and their choice of bedding too. The rooms are cold literally and figuratively, and all you get is one thin blanket and a white bedsheet.
Breakfast is OK, but for the price I would expect fresh fruit juice not cheap liquid sugar drinks.
The famous baked raisin bread - yes, very fresh and not bad, carrot cake is good, banana cake overrated... But locals and folks from Manila make more fuss about these than perhaps they warrant.
The location is very nice, but this is not the only hotel in this area.
All in all, we found this place truly overpriced - a 2 star quality and experience at a 5-star price.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first - 2nd floor over golf course not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnni147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Elegant and yet cozy ambiance. Great service. The staff builds a relationship with guests. They make you feel not as a vip but, as family.
Great food but my favorite is the caesar salad. It is... heaven. There's no other way to describe it. You take one bite and you just can't stop. It's meticulously prepared.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joy_Acosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
561 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 905 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

compared to other country clubs, this one charges for all facilities you will use. in other clubs, gym and pool normally have no charge. here, there is. typical game room consisting of a few bowling lanes, 2 billiards and 2 table tennis and several ps3. they have a golf course but i do not play golf. food is good. cannot comment on the rooms as we went here for day use only. i did see the room rates and its high priced, similar to manor.

the only one that was free was the small flora and fauna park. at least the male peacock was cooperative and kept on opening its magnificent tail to the peafowl female, except that the female was looking at us and not at the strutting male.

love the raisin breads. price here is 160. to compare, they have a small stall at sm baguio and priced the same raisin bread at 180. however, its a members only club so its not like anyone can com here to the bakery to buy the raisin breads.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
158 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Lets get to this one by one.

Location wise its awesome. I was there during peak season in december and we were away from Session road where all the tourists were. The place is very exclusive and all you can see are guests. The dinning area was a bit cramped tho.

Service wise, this is where the problem is. Waiters do not go to you unless called. You have to approach them to ask for water or refill. They get bills mixed up and one time they were charging me again when i've already paid.

Food was so-so. I paid P700 for Japanese Buffet and it was always empty. I had to wait for food to get replenished. There were not much choices too. They had a Japanese cook making the Tempuras but it was really nothing great. They had a thermos for the sauce but didn't have sauce dish.

Their rules are also a big turn off...
- guests have a 1000+ consumable per head per night
- sponsored guests are charged 15% more
- No slippers and shorts in the dining area -- but this is a GOLF CLUB! Why can't we be in shorts? Also, if they will implement this rule make sure no one is an exception. I do see people being allowed to dine in shorts.

The rooms are ok... a bit over priced for something that looks old. Yes its country, but how about at least putting in a refrigerator for the fruits that we buy.

Parking is also always full so we have to park at the back. There is an entrance there but the people are not so helpful to help you find your way around.

Everything has a charge... including their gym. First time for me to be charged for Gym use in a hotel.

Totally bad experience for me...

Room Tip: Try Le Monet or Manor nearby if you want more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John_Ong1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.6 mi away
The Manor at Camp John Hay
0.8 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
0.5 mi away
The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#8 of 48 in Baguio
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#17 of 48 in Baguio
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baguio Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baguio Country Club

Property: Baguio Country Club
Address: Baguio Country Club Rd, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Provides graciously appointed and fully carpeted rooms and European-inspired cottages furnished with only your utmost pleasure and comfort in mind that present panoramic vistas of the golf course and valley. We have seven Food and Beverage outlets, various sports and recreation facilities, an 18-hole golf course, several function rooms that can seat up to 800 and providing the best customer service of any hotel in Baguio, it remains the premiere destination for over 100 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baguio Country Club Hotel Baguio
Baguio Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing