We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that glitters truly is not "GOLD'”
Review of Summer Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baguio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Place Hotel
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Reviewed December 23, 2005

We made a reservation at this hotel based on what we read in this advisory. It is far from being a five star hotel in any way, shape or form.If you do decide to try this hotel, take up the hotels offer to view the rooms first. We did and headed directly to Camp John Hay Manor. Any comparison between these two hotels is incomprehensible. The grounds alone at Camp John Hay are worth the extra pesos.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Frederick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2005

I reserved at this hotel on the basis of the reviews from (-), and from the website of Summer Place Baguio (-).
On choosing the rooms based from the hotel webiste, I chose a triple suite because it said that there were three queen beds. With six of us in the family, this was perfect for us.

Reservation was easy enough from Manila. (Tel number ----. Baguio number is ----). The lady said that for weekends, the rate was P2,200 and I felt this was reasonable.

I paid the reservation in Manila in cash, through their Summer Place Hotel account in Metrobank. Once paid, they gave me a confirmation letter by e-mail. Everything was set and we were ready to go!

When we reached Baguio, and checked out the rooms, I was very disappointed that there were only two queen size beds.

I verbalized my disappointment because with six family members (two teens and two children, plus my husband and I) could not possibly fit in with two queen size beds. Renting two extra single beds would cost an additional P1,400 (each single bed would cost P700).

At first, the staff would not relent until I insisted to see the website in their hotel computer, and lo and behold, when I clicked the page for the triple suite, it really indicated that there were three queen size beds.

My husband then gave two choices to the hotel - either we get a refund of the P2,200 we paid or the hotel can either add two single beds with no additional charge.

After a lot of stewing from our end for around thirty minutes, and a lot of negotiations with the staff with (I would guess- the higher bosses of the hotel), we were finally told that we could get the additional two single beds with no additional charge.

After this mix-up, the hotel turned to be ok when we checked in that night. The hotel room was thoroughly cleaned up, with sheets changed. It even felt warmer, than when we just arrived in the morning.

It is not a 5 or a 4 star hotel, let me make that clear. The lady in reservation promised a room with a nice view, but there was really no view at all, except for Marcos highway, and some dreary houses below.

The interior design was a bit uneven, with not the best of craftsmanship I've seen, uneven paint on the ceiling, uneven tiles on the bathroom, rug on the floor which had seen better days.The hotel looked like one of those hotels in Kowloon, Hong Kong. To complete the 'Chinois' effect, almost all the guests we saw were Korean tourists.

But the hotel's saving grace were the sizes of the rooms which were quite big, and the bathrooms which were large and roomy (the size of that bathroom must be one hotel room in New York or Tokyo at skyrocket prices). The water supply was very good, with the water heating up quickly. They supplied us with four huge, clean towels everyday which was quite nice.

There were huge cabinets for all your suitcases, and shoes and a big cabinet for the TV (with cable) and ref.

What I liked most of all was that when we arrived at night, the hotel was all aglow with bright, cheery lights. They didn't skimp on electriciy, so that at night, it looked cheerful, and the place safe. The corridors were well lit, and the lobby was inviting to everyone. There was a visible, but friendly guard who helps the guests too.

What was also nice was the 24 hour store that was open right beside the hotel, in case you needed to get anything for emergency purposes.

The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming too. They were very nice even if I complained a lot at the start.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay there because we were comfortable. I don't think you can get a room that big at that price.

At the last day of our stay, we were asked to write in our comments, and I told them that they should change the data on their webiste because it was misleading to the public.

When I checked it now, the triple suite already said that it contained three single beds (and not three queen sized beds). If we stayed at our current arrangement, it would have cost us P3,500 a day and not P2,200. If that is indeed the price, then it's a bit high, and I might rather stay at the Manor Hotel at Camp John Hay.

My family and I discovered another hotel that you might all want to check in. There's this great Inn called Mile Hile Inn inside Camp John Hay. Each room has a single queen sized bed with one double decker bed. The rooms are quite small, but it has a bathroom and TV/cable. It costs P1,800 per day. It's in the same cluster of buildings where you can find Dencio's at Mile High. You can walk around Camp John Hay, and within walking distance of the Manor Hotel and a number of restaurants. You can check that one too. I had the number but can't find it now. But you can call Dencio's at Camp John Hay and ask for the number because I found out later on that they are owned by one family only.

Hope this review helped someone, somehow.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
42  Thank sevenofnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nial13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.6 mi away
Green Valley Baguio Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#31 of 50 in Baguio
33 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Supreme Convention Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 50 in Baguio
164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn Rocio
Inn Rocio
#14 of 50 in Baguio
60 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#18 of 50 in Baguio
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Hotel

Address: 288 Marcos Highway, Baguio, Luzon 02600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Baguio
Price Range: $35 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place to experience luxury and sophistication at the Summer-Capital of the Philippines, the gateway to Baguio City is a unique hotel experience at Summer Place Hotel, "the first fine boutique hotel in Baguio City" just opened April 2003. It is just one of Baguio's most popular 3-Star Hotel destination which offers spectacular views and breathtaking scenery of the city, a dramatic and romantic touch of sunset, with a glimpse of South China Sea. Take it all in through a panoramic window, all while relaxing in spacious rooms. European, Asian, American, influences and unequalled modern facilities are reflected in the design and decor for you to experience the cultural mix of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Place Baguio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing