We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we Expected”
Review of Royal Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Inn Hotel
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What we Expected”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Like others, we stayed here as part of a group. It was a big letdown from our Cusco hotel, but we were prepared for that. They could really spruce up the place with new carpet. Internet worked fine for us. The staff were great. The hotel is very well located. The breakfast was a bit sad, but we were able to find some protein to start our day. We could not hear our neighbors. The beds were the firmest I've experienced, but some in our group said they had worse in China. The sheets were not scratchy. The comforters were very comfortable, and we did not have to turn on the heat in spite of it being 25 degrees outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    113
    51
    10
    7
See reviews for
41
96
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are very critical of the care and hotel infrastructure, the Royal was one the best of all reasons for the Following:
- We arrived very tired and just had to sign our chips that made we arrive to our room and the atmosphere was a lot of comfort.
- To dine rest calmer since low hotel you realize that everyone is at home and the manager always attentive to everyone until we explained how we could counteract altitude sickness.
- Dinner was good very good fish and better your lemon dessert treat.
- Rest quiet until 7 am that there was more movement but we know that this time all out to make their rides.
- Breakfast was very different because it had everything one wants and Puno products.
My travel agency in Cusco was not good although we had a 5 star.

back very soon and I hope they'll remember me.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third and fourth floor, very good because they have elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhona1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We checked into the Royal Inn and were escorted to our room which reeked of cigarette smoke. The manager apologized and immediately had our bags transferred to the second floor suite. I thought that was a commendable upgrade. The all you can eat breakfast buffet was one of the best we had in Peru and the Royal Inn is centrally located. The service was good with one notable exception. I asked for a 6:00 a.m. wake up call that never arrived (fortunately I woke up in time). The next day I again asked for an early call and the phone rang an hour later just as we were checking out. How a four star hotel can screw up such a basic request is beyond me. Because of this very important shortcoming I’ll give the Royal Inn hotel fours stars, and not five.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a non-smoking room, one that has been non-smoking for more than a couple of we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Amazing service! Victor (the general manager) went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable beyond belief and with gestures and attention to detail only comparable to a "Grand Hotel rating"
Best of the Best in my book, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is suppose to be a four starts, that is what it says at the front. it is so dirty.. see the attached picures.

bathroom soap dish- showing molds growing
torn carpets
lamp shades broken with molds growing

i had a major allergy sinus issue started after staying at this hotel.

sorry to say this we showed these pictures they moved us to diff room but all the people from our tour complained the same. i hope they write the reviews.

i am only doing this so that they actually improve and some one from their town who ever is responsible to grade them can go and check this out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UParekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Worst hotel we stayed in our Peru trip with Gate 1. This hotel is old , outdated, not really acceptable. From dirty carpets to noisy rooms. Poor quality of sleep music playing from restaurant downstairs playing al nite, you can also hear others room conversations or noises. No free water in the rooms. Very basic breakfast. Beds are hard as rock. Only hotel that we stayed that needed to use plug adapters. Wi fi very bad. To me it looks more like a hostel. On the positive note is centric and staff is nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltorres93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is old and not kept up well. They do not have central heat which requires guests during winter months to use portable heaters that are less than effective. While breakfast is included the quality of the food is poor. For example, rather than real milk, they use watered down condensed milk. Last but certainly not least, the beds are horrible, at the least. I've never slept on such a hard, uncomfortable or unforgiving bed. It was like sleeping on the box spring, literally. Best of luck if you stay here. Personally, I'd rather pay the extra $50 and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 66 in Puno
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel
Casona Plaza Hotel
#20 of 66 in Puno
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#11 of 66 in Puno
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intiqa Hotel
Intiqa Hotel
#14 of 66 in Puno
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Hotel

Property: Royal Inn Hotel
Address: Ayachucho 438, Puno 5151, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
#12 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Puno
Royal Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing