We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Vio.com
Agoda.com
$390
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
67
1
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
1
0
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 70 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Amantica Lodge for three days between Christmas and New Year - what a way to see in 2019!
Damien’s arrangements beforehand were perfect -a morning pick up by boat from our overnight hotel in Puno and safely delivering us to Juliaca airport on departure.
The lodge itself is spectacular - beautifully designed, simple but super stylish with an amazing outlook across Lake Titicaca. It was cool in the evenings but the gas fires kept us warm and cosy, whilst the deck was the perfect place to reconnect with ourselves and with a unique part of the world during the daytime.
The staff and guides we met were awesome. “Super chef” Danny produced amazing 6-star meals three times a day, and make sure you sit down with him for some top quality stories and “urban philosophy”. Our teenage boys loved him!
Ana was wonderful - she picked us up, guided us on our visit to one of the more remote Uros islands (worth the price of admission on its own), translated and in between times helped Danny make sure we had everything we could possibly need.
Simon took us through three of the communities and on the walk up to the Pachatata at the top of the island. He is a real gentleman and deeply connected to his community on Amantani. We were able to meet his family and he gave us a very privileged glimpse of a unique island lifestyle. Orlando who took us fishing delivered us a bucket of trout and catfish whilst the Shaman who came armed with coca leaves, alapaca wool, cow dung, methylated spirits and generations of insight was a brilliant part of our New Year’s Eve.
And of course, don’t miss a dip in the lake - it’s a “must” as Danny told us!!
You could not move from the lodge and still have an amazing time, but go with an open mind, an interest in what’s around you and a desire to listen and you will come away far richer than when you arrived.
This is a unique spot in a unique place - don’t miss it.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jamesgM5002NK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amantica-Lodge, Director Comercial at Amantica Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear James,
Thank you so much for your feedback, for us too it is a perfect way to start this New Year. We are so glad and proud that we strive to make you live a unique moment that you will remember for long. We are also very pleased and happy that you knew how to enjoy this kind of experience, this place and its people. Thanks to your positive philosophy we achieved to create together a naturally flowing event when/where everything connected smoothly.
Kindest regards and we wish you lots of joy, laughs and love for 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Lake Titicaca became famous as a tourist destination for its floating islands, but Amantica is an untouched corner of Paradise on Amantani Island, well worth a visit and stay. It was our favorite experience in Peru, of equal enjoyment to visiting Machu Pichu.

Built on the side of the Island, and conceived of by French architect and a local man named Oswaldo, is a dreamy sustainable lodge, built with the support of the community.

This lodge is a two-room private luxury paradise accommodation, perched unobtrusively on the side of Amantani island, where the rocks meet the clear blue lake, in-between the snow capped mountains of Bolivia and the edge of Peru.

It takes two hours by car and boat from Juliaca, and around three and a half hours to reach the lodge by lake, from Puno, but the journey is as beautiful as the destination.

My partner and I chose to take the Belmond Andean Explorer overnight train from Cusco to Puno, where we were picked up in a car and taken to the port. A (very slow) boat and Simon, our guide, were waiting to take us to the Uros islands and on to the lodge.

Amantica offers two forms of accommodation; “all-inclusive;” (which includes transportation to and from Juliaca/Puno, excursions, drink/snack access, and meals), and “basic” (which includes welcome drink, meals, and accommodation only.) We chose “all-inclusive,” as it made arranging transport easy.

The primary feature of the lodge is the gorgeous views and floor-to-ceiling glass walls, with two way glass, so that you can see out, but no one can see in.

At night, the walls become a planetarium, showcasing the stars and sky so clear, that you feel you could touch the Milky Way.

The crown jewel of the lodge, besides Chef Daniel, is the gorgeous giant stone tub with a waterfall feature and open shower next to two-way glass.

When we arrived, Chef Daniel had some delicious guacamole and plantains waiting for us, as well as other snacks and champagne. Oswaldo walked us through our excursions for the trip, and we planned a loose schedule together until they left us with walkie talkies so that we could rest. They let us know we could call for anything we wanted (several of the staff live on the property or a few minutes away and have a ninja-like ability to only show up at the appropriate time).

The meals were delicious and hand crafted, beautifully presented with authentic local fresh ingredients. You can eat them on the deck where there is a beautiful private table with a few, or up in the dining area.

Upon arrival, we rested on the deck in the sun for a bit after our long journey and then got ready to go on our community visit. It was the life around the lodge and the view of the Quechua people through the eyes of our guide Simon that really caused me to fall in love with the island.

There are no cars, few stores, basic electricity and most of the inhabitants are in traditional dress. Simon told us about growing up on the island while we observed some local children playing soccer at the school Simon attended when he was a boy. The island is immaculately kept, and what struck me most is the way that it functions. The 800 families on the island are separated into ten communities who work together, even taking turns to help pave each other’s walkways.

There are beautiful sunset hikes, a coca tea ceremony with the local shaman, kayaking, fishing, star gazing, cooking lessons, and many other activities to choose from.

Or you can simply relax in the sun.

Damien, the manager, is lovely to communicate with, and makes sure your visit is flawless, personalized, tailored to your taste, and seamless.

One of the best things about the lodge is the amazing handmade meals from Chef Lanier and Anita. Each carried a unique fusion of local Peruvian dishes with the chef’s take on Peruvian-Italian and Peruvian-Chinese fusion based on his experience growing up in Peru, working on an Italian cruise line, and working under chefs of many backgrounds.

This was the perfect example of sustainable tourism at work: when tourism is in balance, the place changes you, as much as you do it.

Highly recommended for a two-three day visit, or a longer retreat. Perfect for couples, a family, or a solo artist or writer retreat!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank laceofbase-LacyLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amantica-Lodge, Director Comercial at Amantica Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Lacy,
Thank you very, very, very much for such review which leaves without words to add and which almost pulled us a tear.
Reading guests feeback is always a source of learning, improvement and often of motivation. We will surely share this heart warming review with all the staff.
Finnaly the most rewarding is realizing that we reached our goal to make you enjoy and unserstand the essence of Amantica Lodge and its preserved environment.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

We have spent two days at Amantica Lodge with our 4 children and it was an amazing experience.

Amantica Lodge is a very special place for privileged guests in many ways. First of all, there are only two rooms, one double and one quadruple, and they are always booked for a single group, so you will need to book it well in advance in order to be one of the happy few... Secondly, it is fairly far from any place, approx. 3h by boat from Puno, so you don’t get there without really planning to get there, but it is well worth the trip! Thirdly, it doesn’t come cheap obviously...

What makes Amantica Lodge so special? The location on Amantani Island is breathtaking, with unobstructed views on Titicaca Lake from every room. You are the only guest in the lodge and each member of the staff is there to make your stay memorable: Oswaldo, Daniel (amazing cook who will make you discover peruvian food at its best), Anita, Tristan, Alejandro, etc. The activities are awesome: fishing, excursion at the nearby floating islands (on our way from Puno), hiking the Pacha Mama, cooking lessons, session with the local Shaman... the choice is yours... The lodge itself is beautiful, built with local materials. Special mention for the bathroom with a magnificent bath carved in the rock. You will also enjoy the silence at Amantica: no cars, no motor boats, only the birds, the wind (maybe), the water...

It is a great place for a couple in honeymoon, as well as for families (4 children max). It is really a very unique and unforgettable experience. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank zillesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amantica-Lodge, Director of Sales at Amantica Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear Zilles,
We warmly thank you for your positive feedback. It is always appreciable and encouraging for the whole staff to read such reviews confirming that we delivered a great service to our guests.
As you say, you won't find Amantica Lodge by chance, so your preference is honoring us. We are also glad that you made it in family because we truly think that travelling is one of the most blissful and educating thing in life.
Finally, we totally agree with your special mention: the huge stone bathtub is also one of our favorite features of the Lodge.
Sinceres salutations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

Who ever built this World, on amantaní, he had a really good run.. and you can say the same about the architect of this lodge.

our time at amantica lodge was just satisfying, it’s one of these few places where you can feel love in every little detail.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lucatU2219ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amantica-Lodge, Director of Sales at Amantica Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Dear Luca T.
Thank you for sharing your experience, we are glad that you felt the love we put in our property and that you truly enjoyed your stay.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is incredible - perched on the edge of a cliff on Amantani island, it looks out onto Lake Titicaca and the snow capped mountains of Bolivia in the distance. We watched the sun rise from the huge bed in our room, with full glass windows giving dramatic views of the bird life, lone fishermen, and lapping waves of the lake. The hotel is beautifully organised and decorated, in simple tasteful style. There are two bedrooms, but we had the place to ourselves, as I assume most guests do, as the dining area and deck is accessible through the main bedroom. We used the second room as a dressing area, which meant we didn’t have to trip over suitcases during our stay. The bedrooms and bathroom are huge, with good heating, necessary in the cooler months.

We ate at the dining area outside our room, also well heated, with dramatic 360 degree views of the lake. The food was wonderful, cooked by the fabulous private chef, aided by his apprentice who was visiting from Vienna. Bring an appetite, as each meal had three imaginative and delicious courses. The wine was also good. We had a bath in the deep volcanic tub each night before dinner, prepared by our chef, and sat on the outer deck to admire the stars. This was also a wonderful place to sit in the morning sun, soaking up the rays. Richard, who was the housekeeper, lit a fire for us on our second night, as there was no wind, and we warmed ourselves by it as we sipped a cocktail.

We had a visit from the local shaman on our first night, who performed a ceremony with Coca leaves, did a guided village walk with Anna, a local girl, and went fishing with Simon in his traditional boat. This gave us a glimpse into Island life, and a chance to talk to locals. It is worth taking advantage of these guided activities, which are low key and at the pace you are interested in. Oswaldo, also a local, who is the host of this unique hotel, was our guide for visiting the fascinating floating Uros islands in Lake Titicaca, dropping us by boat at our next destination in Puno.

This is a unique hotel, probably the most interesting we have ever stayed at, which provides luxury, exclusivity, comfort, and personalised service which is beyond first class, yet in touch with Peruvian culture and sensibilities. We could not recommend it more highly.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Amantica-Lodge, Director of Sales at Amantica Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Dear Pangari
We warmly thank you for such a extended and blissful review. It is always highly motivating and grateful for us to read kind words as yours.
We are happy that you understood and experienced the essence of the place indeed exclusivity and personalised service are key concepts for us.
Of course you wil be welcome back at anytime.
Kindest Regards - Damien L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews