We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to The Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor at Camp John Hay
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Back to The Manor”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is our 2nd time at The Manor. We had such a wonderful experience in May that we decided to come back. We stayed from Dec. 29 until Jan. 1. We stayed in two deluxe rooms with balcony. They were really very spacious and had a fantastic view of the gardens.
The Christmas decorations were fantastic and so was the ambiance. Their New Year's eve countdown was superb!
All the staff were courteous and really friendly.
For me, there's no other place in Baguio but The Manor Hotel at Camp John Hay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonypet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Tonypet1,

Greetings from The Manor at Camp John Hay!

It has been our pleasure to be of service to you and your guests.We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our New Year's Eve Countdown.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Manor at Camp John Hay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    272
    80
    25
    15
See reviews for
358
127
13
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were delighted to learn that there was one room left in the Manor, according to the Reservations guy, Jacob. We were put in the "new wing" of The Manor, so I assumed it wouldn't be so bad to be staying a little further from the main building. It was. :(

Walk from Manor to the Manor Suites is through the garden, and behind the Suites building, and when you get there you know it couldn't be a "new" building. It was more like a deserted building, refurbished only in the main areas. Even the elevator looked old. Check in is via The Suites lobby, manned by two girls overwhelmed with guests (no queuing system in place) trying to check in/ check out/ file a complaint.

We were put in a room that didn't have a phone to call for room service, the cable TV reception was bad/about 20 channels were missing, the balcony was blocked by plywood. Many outlets weren't working. And when I found one that worked, my hair dryer went up in smoke. That being said, the room was huge! It was clean and everything was new. The bathroom is clean, it even had a powder area. Huge. Since we wanted to watch decent TV, they transferred us that night to another part of the building that had all the channels working. (Half of the building didn't have good TV because only one cable amplifier was installed - according to the maintenance crew). The second room was also huge, but it was noticeably older, with patches in the carpet and broken bathroom fixtures. The toilet was kinda strange, it was the first time I encountered a hotel using the type of toilet as with public bathrooms (with the stick as the lever for flushing). The second room also had the habit of black outs every so often. We reported it and they said it was a circuit breaker problem. The solution was to pull out and put in the key card thingy from the main switch - according to housekeeping.

Overall the staff we're friendly and helpful - they really tried to help out all the guests. And I saw first hand the number of complaints they got while waiting for service at the front desk. I kinda felt sorry for them because the building really didn't seem ready to accept so many guests. The food in Le Chef was fit for a 5-star hotel, we tried their breakfast buffet. It was a steal at P550 bucks. That buffet was one of the best parts of staying in The Manor Suites.

Room Tip: When Reservations asks you if it is okay to book you in The Manor Suites - say no! Stick to the Mano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CottonCandyCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear CottonCandyCupcake,

Greetings from the Manor at Camp John Hay!

Thank you for taking time to inform us about the details of your stay. We truly regret that your experience with us was less than ideal.

Your feedback is shared with the management team and rest assured that corrective measures will be done to avoid similar incidents in the future.

We are grateful for the good points you enumerated particularly the friendly and helpful staff and the food at Le Chef.

Thank you for your understanding. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back at The Manor at Camp John Hay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We booked a Deluxe Forest View room (with Veranda-rate P5,500) with extra bed (additional P1250) a week ago and the experience we had in Manor was splendid!! The cost was all worth it. It was almost Christmas time so the place was decorated with so many Christmas stuff and the Garden area has big Xmas pine trees which are so beautiful!!! The air here is cooler and fresher since the hotel is surrounded by lots of pine trees and colorful flowers. .
Room is spacious, very clean so is the bathroom with complete supplies of toiletries. It has a hot and cold shower. It has a small coffee counter with sink. Here you can find the complimentary water, tea, coffee Chips, beer, noodles etc (you have to pay for that of course )We stay in the veranda to sip our tea and coffee with perfect view of the forest area ( Pine trees area actually). I’m not sure if our room has aircon . .it was cold during this season so I did not really notice, except the ceiling fan.

We were offered a green sweet tea while waiting for the check in process and it was refreshing.( Btw, we deposited the payment in a bank here in Manila to complete the booking requirements.)Everyone was so polite always smiling. I got sick during our vacation and Manor has an available nurse to check me out. Great staff !

Breakfast not include, too bad. They have a breakfast buffet for P550 (kids get half price). There are ala carte breakfasts which are cheaper. Great food what can I say. There are lots of eateries just across the hotel so this is not a problem if guests opted for cheaper meals. The bread shop, Le Chef, sells good bread, pastries, jams etc.. too. Don’t miss it.

I love Camp John Hay Manor. I will save up again so next Christmas will be spent here again with my family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APRIL8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have never been fascinated by Baguio in my past trips. I did not like the crowds in Session road. But, since it was my husband's family tradition to spend christmas there, I had to look for a place worth staying in.

I came across The Manor of Camp John Hay. I was surprised at how well it looked. I opted for the forest view. About P5,200/night as opposed to the garden view P5,500/night. 1 room can accomodate 4 pax.

Communications and coordination were very efficient. One day after I made a booking via, phone, I received an email for our confirmation and payment requirement.

It took us 5 hours via sctex - kennon road to get to Baguio.On the day that we arrived, it took us less than 5 minutes in the front desk to take care of our reservation.

Because we went there during Christmas season, the atmosphere was very festive. Although there were a lot of vacationers, the place never felt crowded.

The following morning, I appreciated Baguio's old charm. We almost never left the hotel because simple activities like staring at the pine trees and walking around the hotel were enough scenery for us.There activities for kids and kids at heart like tree top adventure where you can spend half day trailing the forest. Gold course is also a stone's throw away from the hotel. At night time, there were scheduled performances like harpists, violinists, chorales, opera singers while you dine al fresco.

Breakfast is not included in the rates because the restaurant there is a concessionaire. They charge 450/pax buffet breakfast and 900 buffet dinner. OHMIGOSH! The food there is heavenly. Must try are the strawberry cakes in Le Chef bakery. They are cheap, about P110/slice.

Use of sauna and fitness facility is free. Try the steam/ sauna room on your first night. They have an in house masseuse who is always booked. However, front desk can arrange for a massage therapist from their partner spas. Massage was really blissful.

Room Tip: If you like music, try the garden view. Most happenings are in that area. Try to book during rainy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaritababe017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, tx
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Very nice rooms and helpful, polite and friendly staff. The restaurant is very good...excellent food and desserts. I had a few dinners there and breakfast twice. All very good. Excellent service and very attentive wait staff. Good gym. No pool.

Eco-friendliness: I dont like the fact that all the water is in plastic bottles and they charge you to bring filtered water to your room. Also, the room service staff doesnt seem to care that you didnt ask for a towel change or a bed linen change and change it everyday. Even my telling them didnt seem to have an effect. Finally resorted to putting a "Do not disturb" sign outside the door.

Location: Its a bit removed from city central but very easy to get to from the city with a taxi (about 50-70 pesos). Its getting to the city thats the problem. Hailing a cab can be difficult on the road outside since there just arent that many passing by. What I would do is get a cabbie's cell number when you ride it the first time and work something out with him on coming and getting you.

Nearby: There's the shops at the comissary and a good coffee shop there. Butterfly garden and walks around the hotel are nice too. There's a few restaurants also at the shops at comissary in case you want a change in scene. I would try the Dencio's close by for local dishes.

Overall nice place to stay. Would go back there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippercmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were in Baguio for my parents' 25th wedding anniversary. Decided to have a nice dinner at The Manor. The dining hall looked like an open lobby, overlooking the posh gardens, lush trees and greenery within the hotel compound. Very posh but cozy interiors with ambient dim lighting, definitely perfect for an intimate dinner with your loved ones. The food and service was great. This would make a nice wedding reception area for couples who love the outdoors and the mountain views.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlineSendin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We planned our fourth visit to Baguio, and this time we decided to stay at Camp John Hay. A very good decision, for sure.

We drove from North of Manila up the SCTEX and then on the MacArthur Highway until we reached Sison, at which point we turned up the Kennon Road. A few places showed signs of landslides, but the road crews had the road passable all the way up to the turn off for Camp John Hay. We arrived at the Manor, and parked our car in the parking lot.

We checked in and we were all given a welcome cup of tea which was very much appreciated. The bell staff and hotel doormen were all very attentive. We were shown up to our one bedroom suite, which was a forest view room and we were very impressed with the quality of our rooms. Everything was just perfect. The living room had a couch and table as well as a dining room table and chairs also. TV was in the living room as well as a wet bar stocked with snacks and drinks as well as a microwave.

Our bedroom was perfect. Comfy bed and white linens as well as a second TV. Two bathrooms were part of our suite, both complete with towels, wash clothes, and soaps, lotions, shower cap, toothbrushes, sewing kits etc. Both hot and cold water in the showers and sinks.

We very much enjoyed the gardens, and next time, we will choose the garden view rooms, which are only about 300 pesos (about $7.00 USD) more than the forest view rooms. We strolled around the gardens and enjoyed the benches with views overlooking the mountains of Baguio.

We went to dinner in the dining room which is open to the gardens. Dinner had white table cloths and napkins as well as serenading musicians singing and playing their guitars as they wandered through the dining room. This was truly a 5 star experience for us. After dinner, we visited the bakery, which had yummy cheesecake and Haagen Dazs Ice Cream available for sale.

Even though Camp John Hay is located away from the downtown section of Baguio City, a quick and inexpensive cab ride took us over to SM Baguio and the Sessions Road area. It cost about 80 pesos for the cab ride which is about $2.00 USD.

In the evening we spend more time out in the garden area, with the peace and quiet of the mountain area. We also went over to Little Camp John Hay which is adjacent. A shopping center is nearby with various outlet stores which is in walking distance.. Internet access is available, but they charge 100 pesos for 24 hours of access in the rooms, but free access is available in the lobby.

We had a good night sleep, and were sorry that we were only there for one night. In the morning. back to the dining room for breakfast, and most of us had the American Style Breakfast, but the Filippino Style Breakfast was also available.

Check out was very easy, and we had help with our baggage out to our car. We highly recommend Camp John Hay to anyone interested in a quality experience. Also, be sure to check out their website as they offer nearly half price specials on their room rate. We will definately return again on our next tirip to Baguio City.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for Garden View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheChief_Theboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay
1.2 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
1.1 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#18 of 48 in Baguio
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 48 in Baguio
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
1.1 mi away
Sierra Pines Baguio
Sierra Pines Baguio
#8 of 48 in Baguio
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Camp John Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Camp John Hay

Property: The Manor at Camp John Hay
Address: Loakan Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Baguio
#3 Business Hotel in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor at Camp John Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is not only distinguished by its impressive architecture and cozy interiors, but also blessed with an environment that truly sets it apart from other hotels in Baguio City. This four-story structure, designed to blend neatly with towering pine trees, provides a magnificent view of the Cordillera mountain range. Here, one can literally open windows to cool, fresh air. For a distinct touch, a Baguio stone exterior finish, shingled roofing and tinted glass windows add warm accents to Camp John Hay Manor's cozy, relaxed and luxurious ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Manor at Camp John Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp John Hay Baguio
Manor Hotel Baguio
Camp John Hay Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing