We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving the Twist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love the way the chef of the The Forest Lodge makes their food. It's very delicious, it's cheap and the presentation is wow. The service is great also because they never let the customer wait or even let their hands wave just to get the attention of the waiter. Overall, good food, good price, good ambiance equals a great place to spend your vacation and relax.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank POGISIKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theforestlodge, Front Office Manager at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment in the TripAdvisor Community.

We would like to invite you once again to stay with us during your next visit in the City of Pines. It will always be a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

We hope to see you once again at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 469 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

been in this place about a month ago. i was surprised of its elegance and beauty. it is indeed a very nice place to stay. i really love the place. near to a golf course, commissary, an adventure place with zipline etc.,the place surrounding has a lot of pine trees, baguiong baguio talaga. thank you forest lodge of camp john hay

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank romanjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theforestlodge, Front Office Manager at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment in the TripAdvisor Community.

We would like to invite you once again to stay with us during your next visit in the City of Pines. It will always be a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

We hope to see you once again at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Forest Lodge is located in Camp John Hay. A place where you can unwind and feel the pine breeze. The lobby is so cozy and the food is superb! The view from the hotel provides serenity and relaxation for those who want to commune with nature.

The staff are courteous and always ready to help whenever you need something. Transportation is not a problem when you want to get out of the camp to go around the city. taxi drivers are trained by the Department of Tourism as frontliners for tourism (they give back fare change as well).

Aside from the good food and courteous staff, hotel accommodation is affordable. ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theforestlodge, Front Office Manager at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment in the TripAdvisor Community.

We would like to invite you once again to stay with us during your next visit in the City of Pines. It will always be a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

We hope to see you once again at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had an amazing time at Forest Lodge - the food was amazing plus the tour was relaxing and very accommodating. The Hotel has spacious rooms and very vibrant hallways. The Lobby was exciting with top class Sculptures and Crafts

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbdan0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theforestlodge, Front Office Manager at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment in the TripAdvisor Community.

We would like to invite you once again to stay with us during your next visit in the City of Pines. It will always be a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

We hope to see you once again at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love the view from the veranda! As i woke up at 6 in the morning i can hear the birds chirping, the type of chirp that is not annoying. The Hotel Lobby is big, the prize is very affordable considering the fact that it is within the famous Camp John Hay! The air is pine scented and very cold! The rooms are huge! staying at the two level hotel room is really exciting, there are two baths and queen size beds! It is so quiet at night and you can really relax at the Forest Lodge.

Room Tip: Try the room with two levels it can fit in more than four persons that is if you are willing to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vince T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theforestlodge, Front Office Manager at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment in the TripAdvisor Community.

We would like to invite you once again to stay with us during your next visit in the City of Pines. It will always be a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

We hope to see you once again at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

During this trip to Baguio, our family tried something new. We took the Victory Liner Deluxe bus to the City of Pines. This topic is good for another review, since the bus experience was the most comfortable and convenient. It only took us 4.5 hours from the Cubao station.

We arrived Forest Lodge 5:00am. We were greeted by a front desk officer named Rain.
He was nice enough to allow us to check in early! This was fortunate, since check in time is normally at 2:00pm. The lobby is quite vast - there are a good number of sofas and sitting areas facing a fire place facing a huge picture windows which give you a wonderful view of the Cordillera mountains. This is simply breathtaking during sunrise. The lobby also has free WI-FI.

When we got to our one-bedroom suite, we were pleasantly surprised! The interiors were nothing impressive, but at least basic clean. The suite was incredibly spacious, just the way we like it. The bedroom has a king sized bed. While the dining, living and kitchen had a sofa with a pull out bed. We ordered an extra bed which cost PhP600 (USD14) a night. The dining room has its own T&B. This was ideal since the nanny and kids used this. The housekeeping attendants were very swift and courteous. Be sure to tip them.

The bedroom had a view of the majestic pine trees and the American Style Mile-Hi Commissary. This was only a few steps away from the hotel, and this is why we think Forest Lodge has the best location. Mile-Hi has a good number of restaurants, our fave being L'il John's. It serves American comfort food among other fare like all day breakfast. (tapa, longganisa, daing na bangus). You will enjoy their bowl of chili.

If you plan on walking back to the hotel though, be ready for a cardiac work-out! The uphill walk can be challenging - even for my agile young kids (12, 11 and 5) It is better to take the route via The Manor Hotel (which also owns Forest Lodge). You enter the lobby, go thru the garden and turn left. This is an easier way to get to Forest Lodge.

FOOD.
'Twists' is a restaurant facing the lobby which bears the name of famed Chef Billie King. It is quite basic and non-descript. There are many places to eat in Mile-Hi. Look up Chef's Home for authentic Malay cuisine. This is a must!

On the third day I ordered room service from this coffee shop. My miso soup and salmon sashimi was standard.

TRANSPORTATION.
For those not bringing a car to Baguio, you can rent a shuttle for short distance drop-offs (like to the Filling Station, where the horses are) This only costs PhP100. (about USD2.50) We hired the Manors shuttle for a 2-hour city tour to the BenCab Museum for only PhP1000 (USD24). This was a brand new Starex van that fit the six of us.

BREW YOUR OWN COFFEE.
It is best to make your own coffee in your room if you are an early riser who wants to check e-mail in the lobby at 6:00am. I did this every day since I arrived Baguio since I know that 'Twists' coffee shop opens at 7:00am. I ordered a brewed coffee from Leah. It arrived 35 minutes after! Her excuse was: Sorry ma'am I was waiting fir the coffee maker to heat itself. Brilliant!

All in all, I feel we will come back to this hotel the next time we are in Baguio. We had a very stress-free and memorable, and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 6, the one-bedroom suite is excellent value for money. It is 88 square meters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toccata100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theforestlodge, Front Office Manager at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment in the TripAdvisor Community.

We would like to invite you once again to stay with us during your next visit in the City of Pines. It will always be a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

We hope to see you once again at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Forest Lodge for 3 nights. The room was big in size and accommodated 2 double beds. The toilet is always clean and has strong water pressure. The beds were firm and soft enough to sleep soundly. The location of the hotel is quiet and peaceful and makes you feel safe even if you walk alone at night. The staff were courteous. If you request for a taxi, they call one for you right away. When you arrive at the hotel after a whole day of going out, they immediately walk towards you to help you with whatever you are carrying.

I needed a pin for my blouse which is too loose, I asked from the front desk where I can buy one, the lady staff named Yam smilingly took her bag and took a pin and gave it to me. Thank you, Ms. Yam.

The room was provided daily with 4 bottles of water, coffee, cream, heating kettle. The bathroom was provided with soap, shampoo, lotion, toothbrush, toothpaste and plenty of clean towels.

One negative comment is that the room was not provided with printed rules and information. One night, I called the front desk and asked for the telephone number of a fast food chain that delivers dinner to hotel guests. The guy who answered gladly gave me the number but failed to tell me that I will be charged for a local call. It's only a small amount but still I was surprised to see it in my bill when I checked out. I think local calls should be free of charge.

Another negative comment is that the room given to us has a balcony that can't be used. A big flat wood blocked its entry. We arrived and left but no explanation was given. It seems the balcony is still under repair. They should have repaired it before offering the room to clients. It would have been better if we were allowed to use it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Racq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theforestlodge, Front Office Manager at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comment in the TripAdvisor Community.

We would like to invite you once again to stay with us during your next visit in the City of Pines. It will always be a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

We hope to see you once again at The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.1 mi away
The Manor at Camp John Hay
1.2 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
1.9 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 50 in Baguio
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#19 of 50 in Baguio
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth Baguio
Hotel Elizabeth Baguio
#10 of 50 in Baguio
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay

Address: Loakan Road | Benguet, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Price Range: $68 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and comfortable home away from home with "The Best Deal in Baguio" The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay is open to the whole gang, the entire family and even corporate denizens who long to escape the city and let their hair down and have the best fun in Baguio on the biggest and hottest deal! Located inside Camp John Hay, The Forest Lodge offers the best of both worlds: living spaces that are big on comfort and an outdoor environment that offers numerous fun activities. The Forest Lodge gives guests a choice of accommodations: the Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Family Rooms and One-Bedroom Suites. Spacious rooms with windows open to more views of the surrounding pine forests and lush greens. Free Wi-Fi services are available for those who still want to get in touch with family, friends and business associates while on a holiday. The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay offers 24-hour Front Desk services, Housekeeping, Maintenance and Security. The Forest Lodge offers some superb treats at The Twist. The new café has a relaxed and friendly feel for casual dining. Well-known culinary artist, Chef Billy King, has whipped up a menu of delicious snacks, quick-but-hefty short order items and tempting pastries. While at The Forest Lodge, guests can enjoy some retail therapy at the Mile High situated in front of the hotel. Restaurants and cafes offer anything from authentic Italian treats to Filipino all-time favorites. The Baguio-AyalaLand TechnoHub, on the other hand, invites visitors to its selection of charming cafes and specialty restaurants for quiet meals and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing