We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe not so good”
Review of BenCab Museum

BenCab Museum
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cafe not so good”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The collection featured in the museum was really nice, interesting and showcases the history and rich culture of Philippine art. But because of the relatively long drive from the city proper, more likely all visitors will dine at Cafe Sabel. However, food was not great and was pricey considering the value you're getting out of it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Starling08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    313
    80
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Taste of Art”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I am fond of galleries and museums and Ben Cab museum is no exception. I was already eager to have a visit to this place since I have heard of it last year. The museum has four floors including a garden and a cafe (Cafe Sabel) located at the basement. The garden has a good view of a mountain, the greeneries and nearby stream. Each floor are segmented into different groups of painting, scultpures, and arts of different mediums form different artists. There is a place dedicated solely for Ben Cab's pieces. One area also features an artist which runs for a specific period of time. If given a chance I woud again visit this rich place of art.

The location though is a 30-min drive from the central of Baguio but one jeepney ride and a little walk can already take you there.

It's a must visit. It's also a good place to unwind from the usualness of Baguio.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Merie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
234 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not just for museum enthusiasts”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

While the main attraction of this museum is undoubtedly the artwork, there is much more for those who don't particularly enjoy going to museums. There is native furniture that you can actually touch, fantastic views of the surrounding mountains, and a café that serves organic fare.

Avail of the services of a guide if you can and don't forget to give him or her a tip (there is no fixed fee for a guided tour). Try to come in the morning to avoid traffic. If you can't come till the afternoon, wait for the sunset and try to view it from one of the balconies of the museum.

Note that signage to the museum is not very good, so you may have to stop a few times to ask for directions. Also note that the road is currently being repaired, so traffic to the museum may be slow. Build in at least 30 minutes to get to the museum from Baguio City. It will be worth the trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing place”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Although the place is quite far from the city (about 30mins drive I think), this is a place you wouldn't want to miss. We were here last December of 2012. The arts were amazing, but I went here for the view and the food. Had brunch outside their restaurant which feels almost perfect, food and the view are both 9/10 for me. Trust me, you won't regret traveling to this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“the amazing BenCab”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

yeah Amazing, intelligent Bencab museum. No vapid at all from outside graffiti wall down to farm garden. I'm not that art expert but appreciating art is fairness. Fresh food from cafe Isabel and eco- friendly. A place worth visiting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank GJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BenCab Museum also viewed

Baguio, Benguet Province
Baguio, Benguet Province
 
Baguio, Benguet Province
Baguio, Benguet Province
 

Been to BenCab Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing