We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to see Ifugao culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tam-Awan Village

Tam-Awan Village
Ranked #9 of 64 things to do in Baguio
Attraction details
Philippines
Level Contributor
262 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“An excellent place to see Ifugao culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I recently had an opportunity to revisit the Tam Awan village. The experience this time was even better. We took a taxi from Sessions road - it took nearly 30 minutes to reach, through a winding mountain road.

The village itself is very beautiful and authentic - with native Ifugao cottages, paths with steps (watch out - they can get slippery due to the dew), and the cultural artifacts (like the wooden rice gods - Bulol) are well sign boarded.

There is even a ncie restaurant - very reasonably priced, with many more handicrafts adorning the walls.

On the whole, I highly recommend a visit to Tam awan village - and suggest you keep at least 3-4 hours to enjoy all of it.

Incidentally, Tam awan means "vantage point" in Ifugao.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    117
    75
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool and Artsy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my first time in Tam-Awan and was really excited to explore the area and eat in their cafe, however, there was a press conference during the time we were there so we werent really able to to see all of the village.

However, I would go back to this place and maybe sleep over in one of the rented huts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdhrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a crash course on northern culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

a one stop shop to immerse yourself in the life and art of the cordilleras. great recreations (some i think were originals) of the Igorot native houses. also a great display of contemporary art done by current artists. we even caught some kids performing a native dance in their native costumes "Bahag" as they are called. one of the newer spots to visit in Baguio, would be worth your time to visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeQuililan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
““A Garden in the Sky””
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

A nice place to visit for garden, art and culture.
No need to go here if you've been to Batad, Banaue and Sagada.
They provide antique tribal houses but I suggest do not... can be quite noisy with all of the tourist wandering around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo City, San Pablo, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a piece of culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

we had lunch and tried the pinikpikan a chicken soup native in this area and bagnet. a nice place to visit for art and culture. one can be a model for artist available to draw your portrait

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainluvs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tam-Awan Village also viewed

Baguio, Benguet Province
Baguio, Benguet Province
 
Baguio, Benguet Province
Baguio, Benguet Province
 

Been to Tam-Awan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing