We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the overruns!”

Bell House - Camp John Hay
Ranked #13 of 67 things to do in Baguio
Attraction details
Calamba, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I love the overruns!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Oh man! Here comes a one-stop shop for the overruns! Great buys huh??! Of course, Camp John Hay is also composed of a golf course - its wonderful! I love the place - I really do! The ambiance and the weather matched so well and it feels like I'm in other western countries :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maiafifteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    21
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baguio City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“historical & unusual sixth sense experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

historically, I will recommend the place. If you love history, picture taking, old american heritage, you must visit this place. the place was in the news for the last months due to an underground tunnel illegally? constructed.
when you visit the rooms, a caretaker/guide will assist you but be ready if you will feel.discover something unusual which will raise your body"hairs". If that happens, dont panic. just say "hwag kayong magalit. namamasyal lang po kami"

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RIC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ak
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Historic Area of CJH”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everyone says visit Camp John Hay but if you’ve never been there, it’s tough to figure out exactly what to visit. The area is huge and you might be tempted to just hang out in the food and shopping area where the taxi stand is also located.

Instead, I would recommend the Historic area for its beautiful gardens and serene location. It a hike up the hill or have the cab drop you off at the top of the hill. Here you will find a gate where you have to pay to enter (30PHP for students, 60PHP for adults… ask for a local discount if you’re from here and bringing guests). This gives you access to the Bell House, a well-kept, historically relevant home that you can breeze through in a few minutes unless you are, like me, prone to reading every single hanging plaque of information and gazing at old historic photos. Signs tell you not to sit on anything or lie on the beds etc…. It’s the honor system since the rooms are not cordoned off and you walk into the place as though walking through a home that’s still occupied. The patio/deck that surrounds the house provides stunning views all around and will give you a feel for Baguio the way it was thirty years ago.

The garden/amphitheater area is worth the entry fee. Just take in the serenity of the place. Although sadly, the obnoxious shrieks of those riding the zip line, a newly opened attraction right next to the amphitheater, can ruin the quiet meditative place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traipsingguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“A rather well kept, photogenic historical house”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Bell house is located in the historical core of Camp John Hay. We were called for a function held there by he historical society.

The house itself has been kept in pristine condition - you can walk through the pretty bedrooms, the living room with it's antique furniture (naturally with "Do not sit" notices!). I liked it and one can easily spend an hour here.

However, one thing that I would have appreciated was if there was more information about this palce (or ideally - about each room). Unfortunately, I had to spend some time on the internet after my visit to find out what exactly the Bell house was, when was it built, etc. There is none of this information int eh house itself :(

Fyi, The Bell house is named after Major General Franklin Bell - the Chief of staff of US Army from 1906-1910 ... yes, the time of the Philippine conquest by USA. The house was originally the vacation house of the American Commanding General of Philippines. Later Camp John Hay turned into a rest place for ailing US army personnel. It is said that F.Bell was instrumental in converting Camp John Hay into a military resort - I guess that was during the time when he was not involved in war crimes.

The walls are adorned with many old photos (unfortunately there was nothing written next to them so we had no idea WHOSE photos they were!). Teh only one we could identify was that of John Milton Hay

All in all, it is a beautiful place to explore and saunter through - highly recommended. With some better signs and written material (or guides? - during our visit, the staff at the house were clueless!). There is an interesting totem pole outside which has the heads of some historical figures who played a role durign the US occupation of Philippines

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell House - Camp John Hay also viewed

Baguio, Benguet Province
Baguio, Benguet Province
 
Baguio, Benguet Province
Baguio, Benguet Province
 

Been to Bell House - Camp John Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing