We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much”
Review of Citylight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Citylight Hotel
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms and more than acceptable breakfast buffet. Walking distance to heart of the city but may be a bit difficult for some as it is going uphill from the hotel. Rooms are not air conditioned despite what they say in the booking sites.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNaceno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Citylight Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 163 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

City light is now newly renovated. I've checked-in before the renovation and after and I must say it improved a lot. The location is the best strength of this hotel. It is just a few walks away from Session road. The upper twin deluxe rooms can accommodate 4 persons. Breakfast is nice too but don't expect too much. Service is just okay too.

Room Tip: Deluxe room on the upper floors can accomodate 4 persons without extra bed. Be mindful that they hav...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tekgik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed one night; hotel is very clean and modern. The location is good and within walking distance of SM Mall and Burnham Park. The food was good in the bar and the prices very reasonable. My only complaint about the room was the noise from outside. No air-con in the rooms so slept with the window open. (no fly screens). The bedroom and bathroom are on par with some 5 star hotels I have stayed in

Room Tip: Keep the windows closed and ask for a fan if you want a good nights sleep
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked two rooms over the weekend, April 13-14, 2003.

This is my second time to stay at this hotel. Although my expectations were satisfactorily met, I felt the hotel can do more to elevate the experience from mere satisfactory to excellent.

On the plus side, the hotel is noted for its reasonable price, its utilitarian and minimalist charm, and its sumptuous breakfast. The eat-all-you-can breakfast is its true selling point. However, be ready to squeeze in a crowd of hungry diners as they allow "ousiders" to dine in their restaurant. And how they come in multitudes especially during weekends.

If the hotel were to seriously improve itself and provide the best value for money, these issues should very well be addressed by the management:

1. Installation of exhaust fan in the bathroom (it can get stinky in the room which is ruinous of the pleasant experience)
2. Wi-fi connection in every room.
3. Free toothbrush and tooth paste.
4. Prompt action over simple requests (it took me 2-3 follow-ups before they acted on my request for slippers and hot water)

All things considered, my hotel experience was slightly better than okay. But how I wish I could lavish it more with praises. Perhaps on my next visit.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors with windows and view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AttyBJSolis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We arrived in the Hotel at about 5:30 in the morning. Although our check in time would be at 2:00 p.m., the friendly and accommodating staff secured our luggage so we could be free to roam the city.
For a budget hotel, the rooms were tidy, staff friendly and beds were very comfortable. for an extra person to share the room without another bed, you are charged Php 350 per head, which was quite reasonable.

Their breakfast buffet at Php 195/ head is well recommended,

In short , we had a good time in the city and in the hotel we stayed and would definitely return and recommend these to friends.

Room Tip: For a family of eight, we took two deluxe room with two double beds. We did not request additional...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Good location and clean rooms..most value for your money. This is the beat hotel.and will come back here soon.just please make the wifi in rooms stronger..love the facts that they have free tea and coffee

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nayeriarmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The last months we have been going up to Baguio every time we would visit our daughter we would stay at this hotel. It is very near session road and just seconds away from the Baguio Cathedral. Price is good and location is great. Just be ready to be awaken every morning to the church bells ringing. Music to my ears. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Please disregard the rating of fitness center. The hotel has no fitness center and I accidentally ti...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PH_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
1.4 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#17 of 48 in Baguio
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelite Express Hotel
Travelite Express Hotel
#15 of 48 in Baguio
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veniz
Hotel Veniz
#12 of 48 in Baguio
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Supreme Convention Plaza
0.6 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 48 in Baguio
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citylight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citylight Hotel

Address: 245 Upper General Luna Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Price Range: $46 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citylight Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citylight Hotel is a reflection of Baguio's metropolitan and environmental resplendence, a fresh, modern hotel that features a clean, minimalist, geometric architectural design with a chic Zen interior perfect for setting the mood to ultimate relaxation. Located at the heart of the city, just a few steps from the Baguio Cathedral and session Road, Citylight Hotel offers one hundred rooms providing comfort to traveling guests, Citylight Hotel boasts of 2 elegant ballrooms, 2 corporate functions halls, and several business rooms. Guest will be pleased with free wi-fi access while enjoying the luscious cakes at the coffee shop. The Hotel also offers mouth-watering pasta and western delicacies in its restaurant. And the bar is the perfect place to cap your busy day with its hip music. So book your Baguio trip at Citylight Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Citylight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing