We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm bringing two stars down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

During my past review, I rated this hotel 5 stars. For the past three years, this has been my favorite hotel and I stayed here for 5 times already. I am very pleased with this place until my last stay. It seems to have lost its friendly atmosphere especially in their new bar, Te Quiero. Please bring back the Microtel we used to love, the homey feel brought by the friendliness of your staffs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supersionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBaguio, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dearest Valued Guest,

We are glad knowing that you have stayed with us several times already and rated/reviewed our way of services which we are delighted getting a 5 star in the past from you.Appreciated it so much..However,I was saddened of the latest experience you had concerning our new restaurant and bar.I must admit our new dining staff fell short to deliver your expectations.
Thank you for taking the time again letting us know your observation.Rest assured a re-training will be conducted and improvement shall be in place.
I wish we could have you again and give us the challenge of bringing back the 5 star level you deserve!..Please let me know when you do your future reservations.

My best personal regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 646 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Microtel's location can be its primary advantage for commuters going to Baguio City - it's directly linked to Victory Liner's station and a few steps away from the Genesis bus stop. But that location can also be a turn off for those wanting to savor Baguio's pine-scent breeze (which by the way, can now only be experienced at the Camp John Hay area) because of the noise and potential pollution in Microtel's vicinity.

The bedroom is really small. You will hardly fit three people in a standard room. Since the hotel is a low-rise, most rooms can be seen by the neighboring houses/buildings from across the street. When we were there, we always had to remember to close the curtains. The bed though was really comfortable.

There was no question on the service. Very hospitable and warm. Each floor has a water dispenser and there's coffee round the clock at the lobby. There's also an ice machine.

Good restaurants are a few meters away from the hotel - Mario's, Oh Mai Khan, and Narda's (it has a good coffeeshop), and further are Hill Station at Casa Vallejo, and SM Baguio. You can practically walk to these places.

Breakfast was respectable and most of the time included in the room rate.

Just to compare though, Microtel's rate was PhP 2,975 with breakfast. Casa Vallejo's rate was PhP 2,700 with breakfast, while the Manor's budget hotel - Forest Lodge is at PhP 2,900 without breakfast. If you're looking for more space and a nicer Baguio ambience, go to the Manor. Taxi from Microtel to the Manor would be around 80 pesos.

By the way, there is no free wifi at Microtel. All in all, a good stay for one night, but more than that, I would think more than twice to use it again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmpfigueroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBaguio, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time writing regarding your experience in Baguio and Microtel in particular.
All we can say is thanking you for your honest observation..While some of the good comments you mentioned here will continously inspire and motivate us to deliver our hotel advantages and strenghts to our valued guests.
I sincerely hope that you consider us in your future stay.

Respectfully Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in three different hotels in Baguio and this was by far the best. Our room was clean and quiet, the breakfast was great and the staff were friendly and efficient. We thought the location was great - right next to the bus station and a short walk from the SM mall. The price was very reasonable. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jntgl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBaguio, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your comment in TripAdvisor with regards to your stay with us.

We are happy to know that you had a great experience with us from the room, to breakfast, to the staff and even to the location of the hotel. It is always our pleasure to provide a memorable experience to our guests.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Microtel Baguio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

we stayed in this hotel during the holy week ..I have browsed over some of the comments of previous guests in this hotel and the common ground was since it is located near the bus terminal, the buzzing sound of people is a concern. but I did not really consider this...pity me! It was true...and not only was the sound coming from the bus terminal...the people from the hotel too!... the daily breakfast though was a passing mark because we were not really expecting a grand buffet given that it was holy week season. the free coffee at the lobby and newspaper were a unique feature.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheriedPretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBaguio, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Microtel-Baguio.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us.
We will work on addressing your concerns and will look forward to serving you as a better and much improved Microtel..On my personal note,I am pleased with your good comments about our breakfast offering,free coffee facility and complimentary supply of newspaper.Thank you and rest assured that these services will be continued.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I arrived in Baguio at night, so I checked in this hotel which is owned by bus company, is located next to bus terminal.
Hotel rate was P4750. Waooooo!!!
Accommodations are poor, old tv and air-con, and no refrigerator and bath-tub.
Wifi is charged P100 per one hour.
Running hot water is only first one minute.
I think this hotel is one of most expensive one in the world considering to hotel rate.
But hotel staff are ok. They always smile and kind.
So this hotel’s problem is management only. Hotel rate is too high.
You can find same class hotel in town less than half rate of Microtel.

Room Tip: Get room on upper level. Lower level is noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7aki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBaguio, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize that your experience with us was less than satisfying.

May I just explain some points for your consideration please.

Our hotel offers flexible rates during weekdays and low season, often extending special discounts to you, our valued guests. As our standard operating procedure, similar to other hotels here in Baguio, we implement our rack rates during peak season. Your stay with us fell on a long weekend and holiday, a peak season, hence, the rates you were offered.

We would also like to address your concerns regarding our hotel's amenities. We are continuously improving our hotel for our guests' leisure and comfort. We are in the process of replacing old television models, hopefully to be completed by the end of this year. Our hotel amenities include refrigerators and bath tubs but these are only available in our suites.

We appreciate you commending our staff. It is our pleasure to serve you with a smile. It has always been our goal to make every guest's stay with us a pleasant and memorable experience.

Feedback such as yours assist us in improving our facilities and service. I shall look into your wi-fi concerns and will work on improving our hotel water system.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you. Please let me know should you have plans in visiting Baguio again.

Respectfully yours,

Roy B Martin
General Manager
Microtel Inns and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Microtel Baguio is a hotel that provides excellent service from the front desk staff, bellboy, housekeeping and guard. The location is perfect for travelers, it
Is near SM mall and other scenic places. The breakfast menu is different everyday and of course delicious. For family get the double room and for couples the suite room. I will surely go back in microtel .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_pv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBaguio, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us through Tripadvisor.

We are happy to know that you have been patronizing Microtel Baguio.
Your overwhelming comments inspire our team to strive harder to give the best service to our valued guests like you.

We look forward to welcoming you back home at Microtel Baguio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

On our most recent visit to Baguio , we decided to try Microtel, and we were not disappointed with our choice. The hotel far exceeded our expectations.

Beginning with check in at the front desk, Noel and other staff were very friendly and made sure we would be comfortable with our accommodation.

Our two rooms a suite and a double bed were perfect for our group. The all white sheet set , fluffy towels and the toiletries made us for comfortable stay.

Complimentary breakfast was outstanding , a buffet which included many choices; we so much enjoyed our breakfast so we decided to have our dinner that night. Jeff and Ivy ( waiter& waitress) are very accommodating and very friendly assisting us and kept asking if what else we needed or liked. The food was yummy great.

The security guards were very helpful and friendly too. And so those housekeeper who always greeted us every time they saw us.


Kudos to the management team who put in place this friendly service orientated staff, which along with clean comfortable rooms will be the prime reason to return to Microtel next time.



  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheChief_Theboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBaguio, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your experience to TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay with us in Baguio City.

We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations with the service you received during your stay. Your positive comments will definitely be passed on to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Microtel Baguio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.7 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
0.8 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 48 in Baguio
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Forest Lodge at Camp John Hay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Manor at Camp John Hay
1.4 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#17 of 48 in Baguio
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Veniz
Hotel Veniz
#12 of 48 in Baguio
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio

Address: Upper Session Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Baguio
Price Range: $57 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Baguio is a 60-room hotel beside the modern Victory Liner Passenger. A bridge way connects the hotel to the bus terminal thus ensuring greater accessibility for the guests.It is the same great hotel everywhere you go with Microtel's consistency in cleanliness, comfort, safety and value. Of course, Microtel Baguio's service is further enhanced by the Filipino's warm sense of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inns And Suites Baguio
Microtel Inns & Suites Baguio Hotel Baguio
Microtel Baguio
Baguio Microtel
Microtel Hotel Baguio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing