We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel & good value!”
Review of Hostal Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Colonial
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Trujillo
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel & good value!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting the north of Peru and found the Colonial to be a pleasant place to stay. It sprawls out from it's small reception to reveal a large hotel with interesting features and courtyards that one would expect in this part of the world. Our room on the third floor was a good size with all basic amenities one would need for a short stay. Breakfast in the restaurant was fine, the price was very good indeed and the hotel is just a couple of blocks from the Plaza de Armas. I'd certainly stay here again and recommend it as a budget option when visiting Trujillo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAlSirat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    99
    43
    18
    2
See reviews for
29
60
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel complements the colonial experience of Trujillo. It had many charming common areas to sit in after a day of sight seeing. It is necessary to do some negotiation on the room price, but the staff is very pleasant and helpful. The tours they sold were very good with knowledgeable English speaking guides. Over all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at Hostal Colonial, had a private room with private bathroom for 40 soles (originally they wanted 50 but I negotiated 40). The hotel is in a beautiful old mansion type building and has a nice sitting area and courtyard past the reception. The room's location was not the best as it was just above the reception area so it was a bit noisy. The room had all the basics and was clean, the water was hot, clean towel daily, and room was cleaned daily as well. One thing that bothered me was being constantly asked if I wanted to take a tour, which I did not. Just a tip -- tours are not necessary for Chan Chan and Huaca de la Luna, you can get there cheaply by a combi or collectivo or simply take a taxi, and there are guides at the sites as well if you want one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed for 1 night in a single room on the bottom floor. I paid $25 a night for a single room by myself.
Good:
Location is near a bit of everything, Plaza de Armas and across from a church.
Clean with staff constantly cleaning
Multiple places to sit and talk or read a book.
Great tours can be arranged to Chan Chan and other sites.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Good WIFI.
Luggage storage.
I loved the HOT showers.
They have a wake up service.
It is a secure location with staff present in the front.
Gardens are well maintained and beautiful.

Bad:
Beds were a bit to hard and difficult to get a good nights sleep.
It appears that they have varied prices depending on how many other nights and tours you will be taking.
Their attached restaurant has bad coffee and food.
They should have coffee gratis at all times in the hotel lobby. Coffee cost little to nothing and produces a lot of good will. I wake up several hours before the restaurants at 8:30, coffee please.
Sounds echo in the hall ways and into the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Like an old workingman's hostel, Colonial is sprawling, some sections beautiful, others a bit rough. Staff are helpful when they understand. I dont speak Spanish but the 3 girls at the from desk work it out and can reply. If you want decadent luxury, try the lalibertad across the street. For a huge amount less, Colonial is fine. A lively place to meet travelers without the snooty levels of better hotels. And the location is perfect for whatever you may need.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londho_Laine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Our double matrimonial room was quaint and efficient. As others have noted, the hotel is conveniently located near Plaza de Armas and other bustling areas of the city. It's also nice that a tour guide office is next door if you'd like to set up a tour (or two) of some of the major archaeological sites nearby for a pretty decent price.

My only real, solidified complaint is of the restaurant within the hotel. One morning, I ordered a veggie omelet (one of the priciest items on the menu at S/18.50). You tell me how a smorgasbord of diced asparagus, flappy raw red peppers and soggy mushrooms all folded in runny clumps of cheese translates into an omelet that wreaks and oozes grease and some brown liquid when cut. I also ordered a pretty typical cafe con leche (coffee with milk). Needless to say the cafe part was lukewarm
as the eggs. In a nutshell: you'll rather eat the hardened bread that comes with the deal instead of the main course. Picture above for full disclosure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cksilves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

we had asked for a quiet room, got one in the back: noisy, loud music until 4,30 in the morning. clean and spacious room. well situated.
bed and especially pillow very hard and lumpy. hot water unreliable. wifi rarely available in the room.
free late checkout until five.
beware: got a quote on the net that was 20 soles cheaper than what was charged, only found out later once i saw their response in the junk mail.

Room Tip: just not to expect any quiet time on the week-end
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhateverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Media Luna Hotel
Media Luna Hotel
#31 of 37 in Trujillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Libertador Trujillo
Hotel Libertador Trujillo
#1 of 37 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Torre Norte
Hotel Torre Norte
#5 of 37 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Due
Due
#2 of 37 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kallpa Classic Hotel
Kallpa Classic Hotel
#7 of 37 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Gran Marques
Hotel El Gran Marques
#6 of 37 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Colonial

Property: Hostal Colonial
Address: Independencia 618, Trujillo, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Colonial Trujillo
Hostal Colonial Hotel Trujillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing