We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice facilities, dishonest owner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Clara
Ranked #28 of 84 Trujillo B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice facilities, dishonest owner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

I called Casa de Clara the night before arriving to ask about rooms and prices. Over the phone, Clara said there were rooms for 20, 25 and 30 soles, all of them including breakfast. She also said we could choose which room we wanted. When we arrived there the following morning, we were given a 30-soles room and Clara said the ones for 20 and 25 did not include breakfast. Now, I am a Peruvian and I spoke to her in Spanish so there is no way I could have misunderstood her. The room we stayed in was nice and so is the whole house. Very friendly and welcoming. Clara tried to sell us a tour but we found out from another guest during breakfast that we could do it on our own for cheaper. Clara offered us hot chocolate as we'd spend Christmas day with her but we never saw her again during the course of our stay. So she was not honest to begin with and she was quite bossy towards her employees.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junior20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrujilloPeru, Owner at Casa de Clara, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Congratulations on your good typical English. We are glad that you liked the room, house, friendly welcome and general attitude. We try to be hospitable to guests, but not intrusive at all times, not just at Christmas.
We do our honest best to avoid variation or confusion of services & prices. We have a clear standard reply in reception which we send to all guide books, use in all emails and over the telephone.
Meals are available to all guests from 3, 5 & 7 nuevos soles per person for breakfast, midday and evening meals respectively. Simple arithmetic decides what you may get for a given amount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
3
17
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

One of our highlights of traveling South America, we arrived late which was no problem, we stayed 3 days, and Clara took us out in her classic VW personal tour of the pyramids. Clara knows everything there is to know she is full of amazing knowledge.
Our room was huge with private bathroom, there was a great outdoor space for just relax with free WIFI.
Clara and her friends were so welcoming you felt you were at home, she even had her friends walk us into town late one night!
I would definitely recommend this to everyone, Emma and John x

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleemma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Me and my friend stayed at Casa de Clara for 3 nights in August 2010. The rooms are ok, although ours was not cleaned and there was used underwear lying in the corner. The shower was very good and hot. The owner is very keen on selling you the tours they organize. While these tours may be good, we decided to do some things by ourselves, which was obviously not appreciated by our hosts. When the second day someone stole our backpack in a cafe the reaction of the owner was basically that it was our own fault because we didn't go with the tour but by ourselves... All in all I cannot confirm the very good ratings this hostel gets here and recommend other travelers to look for another accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTortugita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrujilloPeru, Owner at Casa de Clara, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
We are glad that you liked the rooms and the good hot showers.
We are sorry your opinions were influenced by having your backpack stolen in a café. We do our best to tell our guests to be careful with packs, cameras, money bags/belts and valuables in public places, especially when distracted at meals, telephone/internet cabins etc.
We do not enter occupied guests’ rooms unless they request us to clean or make up their rooms. Guests who hung unpegged clothing on the laundry patio have later discovered it blown around the laundry patio, through adjacent rooms’ open windows or doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trujillo hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed for a few nights at Casa de Clara. Clara provided us with excellent and interesting tours, made us some delicious meals, and we went out for dinner to a local restaurant one night with her too which was great. The accomodation is basic but fine for what you pay, and we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdkiwiNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

I communicated by email with Mr. White several weeks in advance about my desire to travel with him to El Brujo and onward to Chiclayo. Because of my schedule and the museum open dates, I wanted to save ChanChan and the other sites nearer to Trujillo for my last day. I received no notice that Mr.White was away, arriving to find that the location is really not very good, too far from the center, and not especially clean (very dusty) and the internet doesn´t work. So Mrs.Clara has an old car that doesn´t run well, we spend time each morning waiting for her to deal with a mechanic, and then to go to El Brujo she insisted that we use public transportation which took forever,causing me to arrive too late (by myself) to visit the Bruning museum. BTW Ms. Clara it is a minimum of 3 1-2 hours to Chiclayo, not 3 hrs. Mr. White encouraged me to stay in Trujillo, indicating that it was not as nice, well compared to his guesthouse you can do much better in Chiclayo or Lambeyeque. I was charged $50 US for the tour to El Brujo and wouldn´t recommend them I think you might as well just pay for a taxi and read the English translations which are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrujilloPeru, Owner at Casa de Clara, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
We deal with all email promptly, using a standard reply listing accommodation, tours and website details.
We inform on accommodation, 3 days of the most popular tours and warn of days that museums are closed in Lambayeque. We may suggest starting in Trujillo, leaving from Chiclayo and avoiding an unnecessary return to Trujillo.
Most guests travel 12 hours or more from hotel to hotel to arrive in Trujillo, often overnight. We do our best to pool people on tours but we cannot expect them to do another 12 hour round trip to Chiclayo the next day.
Michael & Clara are both recommended bilingual qualified guides who can cover for each other. Alternative guides & tours can be offered if they are both otherwise committed. Hospitalisations are the only reason they have ever been off work.
Our location is clearly described, pictured & shown on maps on our websites. The quiet park is very green but we do not recommend leaving windows open all day as the wind may bring dust in the afternoon.
All our transport receives regular maintenance and preparation for the varied road quality. We obtain telephone confirmation from personnel at El Brujo that roads, monuments and museums are fully operational before we leave. Public transport transfers may be a better option when roads may be blocked. Many taxi drivers/owners refuse to take their vehicles on unsealed roads. Diversions continue to be a problem at the time of writing.
Emtrafesa continues to schedule & take 3 hours to Chiclayo. It takes 2 from Chocope.
There were no English explanations on the monument on the claimed date of the visit.
Other defamatory reports by MLBG have already been removed by Trip Advisor & other forums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We had a choice of rooms and certainly no problem about the pricing. The room was large and comfortable enough with plenty of hot water in the bathroom en-suite. There was free access to the Internet through the computer on the landing. Breakfast was an extra but good value. Clara is quite informal and leads some good tours, including El Brujo. If you can speak Spanish, you will do better, but that is generally true for northern Peru anyway! Overall , really good value.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

The first you see in reception is a huge floorplan which shows that each of the 17 rooms is different. This explains why they charge per person. We were happy with a smaller room for US$5 per person. We could have paid US$10 per person for a room overlooking the park with TV & bathroom. There are rooms that could be shared by up to 8 people, but we saw single travellers, twos or maybe 3 travelling together.
There are lots of nooks and crannies where you could have a private chat, or TV lounges & garden patio to meet everyone. My laptop worked in most of the house, but there was free internet available for guests too.
I have never received so much good information on tourist attractions anywhere. The tours and food (very cheap & tasty) were excellent. Afterwards we rested in the quiet park in front of the house. We stayed several days longer than we initially intended. Trujillo has a lot to offer and they were keen to help us. A bus from the corner to the beach (or the sites) cost less than US$1, a lot cheaper than taking all your luggage in a taxi.
We found this from Caroline Lodging in Huaraz & other hostels from hostel trail.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ejecutivo San Diego
Hotel Ejecutivo San Diego
#27 of 37 in Trujillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.6 mi away
Media Luna Hotel
Media Luna Hotel
#30 of 37 in Trujillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Orrego
B&B Orrego
#9 of 44 in Trujillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residencial Munaywasi
Residencial Munaywasi
#4 of 84 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Mochilero Trujillo Peru
El Mochilero Trujillo Peru
#13 of 44 in Trujillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hostal Cocos Beach
Hostal Cocos Beach
#52 of 84 in Trujillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Clara

Property: Casa de Clara
Address: Cahuide 495 | Urb. Santa Maria, Trujillo 051, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious single, double, triple & quadruple rooms (US$5pp dwb ) in family home, overlooking quiet leafy park, just 7 blocks from the Plaza de Armas. Facilities include car port, hot showers/baths, laundry, kitchen, games, barbecue & sun patio, garden, library, music & cable TV lounges, videos, telefax, internet & information in 5 languages. Recommended in Footprint, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Frommers, Petit Fute, Routard, Reise Know-How & Globetrotter for economic accommodation, tours & meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing