We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the wall”
Review of Chef's Home

Chef's Home
Ranked #15 of 340 Restaurants in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Chef Alvin & Gina Emuang
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Chef's home is indeed a hole in the wall. The owner is very courteous and comes mingle with customers. But the food is good n authentic but small servings. Quite cramped for space

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BetoAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“I expected more”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Chef's Home reopened recently, and has moved from the beautiful house near the Mansion to a humble carinderia-looking place , which we believe was the original location. The Chef was there when we arrived. He was not very welcoming but his staff was. We reserved for 17 people, and the tables were set up when we got there. A number of the items we wanted to eat were unavailable. There was no ice for our drinks, and we had to wait until halfway through our meal for it to arrive. The Thai-Malaysianfood was good overall with the papaya salad and chicken strips being the best. The banana with crunchy roti was a nice way to end our meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sad to see them close.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

They closed up shop, they needed to spend more time with family. It was a very nice place, great food and fantastic people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesjjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Chef's Home Dining services will be discontinued July 27 2013”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

On a sad note, received this text message from owners of Chef's Home:

To our dear and valued customers,
Chef's Home Dining Services will be discontinued as of July 27 2013. However, in order to continue to avail of your favorite chef's cuisine, we decided to offer them to you on a take out or catering basis. This we do right at our own home located at #4 Fred Castro St., Gibraltar, Baguio City. Contact us for more information 074 424 3987 / 0916 444 5756. Thank you for your continued patronage. God bless.
Gina and Chef Alvin Emuang

I will surely miss dining at their place, specially the Thai Crispy Papaya Salad!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasalamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Over-rated.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Looking forward to eating in one of baguio's newest restaurants, but was a bit disappointed. With all the raves we read about the place, we were excited. The place was nice and cozy. The location was very convenient and easy to find. But, All the dishes tasted too pepper-y even the fried rice and nasi goreng. Only the crispy papaya salad was quite good. Maybe they should tone down on the ground pepper.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank evilstepmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Home also viewed

Baguio, Benguet Province
 
Baguio, Benguet Province
 
Baguio, Benguet Province
Baguio, Benguet Province
 

Been to Chef's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing