We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baden Powell - Place NEVER to go to”

The Baden Powell Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baguio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Baden Powell Inn
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I (5 adults and 2 children) were booked by a friend on this hotel who paid Php2,500 deposit on our behalf. Despite negative reviews, we have been advised that the hotel has undergone renovations. Well, a big no no. Place is dirty, location is dodgy, service is the worst I have ever experienced. Front desk did not take our contact details (and same with other guests). Hence anyone could come in and out of the premises without being checked. Facilities are poorly maintained, smelly and no water. We ended up forfeiting our deposit (yes, that bad) and left late at night coz I could not stand to stay in that place any more minute. Please, please ... these reviews are real. Never ever make the same mistake that we did.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JulieLee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

I can be quite short about this one. Just a glimpse of the rooms was enough to quickly take our bags elsewhere. The place is dark, noisy, infested with cockroaches and just plain filthy. The rates are hilarious or must I say embarrassing.

Instead we went to the Rajah Soliman Hotel which is cheap (P 500 for a double room), very clean and the staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Andrevds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel is terrible as in... the dirtiest ever hotel that I’ve visited in Baguio. The staffs are not accommodating! What's in their website is absolutely fake!
When I entered the room, cockroaches are everywhere…bed, floor and in the CR. The beddings and curtains are very dirty. The CR is disaster, looks like never been cleaned for so long... Really a nightmare. I can’t imagine my self staying in this hotel, so we transferred to Hotel 45 which is much better compared to this dirty and terrible Baden Powell Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Herzwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We rang the hotel to book a room and they referred us to their Manila reservations office. They required a 50% deposit which we didn't mind paying so we advised the reservation staff that we were dropping by that afternoon to book it. When we got there, she insisted that we pay the full amount, saying that they never let guests book for just one evening. I couldn't believe it. The hotel is requiring a minimum of two nights stay. I never thought hotels can actually dictate the length of stay of their guests. After much persuasion (and a promise that we were going to stay there again later during the week but still don't know which exact dates), they let us just pay the 50% deposit. I was already feeling iffy about the hotel, but knowing that that weekend was Panagbenga (Baguio's Flower Festival) most places are already booked, and I didn't want to spend the entire day trying to find a better room.

When we got there, they immediately asked for the balance which we paid. They showed us our room and it was horrible. There were four of us in our group, and we booked the Family Room which has two (2) double beds, cable TV, hot shower and free breakfast. We got there and the room was tiny; only about a foot between the beds and the walls, so really there's nowhere to sit except the bed. There wasn't a window and the hot shower wasn't working. The television didn't have a remote control and the buttons on the unit don't work. All four of us wanted to shower but there were only two towels, the housekeeping staff said they're still being washed so we should just share. I went to the front desk to tell them about these and they were quite surly. I asked if we can be moved to another room but they said they were fully booked because it was the festival weekend. I asked for a room rate reduction but they won't give that. I asked for a late check out but they insist that it was only until 12 noon the next day.

Then we found out that the hotel is half empty, and when we checked in at 4 pm they were still counting on desperate people who would pay thousands for a room just because everywhere else was fully booked. They finally transferred us to a bigger room after i threatened to go to the police if they don't give us our money back. The room had one double bed and a pull out bed from under, which had a couple of cockroaches and unidentified stains on the sheets. The room also had a window facing the street where the bus stations are so it was noisy 24/7.

Luckily we've done enough planning in terms of activities to do in Baguio so we didn't stay much in the room. The next day, we went to get the breakfast and were told that the free breakfast is just one fried hotdog, one egg, a cup of rice and brewed coffee. The brewed coffee tasted like burnt water, they ran out of hotdogs so they gave us fried fish (half bangus) instead which was burnt, and the eggs were "scrambled" so they looked like leftovers. It was disgusting. We just smothered our plates with ketchup to make sure that they don't serve it to other guests after we leave. We ate breakfast in a restaurant on Session Road instead.

Having recounted this nightmare, the hotel has certain advantages. It was very central. Two minutes walk from SM Baguio and Session Road with all the nice restaurants and shops. After checkout, they let us leave our bags at the lobby for safekeeping (although it didn't feel very safe because it was just behind the unmanned secondary front desk--but nothing was stolen so we guess it was OK).

All in all, it was a terrible experience. I guess we wouldn't have minded if the room we got didn't cost us PhP 3,000 for four persons per night. If they were charging PhP 1,000 (like Sagada inns where it's normally PhP 200-250/person), it would've been alright. But the hotel was horrible and the food was disgusting. Service was indifferent at best. But the location, well, there were others in the area but none of them have websites so we couldn't contact them to book.

Stay in this hotel only if you want to experience a minor stroke in Baguio.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank wltrrbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 最上階(3階)の山側
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank はっけよい
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn Rocio
Inn Rocio
#13 of 50 in Baguio
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Plaza Hotel
Prince Plaza Hotel
#38 of 50 in Baguio
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelite Express Hotel
Travelite Express Hotel
#14 of 50 in Baguio
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 50 in Baguio
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Center Hotel
City Center Hotel
#3 of 96 in Baguio
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Henrico - Kisad
Hotel Henrico - Kisad
#62 of 96 in Baguio
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baden Powell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baden Powell Inn

Address: 26 Governor Pack Road Cor., Session Road, Baguio, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
The Baden Powell Hotel Baguio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing