We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese New Year at the Manor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor at Camp John Hay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor at Camp John Hay
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chinese New Year at the Manor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Manor at Camp John Hay is still my first choice when in Baguio. We have been staying here regularly for the past years and it offers the best accommodations in my opinion. Our latest stay was last weekend for the Chinese New Year holiday. We got a garden view room as I requested because I enjoy looking at the nice garden while relaxing in the veranda of our room. Checking in was a breeze when we arrived last Friday evening, with a hot green tea offered to me while waiting for the room key. Since the hotel was fully booked, the only avalaible parking was quite far, at the back of Forest Lodge, but that's ok, we've parked there previously, and the same was lighted and with security guards.

The location is the best. I always make it a point to walk around John Hay early mornings to enjoy the cold weather and the pine scent. Since we went there to relax and we've already seen all the sights in Baguio, we just stayed inside John Hay most of the time, except to have lunch at Cafe by the Ruins and to buy goodies at Good Shepherd. There are a lot of restaurants at the Ayala Technohub and the Mile Hi Center. There was also a Sunday mass at the Clubhouse so no need to go out.

We had massage at the hotel spa which was very relaxing.

The bathroom looks dated but it's clean and we never had problems with the hot water. My complaint is that I had to ask for shampoo from the housekeeping people because we were there for 3 nights and they put only 1 teeny weeny bottle in the bathroom. We also got only 1 newspaper during our stay. We tried the informal dinner by the camp fire at the Little Camp John Hay which I heard was operated by the hotel during weekends only. The food was so-so and the waiters manning the place seemed overwhelmed and didn't quite know how to attend to the guests, I had to remind them several times because it took them forever to get our orders and our food took forever to arrive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psl1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear psl1225,

We are delighted to know that The Manor at Camp John Hay is your first choice when in Baguio. Our location is definitely one of our advantages and it delights us to know that it makes things easier and more convenient for our guests. We are also glad that you enjoyed our little touches such as the hot moringa tea which we offer to all our guests.

Please note that your comments regarding our bathroom amenities, newspaper set-up and the service at Little camp John Hay are duly noted and reviewed so that we can improve our services.

Please know that we value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    249
    77
    24
    15
See reviews for
322
121
13
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

After a five hour trip by car from Manila we arrived. No issues with check-in and the key to the room was actually a key with the room number on the key ring. The hotel has tile and wood throughout the common areas and was four stories tall. My room was on the third floor and it was very noisy with people talking and knocking and doors slamming throughout the evening including past 11:00PM. The room came with a refrigerator (not sure if all rooms have a refrigerator). The bathroom appeared quite old (1960-70s?) but was clean except I had to call to get the shower drain unclogged the first night. The view of the garden was nice and the area was decorated for Chinese New Years. My number one complaint was the water was not potable. My second issue was hot water was very limited. The first night I had about 10 minutes of warm water, the second night was 5 minutes, and by the third night I had learned to take quick showers. I rated this place average based on where this hotel is located, but if I was comparing it to other hotels in Manila, it would be rated poor based on non-potable water, minimal hot water, and no air-conditioner.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joycehnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear joycehnp,

Thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us recognize our strengths and areas of challenges.

We are sorry to learn that you had concerns with the noise in the hallways, shower drain, non-potable water, minimal hot water and no air-conditioner. However, you might be glad to learn that we are currently in the process of renovating our bathrooms which will address some of the concerns you raised.

The temperature in Baguio allows us to enjoy the cool weather thus the reason for not putting air-conditioning in all rooms but we would gladly provide room fans for your convenience.

Once again, thank you for your inputs and rest assured that the issues you raised will be considered for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed over the long weekend and experienced a chain of disappointments! I kept hearing a constant, "Sorry, it is because we are booked at 100%." First was parking, it seems there is no designated area for hotel guest parking (owner driven). The one in front is always full and as of last weekend, so was the one at the back. Second was the hot water shower. The hot water disappears after 2 minutes and the rest of the shower is cold. Third was that the noise from the other guests were coming in through the corridor side door and from the balcony! I wished they would have signs to remind guests to hush! Fourth, was the breakfast eating area. The hotel could not accommodate all the guests and there was a waiting period of 30 minutes! I do not know how it could have gotten a "certificate of excellence" when it seemed like the staff was not trained enough to handle situations like these. Actually I am pretty surprised that a hotel of this stature does not have the facilities to accommodate its guests even at 100% occupancy. It is not an excuse!

Room Tip: Check if the hot water shower lasts for more than 10 minutes. Look somewhere else if it is fully boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnA582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear AnA582.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to detail your stay at The Manor at Camp John Hay.

It is regrettable to learn that you felt that our services are unreliable during the busy season, we would like to assure you that immediate improvements are expected as we work together to raise our service standards.

Ana582, it is never our intention to purposely inconvenience our guests but I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had.

We hope you give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and will look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Ok hotel during the low season when there are not too many guest. Horrible service during the high season. Staff needs to trained more in dealing with guest. Rude and inconsistent with hotel breakfast buffet policies. Shower advertised as having hot and cold settings and that's what you'll get- one moment hot the next cold. No breakfast included in the hotel rate. Too bad location is good but because of thus weekend's experience Manor will not anymore be my first choice when staying in Baguio.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexCYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear AlexCYap,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am very concerned to learn of the less than pleasing experiences you had during your stay and I can assure you that immediate improvements are expected as we work together to raise the standards our products and services.

AlexCYap, The Manor at Camp John Hay understands the importance of fulfilling our guest’s expectations and we would want to apologize for disappointing you on this occasion.

Please know that we value feedback as it keeps us on our toes and enable us to provide the highest standard of service that our guests have come to expect of our hotel.

Thank you and we hope that this unfortunate experience will not deter you from coming back to The Manor at Camp John Hay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed in a 1bedroom suite for the Chinese new year weekend and as always, it has a cozy and homey feel. Stayed in most of the time due to the traffic brought about by the influx of tourists. Enjoyed the lounge music at thePiano bar. Went strolling around camp john hay. I will always make The Manor my first choice of hotel in Baguio.

Room Tip: Request for garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petunia415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear petunia415,

Thank you very much for your continued patronage. We are glad to learn that The Manor at Camp John Hay is your first choice during your visit in the City of Pines.

Your feedback is encouraging as we strive to provide our guests a memorable experience.

Again, thank you and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here 26-31 Jan 2014 and the overall experience was very good. The room was always kept clean. The only disadvantage is that we cannot have long hot showers because the hot water lasts only for about 15minutes or less I think and when we called the front desk about it, we were told that we have to wait for another 20minutes to get the water hot again.
The view is very nice, we had the garden view and walking around the garden was very refreshing. There's Little Camp John Hay at the back of the garden where bon fire is made late afternoon to early evening. It is also near Tree Top Adventure (walking distance) where you can have tree top fall, silver surf and skywalk (the view of Sierra Madre here is better than Mines View Park).
The food is good also but we missed the Filipino taste in food. Hotel service is excellent too, our coordinator Justin was very helpful.
We got surprised when we got back to the room because we found a token from the hotel because it was Chinese New Year.
We enjoyed buying so many things and running out of cash was not a problem because there's BPI atm machine at the ground floor.
I will definitely come back soon :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tin_Estacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Tin_Estacio,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you appreciated our rooms, garden and service. We are even more delighted to learn that you had a good overall experience with us.

Your comment regarding the hot shower has been shared with our Engineering Manager and rest assured that corrective measure will be done to further improve our products and services.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Somehow the overall service didn't quite match the hype of staying at The Manor, specially during check -in and the confusion at the customer parking. Breakfast was a better experience. The young service personnel did a good job. The spa staff was also very knowledgeable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Vivien M,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

I am concerned to learn that your recent stay with was not at not at par with your expectations. I would like to assure you that it is never our intention to purposely inconvenience our guests but I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had. Your concerns have already been discussed with the concerned Department Heads and rest assured that corrective measures will be done to further improve our services.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at The Manor at Camp John Hay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
1.2 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
1.9 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#7 of 50 in Baguio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sierra Pines Baguio
Sierra Pines Baguio
#8 of 50 in Baguio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth Baguio
Hotel Elizabeth Baguio
#9 of 50 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#19 of 50 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Camp John Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Camp John Hay

Property: The Manor at Camp John Hay
Address: Loakan Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Baguio
#3 Business Hotel in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor at Camp John Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is not only distinguished by its impressive architecture and cozy interiors, but also blessed with an environment that truly sets it apart from other hotels in Baguio City. This four-story structure, designed to blend neatly with towering pine trees, provides a magnificent view of the Cordillera mountain range. Here, one can literally open windows to cool, fresh air. For a distinct touch, a Baguio stone exterior finish, shingled roofing and tinted glass windows add warm accents to Camp John Hay Manor's cozy, relaxed and luxurious ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Manor at Camp John Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp John Hay Baguio
Manor Hotel Baguio
Camp John Hay Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing