We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent value hotel in central puno with the kindest staff you'll find in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Plaza Hotel Puno
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Sol plaza is a wonderful hotel just blocks from the plaza de armas. The location itself deserves attention but the attentive staff makes sol plaza a unique find in Puno.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The included breakfast is delicious and fresh. And the staff could not have made our stay in Puno more comfortable.

Thanks Sol Plaza!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danyal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Sol Plaza Hotel Puno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 301 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Sol Plaza Puno is a exelent hotel for families. Friendly staff and very good service. Nice rooms and good beds. Family Rosset from Norway are very pleased whit our stay and we recomend this hotel for travelers ito Puno.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aro298442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The location was amazing, 2 minute walk from the main square. Breakfast was delicious,The staff was very friendly end helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryann57360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

the hotel is very nice, comfortable and well decorted but the pirces are very high for the serivces offered. The rooms are comfortble, no problem with hot water of wi fi. The loction is superb, it is near everything in Puno.
Prices are high for ll services offered, staff is friendly and professional

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caralavada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

exceptionally friendly service
good location
clean
relatively big rooms

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marenatka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, near the main square. The staff speaks little English. If you do not know Spanish it will be somewhat difficult to communicate. Breakfast is average, not much variety. If you are a early riser, the breakfast is not ready until 6 am and no coffee either until 6 am. The room was nice large and comfortable. Internet is available. The hotel picked us up from the tourist bus station, but only after our Cusco to Puno tourist bus guide (turismomer) called them directly to pick us up. We had tried to communicate for a pick up but failed. Hotel did arrange us with a travel agent who can speak English and he arranged all our travels in Puno (island tours and ride back to Juliaca airport).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My husband and I and a couple of friends arrived around 6 o'clock in the evening in Puno, after a busride from the airport in Juliaca.
The hotel where we planned to stay was full, and several neighbouring hotels too.
In our search for lodgings we accidently found this hotel, and we were very happy that we did. Website :www.solplazahotel.com and www.solplazapuno.com

It is a pleasant 3-star hotel, with very big beds, a very good hot shower and cable tv.
It has a breakfast in buffet style, with a very good selection of breakfast items.
The location was unbeatable; just around the corner of the Plaza de Armas. The hotel staff was very helpfull and made a suggestion for a very good restaurant "Mojsa" on the Plaza de Armas on the second floor. We ended up eating there several times, because their dishes were very tasty, and beautifully presented, and not too expensive, and the restaurant had a nice ambiance. (www.mojsarestaurant.com)

When you are in Puno you'll probably visit the Uros on their floating islands, and visit the island Taquile in the middle of Lake Titicaca, if you don't mind too much that it is very touristic. We payed 30 soles per person for a full day tour

We can recommend another trip you could make in the neighbourhood : to the Sillustani ruins near lake Umayo, which lies between Puno and Juliaca.
The halfdaytrip includes a visit to some houses of the village Attuncolla, where the people speak Aymara instead of Quetchua. The houses are built in a very special way, and worth a visit. And if you didn't manage to see any llamas, alpacas or vicunas up close ; well this is the time to do it.

You can choose to return to Puno (and then you pay 22 soles per person for the halfdaytrip) or to be dropped off in Juliaca (and then you pay 30 soles per person for the halfdaytrip). We chose the latter, as we had an early flight out of Juliaca.
If you don't have to be in Juliaca, avoid it all together, it is a grim and unsafe city

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.0 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel
Casona Plaza Hotel
#23 of 64 in Puno
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#14 of 64 in Puno
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Qalasaya
Hotel Qalasaya
#31 of 64 in Puno
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Plaza Hotel Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Plaza Hotel Puno

Address: Jr. Puno 307, Puno 51, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $53 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Plaza Hotel Puno 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Plaza Hotel, is developed within the current global context, with a clear concept of excellence and service, we have been constantly working on innovation of our services, in order to exceed the expectations of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sol Plaza Hotel Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing