We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget inn”
Review of La Brea INN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Brea INN
Ranked #21 of 95 Baguio B&B and Inns
Olongapo, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good budget inn”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We're here last March 22-24 and I should say that our stay is OK. The staff is friendly and easy to talk to. The rooms that we had are also good. At first we're having difficulties on how to operate the hot/cold shower because it's quite old, but then we managed because it operates with a certain technique. ^_^ Before we went there, we're also worried on how to sleep because it is located at the city area where there are lots of establishments and vehicles going around, but it seems that we're given a good room located at the 5th floor and we just slept comfortably :) [or maybe we're just tired, Lol]
Located at the Session Road, which is a very good spot (near the Public Market, Burnham Park, Restaurants, taxis, etc.)
If you're travelling on a tight budget and wanted a location near to almost everywhere, I definitely recommend this inn. :)

Room Tip: Choose rooms located at the 5th floor for a better view and more quiet location (there is a Bar loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pearly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
19
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I feel I was a backpacker when I visited Baguio last April 2012. And my budget for a hotel room is also within the backpacker range. This hotel is along the Session Rd. so this is very helpful for first-timers like me (Everything is walking-distance away). I can live with using the stairs to the 3rd floor (the 1st floor of the Inn). And I can live with the barely basic amenities. The gripes include their old bathroom, intermittently working heater, and get this, Cigarette-smoke smelling room that really puts me off. I think there are by far better rooms than what we've got - based on the person who recommended me this hotel.

Room Tip: Make personal connection with I assume was the owner and also the attendant. For him to refer you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xmackdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baguio hotels

Massa, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

i arrived in the night to baguio, was raining and i found la brea inn.
i didn't like this inn, but i was too tired and i decided to get the room,
standard room, a big room with a small bathroom,
the only good thing is the wifi..
the hotel is nothing special and is overpriced.
if you are looking for a room just one night and don't find a better or cheaper accomodation..ok..you can stay here.
the mattress is ok!
if you want fridge or aircon or nice bathroom don't go there!
last thing:
the inn is on 4 floor..you have stairs till second floor after you can take lift to 4 floor..my room was on 6 floor and from reception (4floor) you have to use stairs or ask to recemptionist to bring you on the floor, by lift..they use a special key to enable the lift on the 5-6 floors.
to come out you have to use the stairs.




i've been here only for 1 night,
the room was big, the bathroom small,
i didn't like it but i was tired and i got the room,
it's ok to stay one night waiting for the bus next morning..

pro: fast wifi.
con: overpriced

Room Tip: if you cannot use stairs, is not easy get in the room by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aBoUtAtRaVeLeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here on the 5th to 7th of April 2012, that was holy week. Their location is perfect. Just a walking distance to Burnham Park, SM Baguio, Baguio City Market, and lots of restaurants and groceries stores. It is along the busiest Session Road wherein at night, the area is too crowded and alive (what I loved the most). La Brea is located on the 4th, 5th, and 6th floors. You have to climb up to the second floor where the elevator is located to bring you to the reception at the 4th floor. Once we get out of the elevator, this chubby girl (sorry for the description hehe) approached us with a very warm smile. There was also the moreno and tall guy who is always welcome for every guests needs. The room is definitely clean. The room is not air conditioned but with electric fan. Anyway, you don't need any AC since it's really cold in Baguio. We went there during the holy week season but still we were not able to use the fan especially at night because of low temperature. The room has a cable tv and hot and cold shower. We stayed at the 6th floor. WIFI is good. One advantage of this accommodation is its accessibility to jeepney terminals going to different tourist spots in Baguio. I give this hotel two thumbs up!! And definitely, my next trip to Baguio, I'll surely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RochelleDelaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

PROS:
1) The location is great! It is along lower Session Road. It is in the heart of Baguio City.
2) Transportation is very accessible so basically no worries commuting to tourist spots
3) The room has at least the basic amenities like hot/cold shower, tv, toiletries and fresh towels.
4) Great staff! Friendly, helpful and accommodating.
5) The price is just right for a budget traveler.

CONS:
!) No elevator on the 5th and 6th flr (only up to 4th level) so it's kind of tiring to go upstairs after a long day out. Even worse if you bought vegetables and sweets and it's heavy to carry it all the way up. In Baguio, it is not unusual if you tend to buy these stuff because it is cheap.
2) Bathroom looks dirty. What makes the bathroom look dirty is the tile grout which looks old and unsightly and no amount of cleaning would make it look good. It need to be replaced.

So if you're looking for just a place to sleep with a tight budget and you would be out most of the time, this is the right one for you. However, if you're looking for a cozy, comfortable and feel good Baguio experience where you would also like to spend more time in the room to relax, unwind and get more sleep, you won't find it in this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

before check in, check the room of your choice if it's to your liking. Staff are friendly and nice however in a bunch of good apples, you're bound to find one bad apple. tha's one chinito guy in the nite shift who has a dull and blunt personality. arrogantly snobbish. Actually he shouldn't be at the front desk in the first place..

Room Tip: when checking in, ask to view the room first, that is to be sure if it's to your liking..cos som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_deleon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Me and five of my friends stayed at La Brea Inn last Feb 10-12. It's kinda difficult to look for the place since it was located on top of Yellow Cab. One has to climb to the 2/F in order to take the elevator going to the 4/F. La Brea Inn is located on the 4/F and our room is on the 5/F. Downsides: (1) if you have heavy bags, you have to lug it around while you take the stairs since there's no elevator from the ground floor. (2) The bathroom/comfort room also stinks. I think it has something to do with the drainage system or the tiles itself. (3) They don't make up the room when the guests are not around since we have to request from the front office/reception area to take out our trash.

Our reservation is good for 4 people but they were able to squeeze 2 more in one room only. When we checked in, 2 very efficient ladies immediately set-up 2 extra beds, mats, pillows and blankets. We made the reservation weeks prior to the check-in date. We would appreciate it if the room was prepared ahead of time since they already know there are 6 of us coming in. We love the location of the place because it is surrounded by restaurants, ice cream houses and bars. It's also a walking distance to Burnham Park and Baguio Cathedral. It's as if everything is just within a few steps.

The staff was very accommodating as well. They gave us a flyer with the list of places that we should go and offered tips how to get around the city. For people who like to drink something hot first thing in the morning, they offer hot water for Php 2/ cup. The front desk/reception is open 24 hours. In terms of security, they have cameras all over the place.

The price we paid is worth it. We recommend this to tourists traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelite Express Hotel
Travelite Express Hotel
#18 of 48 in Baguio
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Veniz
Hotel Veniz
#10 of 48 in Baguio
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn Rocio
Inn Rocio
#13 of 48 in Baguio
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
City Center Hotel
City Center Hotel
#4 of 95 in Baguio
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cosmopolitan
Hotel Cosmopolitan
#13 of 95 in Baguio
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paladin Hotel
Paladin Hotel
#17 of 95 in Baguio
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Brea INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Brea INN

Property: La Brea INN
Address: 24 Session Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Brea Inn provides clean rooms and beds with basic accommodations. All rooms have its own toilet & bath with warm and cold shower, a cable TV and a free wi-fi internet access is available. Each room is also equipped with an electric fan to augment the cool air coming from the windows. Accessibly located to many areas of interests including transportation terminals,food houses and banks and all shops. Generally friendly and hospitably assisting crews. Ideal for travellers visiting Baguio for business or those stopping over to visit Sagada and Banaue rice terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your La Brea INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Brea Hotel Baguio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing