We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hostel, this one. Good fun too.”
Review of Inka's Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inka's Rest
Ranked #5 of 76 Puno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2009

This was a superb place to stay with everything you’d want: great hosts, comfy rooms, reliable hot water, private bathroom, nice breakfast and a great location. They even offered lollies and constantly hot free tea and coffee to guests. The place is colourful and spacious, and oh-so homely. Smack bang in the centre of town.

Alfredo is just so funny, and Gilda was working hard making handicrafts most of the time we stayed there (2 nights). We booked a tour to the reed islands through them, and it was a brilliant day.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbwych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 269 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2009

Probably the cheapest place that we stayed in Peru and one of the warmest memories:-) This place is not the Ritz, but we stayed in one of the apartments and it reminded me of my student apartment. The bed was very comfortable, we were plenty warm enough, we had free dvds we could watch cuddled up on our own couch in the evening after getting take-out and eating at our own little dinning table. We slept so well here and just felt so comfortable.

The service was great! Breakfast was good and included. We had hot water in our room ready waiting for us at the end of the day and free choice of teas in the room.

We could use the free internet or communal kitchen in the building and we had our own key to the building which was very convenient.

Alfredo & Gilda were such characters and really made our stay! We would love to have stayed more than the 2 nights. They recommended Oscar's restaurant to us one night and it was fantastic food and a free dinner show on Sunday nights that was entertaining if a bit touristy. We booked our Lake tour through them and it was a great day. I wouldn't hestitate to recommend their hostel or travel services to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Karen-loves-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

The exterior is nothing to shout about, but the welcome from owners Alfredo and Gilda is fantastic! Plus, the cheerful rooms are a sight for sore eyes, especially if you´ve been travelling for 42 hours.

We were given extra blankets & hot water bottles for the cold, coca tea & muña for the altitude sickness, and maps, recommendations & tours for our activities. They helped booked our bus and hostel for our onward journey and I felt that every one of their recommendations were excellent!

It´s clean, comfortable and just three blocks away from the main square. Best of all: hot water! Bless!

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank SPA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed for only one night in this Hostel.

The owners were fantastically helpful and were the best thing about this place although there were a number of other good things as well.

When you arive it looks a little like a dead-end alley but don´t let this put you off, the hostel has a number of "apartment" style areas where two bedrooms open on to their own coummunal areas and has a shared kitchen as well.

These communal areas have cable TV but one of the staff there offered us her DVD player for the evening.

The location is within walking distance to central Puno, so it´s well placed too.

There was some building work going on (to build another floor) but this didn´t interrupt our stay and will make he place even better, I´m sure.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KL_NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Doodoonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank MaSaMe35770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Felix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Maria Inn Puno
Santa Maria Inn Puno
#34 of 65 in Puno
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#13 of 65 in Puno
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#37 of 65 in Puno
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hostel
Cozy Hostel
#3 of 111 in Puno
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Huaytusive Inn
Huaytusive Inn
#7 of 76 in Puno
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inka's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inka's Rest

Address: Pasaje San Carlos No 158, Puno 51, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Puno
Price Range: $13 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Inka's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing