We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clara didn't really seem to care”
Review of Casa de Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Clara
Ranked #29 of 90 Trujillo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed here for a few night over new year and found the service to be distinctly lacking. We had arranged to be picked up and when our bus arrived a bit late (not uncommon in Peru) there was no one there to meet us so we had to make our own way there. We were offered a choice of room and we opted for a double room with bathroom for s/.50. The room was quite small however yet they managed to get in one double and one single bed which meant it felt a tad cramped. There was a TV in the room but it was broken. The flush on the toilet also broke and the bin in the toilet wasn't emptied.

I would agree with other reviewers that there was a general air of chaos with most of the work done by the family children and little sight of Clara herself. We asked Clara about her tour of the nearby ancient sites but then never heard anything from her again.

There is no w-fi in the rooms, only downstairs, and the computer is s/.1 per hour to use which felt a bit stingy. We found the internet connection to be unreliable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrujilloPeru, Owner at Casa de Clara, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

We do our best for our guests, giving visitors arrival information, including our mobile and fixed telephone numbers on all publicity and standard email replies. There is no central terminal, but more than 40 inter-city bus companies arrive in Trujillo & have even more terminals. One company may have 2, 4, 8 or 15 buses from Huaraz, Piura, Lima or Chiclayo daily. If the Pan-American Highway is blocked, many arrive together. Many reservations do not give us complete correct information, do not inform of delays, or are no-shows diverted away by taxis and other competitors.
A second bed was the most requested additional furniture on guests’ questionnaires. Many like to spread maps, clothes, photos/equipment while their partner sleeps early/late or convalesces. The room serves as a single, double or triple without noisy bed-moving at bedtime. We do not offer TVs in rooms, to avoid complaints about noise when others are trying to sleep.
Most arrivals have spent 12 hours travelling between hotels, with limited sleep, food or drink. We try to explain our services briefly, diplomatically & not too frequently, but we still get equal numbers of complaints about hearing and not hearing about our services.
Telefonica is unreliable, but wi-fi can reach most of the house. Large websites like this & photo downloaders delay every pc’s unless accessed closer to the router.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2011

Good location in a quiet area near the city center. The owner, Clara, is helpfull and friendly. BUT the administration of the place was pretty chaotic during our stay. A 13-years old girl received us when we arrived, she didnt know about the right prices and others details. You need to ask them every time you want to go out since the door it locked. The room itself was okay, but very tiny and without any storage.
Since she is a guide and very archeologic intressted it is possible to arrange tour to several places with her. She was hard to understand since she mixted spanish and english all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nakenfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrujilloPeru, Owner at Casa de Clara, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2011

We are glad you like the location & Clara’s friendly, helpful attitude. We are sorry you had communication problems. It is difficult to decide whether to speak Spanish or English, when neither is the guest’s first language.
The housekeeper’s daughter was 18, but only authorised staff may quote prices. Calling our mobile telephone usually resolves such problems.
Security is very important, we do not permit unauthorised visitors.
Our rooms’ average size exceeds that of a 3 star hotel, but visitors’ often request our cheapest rooms. Additional furniture is available on request, but most guests prefer free space and keep everything in their packs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I called Casa de Clara the night before arriving to ask about rooms and prices. Over the phone, Clara said there were rooms for 20, 25 and 30 soles, all of them including breakfast. She also said we could choose which room we wanted. When we arrived there the following morning, we were given a 30-soles room and Clara said the ones for 20 and 25 did not include breakfast. Now, I am a Peruvian and I spoke to her in Spanish so there is no way I could have misunderstood her. The room we stayed in was nice and so is the whole house. Very friendly and welcoming. Clara tried to sell us a tour but we found out from another guest during breakfast that we could do it on our own for cheaper. Clara offered us hot chocolate as we'd spend Christmas day with her but we never saw her again during the course of our stay. So she was not honest to begin with and she was quite bossy towards her employees.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junior20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrujilloPeru, Owner at Casa de Clara, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2011

Congratulations on your good typical English. We are glad that you liked the room, house, friendly welcome and general attitude. We try to be hospitable to guests, but not intrusive at all times, not just at Christmas.
We do our honest best to avoid variation or confusion of services & prices. We have a clear standard reply in reception which we send to all guide books, use in all emails and over the telephone.
Meals are available to all guests from 3, 5 & 7 nuevos soles per person for breakfast, midday and evening meals respectively. Simple arithmetic decides what you may get for a given amount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

One of our highlights of traveling South America, we arrived late which was no problem, we stayed 3 days, and Clara took us out in her classic VW personal tour of the pyramids. Clara knows everything there is to know she is full of amazing knowledge.
Our room was huge with private bathroom, there was a great outdoor space for just relax with free WIFI.
Clara and her friends were so welcoming you felt you were at home, she even had her friends walk us into town late one night!
I would definitely recommend this to everyone, Emma and John x

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleemma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Me and my friend stayed at Casa de Clara for 3 nights in August 2010. The rooms are ok, although ours was not cleaned and there was used underwear lying in the corner. The shower was very good and hot. The owner is very keen on selling you the tours they organize. While these tours may be good, we decided to do some things by ourselves, which was obviously not appreciated by our hosts. When the second day someone stole our backpack in a cafe the reaction of the owner was basically that it was our own fault because we didn't go with the tour but by ourselves... All in all I cannot confirm the very good ratings this hostel gets here and recommend other travelers to look for another accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelTortugita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrujilloPeru, Owner at Casa de Clara, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2011

We are glad that you liked the rooms and the good hot showers.
We are sorry your opinions were influenced by having your backpack stolen in a café. We do our best to tell our guests to be careful with packs, cameras, money bags/belts and valuables in public places, especially when distracted at meals, telephone/internet cabins etc.
We do not enter occupied guests’ rooms unless they request us to clean or make up their rooms. Guests who hung unpegged clothing on the laundry patio have later discovered it blown around the laundry patio, through adjacent rooms’ open windows or doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed for a few nights at Casa de Clara. Clara provided us with excellent and interesting tours, made us some delicious meals, and we went out for dinner to a local restaurant one night with her too which was great. The accomodation is basic but fine for what you pay, and we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdkiwiNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I communicated by email with Mr. White several weeks in advance about my desire to travel with him to El Brujo and onward to Chiclayo. Because of my schedule and the museum open dates, I wanted to save ChanChan and the other sites nearer to Trujillo for my last day. I received no notice that Mr.White was away, arriving to find that the location is really not very good, too far from the center, and not especially clean (very dusty) and the internet doesn´t work. So Mrs.Clara has an old car that doesn´t run well, we spend time each morning waiting for her to deal with a mechanic, and then to go to El Brujo she insisted that we use public transportation which took forever,causing me to arrive too late (by myself) to visit the Bruning museum. BTW Ms. Clara it is a minimum of 3 1-2 hours to Chiclayo, not 3 hrs. Mr. White encouraged me to stay in Trujillo, indicating that it was not as nice, well compared to his guesthouse you can do much better in Chiclayo or Lambeyeque. I was charged $50 US for the tour to El Brujo and wouldn´t recommend them I think you might as well just pay for a taxi and read the English translations which are excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrujilloPeru, Owner at Casa de Clara, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2011

We deal with all email promptly, using a standard reply listing accommodation, tours and website details.
We inform on accommodation, 3 days of the most popular tours and warn of days that museums are closed in Lambayeque. We may suggest starting in Trujillo, leaving from Chiclayo and avoiding an unnecessary return to Trujillo.
Most guests travel 12 hours or more from hotel to hotel to arrive in Trujillo, often overnight. We do our best to pool people on tours but we cannot expect them to do another 12 hour round trip to Chiclayo the next day.
Michael & Clara are both recommended bilingual qualified guides who can cover for each other. Alternative guides & tours can be offered if they are both otherwise committed. Hospitalisations are the only reason they have ever been off work.
Our location is clearly described, pictured & shown on maps on our websites. The quiet park is very green but we do not recommend leaving windows open all day as the wind may bring dust in the afternoon.
All our transport receives regular maintenance and preparation for the varied road quality. We obtain telephone confirmation from personnel at El Brujo that roads, monuments and museums are fully operational before we leave. Public transport transfers may be a better option when roads may be blocked. Many taxi drivers/owners refuse to take their vehicles on unsealed roads. Diversions continue to be a problem at the time of writing.
Emtrafesa continues to schedule & take 3 hours to Chiclayo. It takes 2 from Chocope.
There were no English explanations on the monument on the claimed date of the visit.
Other defamatory reports by MLBG have already been removed by Trip Advisor & other forums.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
3.6 mi away
Hostal Cesar's Moche
Hostal Cesar's Moche
#26 of 37 in Trujillo
6 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa del Parque
Casa del Parque
#22 of 37 in Trujillo
15 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hosteria el Sol
Hosteria el Sol
#30 of 37 in Trujillo
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal Colonial
Hostal Colonial
#9 of 37 in Trujillo
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal El Centurion
Hostal El Centurion
#1 of 90 in Trujillo
141 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hostal Cocos Beach
Hostal Cocos Beach
#56 of 90 in Trujillo
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Clara

Address: Cahuide 495 | Urb. Santa Maria, Trujillo 051, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range: $11 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious single, double, triple & quadruple rooms (US$5pp dwb ) in family home, overlooking quiet leafy park, just 7 blocks from the Plaza de Armas. Facilities include car port, hot showers/baths, laundry, kitchen, games, barbecue & sun patio, garden, library, music & cable TV lounges, videos, telefax, internet & information in 5 languages. Recommended in Footprint, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides, Frommers, Petit Fute, Routard, Reise Know-How & Globetrotter for economic accommodation, tours & meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing