We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Baguio Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor at Camp John Hay
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“The Baguio Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The best time to go to Baguio is during low season. Traffic going up and within Baguio is bearable. Just be careful when driving after dark because of numerous construction along MacArthur Highway and Kennon Road. Some sections of MacArthur Highway in Tarlac and Pangasinan are being upgraded and lacks warning signs. Service in the Manor is impeccable. Resorts and hotels in the Philippines can learn a lot from the Manor. It is a fine display of Filipino hospitality par execellance. Since it is low season, the rates are just great. A suiite for 3 or 4 persons at 4,500 pesos is a real bargain considering the quality of the accommodation and the view, just wonderful. This is how vacations should be. The Manor is highly recommended. The one-bedroom suite comes with two flat-screens and cd player, mini bar,hot pot, complementary bottled water, coffee, tea and toiletries. The suite has a floor area of about 50 sqm or maybe larger with two bathrooms. We did not try the breakfast buffet, but ordered ala carte and the food is fine and serving is very ample. the buffet looks very inviting though and a tough temptation to resist for someone waging a batttle with the bulge.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    261
    80
    25
    15
See reviews for
342
122
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We regularly go to Baguio and The Manor is our top pick!
Place is the best for relaxing.
Stay normally comes with complimentary drinks and foot spas! Absolute best. Room service is always great. Walking around Camp John Hay provides good exercise and fun family activities to boot.

Buffet breakfast at The Manor remains one of my most favorite breakfasts in the world!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandnshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

It has a rustic feel yet exudes elegance. Staff make you feel like you're VIP. Food is ok as well as the spa. We wish there was a couple room at the spa. Valet service is great! If you are in Baguio, it's a must to stay in The Manor to be able to smell the pine trees and be away from the hustle of city life. We'll surely comeback.

Room Tip: Choose the room with veranda to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our recent stay at Manor in Baguio was a sudden yet beautiful one, on a quiet Monday. Garden view rooms were spic and span, only yanker was the lock in the bathroom. Service was great, especially Michelle at the front desk was so charming and helpful, removes the soreness of a 5 hour drive!

Overall, a place worth returning to again and again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ortigas, philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I've booked twice in this hotel (2 years in a row).
Theres nothing much special about this hotel. nothing much special compared to what others offer.
Though you may want to know that they never ignored the basics.

the look of the hotel - Classsic! made mostly of classic wood

the location of the hotel - Classic! located in a former US Military base, atop the mountain, inside a dense population of pine trees, located at some distance from the crowded city.

the rooms of the hotel - Classic! spacious, clean, very very very nice view (you'll feel your on a honeymoon)

The food - Classic! everywhere we go we can find modern, this hotel pushes the basic classic dishes to their extreme level, and I believe it can fit almost diet.

Overall - Classic! I've, and will never be, and never feel in Baguio without staying in this hotel. its a living legend.

You find out for yourself. if you love the outdoors you'll replace your wife with this.

Room Tip: pic a room with the garden view. believe me, youll never want to turn on the TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxgrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Of all my travels to Baguio, The Manor is the only one that makes me feel the old Baguio that we used to know. If you will go there, make sure its at the manor. Beside the very beautiful location (Camp John Hay), it is away from the very polluted city. Rooms are very spacious, it has 2 queen size bed which can fit for up to 4 people. Furniture and interiors are very well detailed. Garden is impressive you can just sit there the whole day. Restaurants, outlet shops and starbucks is just meters away. I am so looking forward to go here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherwin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Pro's:
The garden view is magnificent. You can take beautiful pictures at your veranda, and I also find it enjoyable to eat my breakfast there while watching the kids play at the wide garden area. The comfort room is ok. A microwave oven and tea making facilities are provided. We were able to watch a boxing match at the lobby for free. Internet in the room is not complimentary but we paid 150php for a 24 hour wireless internet which is ok.

Con's:
The room smells aged and they don't use a card as key for the door. Their elevator door close so fast and the elevator is small. I had a hard time connecting to their wi-fi at the lobby.

Room Tip: Get a garden room for a good view and choose a room at the end of the north wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meagainpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
1.2 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
0.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay
1.9 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#8 of 48 in Baguio
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
1.1 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#17 of 48 in Baguio
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Pines Baguio
Sierra Pines Baguio
#7 of 48 in Baguio
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Camp John Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Camp John Hay

Property: The Manor at Camp John Hay
Address: Loakan Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Baguio
#3 Business Hotel in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor at Camp John Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is not only distinguished by its impressive architecture and cozy interiors, but also blessed with an environment that truly sets it apart from other hotels in Baguio City. This four-story structure, designed to blend neatly with towering pine trees, provides a magnificent view of the Cordillera mountain range. Here, one can literally open windows to cool, fresh air. For a distinct touch, a Baguio stone exterior finish, shingled roofing and tinted glass windows add warm accents to Camp John Hay Manor's cozy, relaxed and luxurious ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Manor at Camp John Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp John Hay Baguio
Manor Hotel Baguio
Camp John Hay Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing