We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor at Camp John Hay
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Luxurious hotel with very nice garden views. Air conditioning unit was not even needed inside the room because Baguio City has a very cold weather. The room we stayed in was so comfortable and clean. Every detail in the room was well planned and designed. Hotel staff were very accommodating even it was already 1am when we arrived. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request for a room with the central garden view, although the frontage/driveway view is also nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvsobrepena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear mvsobrepena,

Happy Holidays from The Manor at Camp John Hay!

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

Thank you for highlighting some of the notable aspects that made your stay memorable; such as the nice garden view, clean& comfortable room and accommodating staff.

We are excited for your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you and your guests back at The Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for The Manor at Camp John Hay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 779 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for a short visit during the Christmas period. The weather is really nice with the temperature ranging between 12C - 22C. The hotel is well decorated for Christmas and you feel all Christmassy. There is actually not much to do in Baguio City itself and your time there is best spent at the hotel with perhaps short walks in the pine forest. 2 nights is recommended.

The drawback is getting to Baguio City as there is no expressway or flights. The local roads are I guess always undergoing repair which causes slowdowns. Whole sections of the road are turned to 1 way traffic and it is quite bumpy and dusty.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a garden view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhclim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear rhclim,

Happy Holidays from The Manor at Camp John Hay!

We would like to extend our deepest appreciation for sharing with us your excellent stay in our hotel.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy the nice Baguio weather as well as the Christmas decorations in our hotel.

You might be glad the learn the the on-going road improvements would soon allow shorter travel time going to Baguio City.

Once again thank you and we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here during a conference, and although noisy and outdated, it had a great ambiance.

The Good:
• Great bar
• Great backdrop and location
• Can hold one heck of a good reception in the backyard
• Excellent reception and concierge service Lauren at reception, and Toto at concierge
• Loved the balcony
• 1 Bedroom Suites very spacious and bright

The Bad:
• Main restaurant staff (during buffet) was very unfriendly and quite unhelpful to be honest. Only the girl who welcomed you was smiling
• Cold water, always cold water.. the longest (during three days there) I had the chance to shower in warm water was about 60 seconds before it went cold. PLEASE invest in larger hot water tanks!
• The carpet badly needed to be replaced (see pic), there even was a hole in it rubbed through by the balcony.
• Cheap furniture on the balcony, could use an upgrade
• Old furniture in the room, could use some TLC

All in all was a fun hotel during the conference to stay at, but would I pay this amount for this hotel again… probably not. I would with a few improvements that I believe the management has neglected to recognize as needed, having said that I would have given the hotel 3.5 stars if that was an option.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are very noisy considering the placement of lounge/bar and restaurant.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Ryan E.,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor during your recent stay.

We wish to thank you for the positive feedback on our bar, location, reception& concierge and the balcony in your 1 bedroom suite.

Your overall experience is an important aspect of our daily operations. We would like to inform you that the concerns your raised are duly noted and reviewed to further improve our products and services.

We hope you give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I like the facilities of this hotel compared with the other hotels in Baguio we've been to. If you just want to relax and spend some time this hotel is good. There are also promo shops and restaurants along the camp that you can check out as an alternative to the popular big mall in Baguio without the hassle of being away from the hotel. Try also their nice spa.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Mahathir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Mahathir M,

We are delighted that you had a relaxing stay at The Manor and we thank you for choosing us as your preferred home in the City of Pines.

Please know that we value your feedback. The Manor team is looking forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family and I always stayed at the manor and I may say that this is our favorite hotel in baguio city so far eapecially my youngest child which she often wrote a letter on table saying that the best hotel but unfortunately no one ever reply on her note :-(.
The hotel is great , rooms are nice and classy. Food are awesome and mouth watering experience esp their breakfast buffet for 550/head, worth the price!!!!
Everybody in the hotel from the guard, front desk to housekeeping are friendly and helpful.
TIPS for traveller and hotel lover like me: choose the 2bedroom suite ,it has 3 bathroom and cr with bathtub (other rooms don't have ) . With bathrobe, slippers and a lot of toiletries (other room with limited toiletries... With complimentary welcome tea and a slice of sweet.
What I love most when the manager sent me a welcome back note on my 2nd stayed at the manor , thanks to mr Ramon Cabrera the generalanager, which didn't sent me on my current stay last oct 12-14, maybe because I book only the deluxe room, lol! (just a though).
Over all!! Manor is the best and I love coming back in this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamronaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear iamronaele,

We wish to thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at The Manor. We are glad that you and your family love coming back to our hotel.

We are sorry to learn that we were not able to give a feedback to your daughter when she wrote a note to us.Kindly extend our sincerest gratitude to her. Please let us know when you are coming back so that we can prepare a special treat for your daughter.

We would like to assure you that all rooms are given the complete set-up and the limited toiletries given to your deluxe room is an isolated incident which requires further attention to detail on our end.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm so thankful that there were rooms available at a time when Baguio is usually sardine packed. A tropical storm caused many to cancel so Im quite thankful for that storm and for the even colder weather. The Manor has a very beautiful dining area and lounge except its a little too limited for its guests. Its always full at dinner and for after dinner entertainment and they allow reservations, so do so if you plan to stay for drinks and music at their lounge. The garden is beautiful especially this season of christmas. The fog and the lights at night make it some sort of a white christmas. The rooms are comfortable and spacious except for the bathrooms which are a bit outdated and cramped. Still, its a good experience for me and my family.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rnplus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Rnplus2,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at The Manor at Camp John Hay.

We are glad that you and your family stayed with us and enjoyed the cold foggy Baguio weather.

You might be happy to learn that we are currently undergoing renovation in all our bathrooms.

Thank you again for your continued support and trust that we continually find ways to serve our guests better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My family and I stayed at the manor last weekend. The hotel is great, rooms are nice, food was awesome, the bell desk was really helpful, awesome ambiance and the check in and check out experience was good. I live in the Philippines and was surprised with the service at the restaurant and the lobby as service is in the DNA of the Filipino people. The guest relations in the lobby was a desk .... no one on it ... We had to go to the bell desk for any information. Finally on day 2 we saw a lady at the desk but when we asked for any information she knew nothing and had to call the bell desk for help. Also, the hotel had no map of the city for tourists. The restaurant at the lobby has a bar and restaurant and there is a 50% discount on cocktails but as I realized you have to sit in the lobby to enjoy the discount not just a few steps away in the lawns to enjoy the weather. The service at the restaurant was terrible. Needed to call the waiter several times before we got service. Finally the manager came but had a huge attitude issue like he was not happy doing what he was doing. At breakfast buffet the next morning, he was also there and i saw him digging his fingers into the food and tasting/eating food. Also, an advise breakfast is till 10.30am but get there early as after 9.30 the hotel stops refilling food into the buffet even if you ask them for it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the forest are quiter, garden facing can be noisy during meal times as it overlooks the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RKBose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear RKBose,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at The Manor at Camp John Hay.

We pride ourselves in delivering Manor-style service to our guests and we are sorry to learn of the less than pleasing experience you had during your stay.

Your comment regrading the service at the lobby and at the restaurant is duly noted and shared with the departments concerned.Rest assured that action plans for improvement will be applied.

However, we are pleased to know that you appreciate our rooms, food, ambiance, Bell Service and the check-in and check-out experience.

As we continuously strive to provide our guests with excellent service, your comments are useful in guiding us on how we can further improve our services and facilities.

Once again our sincerest apologies and we hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you and your guests back at The Manor at Camp John Hay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay
1.2 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
1.9 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 48 in Baguio
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#17 of 48 in Baguio
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
1.1 mi away
Sierra Pines Baguio
Sierra Pines Baguio
#8 of 48 in Baguio
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Camp John Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Camp John Hay

Address: Loakan Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Baguio
#3 Business Hotel in Baguio
Price Range: $89 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor at Camp John Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is not only distinguished by its impressive architecture and cozy interiors, but also blessed with an environment that truly sets it apart from other hotels in Baguio City. This four-story structure, designed to blend neatly with towering pine trees, provides a magnificent view of the Cordillera mountain range. Here, one can literally open windows to cool, fresh air. For a distinct touch, a Baguio stone exterior finish, shingled roofing and tinted glass windows add warm accents to Camp John Hay Manor's cozy, relaxed and luxurious ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Manor at Camp John Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp John Hay Baguio
Manor Hotel Baguio
Camp John Hay Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing