We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape”
Review of Isla Suasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Suasi Hotel
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Isla Suasi is a beautiful oasis located on Lake TIticaca. Traveling through Peru can be hectic and our stay on the island was a wonderful respite. The boat trip was very comfortable with interesting stops at Uros and Taquile Islands. Upon our arrival, we enjoy a delicious buffet lunch in a flower filled garden overlooking the lake. There are many activities to enjoy....hikes, canoeing, and a spa. We had a spectacular room with a balcony and fireplace. The staff is attentive and friendly while providing top notch service.
Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip. We only stayed one evening but if you have the time, a 2 night stay would be fabulous!

Room Tip: We had a lovely room on the second floor with a private balcony overlooking the lake and gardens. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillmd227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    74
    26
    20
    4
See reviews for
94
265
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We loved this place. The setting was gorgeous and the staff and facilities are great. We have a 9 yr old and an 11 yr old - neither of them wanted to leave. We went kayaking around the island and there are lovely walks. The gardens are beautiful and the wildlife was lovely. When the kids were tired they played pool and table football. The room was lovely and the restricted electricity hours didn't worry us (solar panels generate much of the electricity). The water pressure in the shower was poor but everything else outweighed this. Would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny9876543210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is an island which immediately relaxes you. A wonderful trip across Lake Titicaca culminates with the arrival on Suasi Island. A lovely welcome, a gentle walk and entry to the hotel a welcome drink and then a beautiful alfresco lunch with a stunning view over the lake. The staff are great and go out of their way to help you and ensure that you are happy....and we were...very happy. the colours on the island are stunning and the wildlife, vicuna, llama, alpaca, rabbits and birdlife add to the delight. Needless the say the sunsets are divine!!
The Hotel is an Eco Hotel as it advertises itself...no plug sockets or TV in the rooms, limited w- fi a central gadget charging area...all perfectly acceptable along with a lovely wood burning stove in your bedroom.
The food is excellently prepared and served and has a decent but small range of wines and drinks. The BBQs are great fun as well and the breakfasts are substantial.
This place makes you relax...do not come here if you expect it to be like downtown Manhattan or technology friendly, like another TripAdvisor correspondent did....this is AN ISLAND a small island designed to get you away from it all!
The staff are great, the manager is friendly and runs a good hotel.....Miriam is fantastic and should win employee of the year and Raoul the guide is knowledgeable, friendly and a joy to be with...join him on his hikes or his star gazing tour.
come here and experience the beauty and peace of a Garden of Eden!

Room Tip: just come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have to say that the visit to Suasi Island was a pleasant surprise. I didn't expect much after being overwhelmed by the majestic Andes mountains and the amazing Inkan stonework. All I need is a quiet place to relax and escape from the crowd. This little island turned out to be a hidden gem. The hike to see the sunset over the Lake Titicaca and the close encounter with alpacas as well as vicunas were joyful experiences. Since the island was away from the light pollution, I finally had the chance to view the spectacular milky way with my naked eyes.

I really like the concept that Hotel (Casa Andina Private Collection) we stayed is a kind of ecological house (using solar energy). The facility was basic but it satisfied my need. Our hotel guide Roul was very friendly and did his best to make everything alright. If I had more information about the Suasi Island before the arrangement, I would have decided to stay for two nights instead of one.

Helpful?
1 Thank JCH0U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived this hotel on the speed boat after a tour of Uros and Taquille, the hotel island is absolutely beautiful, it was impossible for my camera to capture the colors of this island, it's like Hawaii but better.

The hotel room we had is in the main building, a beautiful room with a massive bathroom. There is no electricity after 8pm I think, but it was kinda fun and exciting to use a torch in the evenings, makes the island more mysterious.

We met Raul as our activity guide, Raul is very passionate about the island and knowledgible in everything. During our stage we went canoeing in lake titicaca, star watching in the evening, we also watched sunset on the island's peak.

The lunch at this place was amazing, and I seriously wanted to take the chef home with me.

Our check out was at 4am because we need to catch the bus to Cuzco at 8pm, the hotel staff got out at 4am to check us out, prepared box breakfast for us, we then got on a small boat provided by the hotel which took us to Juliaca.

The whole experience was amazing, one of the most unique and beautiful hotels I have stayed.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Palslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

What a wonderful slice of heaven. From the moment the boat drops you off you are in paradise. The staff are very attentive. You are made to feel like part of the family, everyone is smiling , laughing and relaxed. We all decided that if we win the lottery we are staying there indefinitely. Absolutely perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I am truly sorry to give this hotel only 3 stars. It really is a wonderful location and the staff is great. I had one major problem though. The island is very relaxed and we had a room with a fantastic view (room 108). However, this room was also right above the kitchen. At one point I installed myself on the balcony with a book, but I got disturbed by some loud music from the kitchen.
In general I found the staff, although friendly, very presents (watching you putting food on your plate at the buffet) and loud (running around, making phone calls and screaming in the kitchen). I expect more of a hotel like this.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tessa079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Isla Suasi Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience at our Private Collection Suasi Island hotel.

We regret to know about the inconvenience presented in your room, and we apologize for the distress this caused you. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our team in order to reinforce this matter and prevent this from happening again in the future.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
43.3 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
43.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
43.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
45.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
41.0 mi away
Taypikala Lago
Taypikala Lago
#12 of 65 in Puno
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Suasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Suasi Hotel

Property: Isla Suasi Hotel
Address: | Isla Suasi, Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#4 Family Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Suasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solar-powered ecolodge on remote and uniquely beautiful Isla Suasi-the only private island in massive Lake Titicaca, the world's highest navigable body of water. Featuring panoramic lake views from every room, surrounded by terraced gardens and designed with native materials (stone, adobe and thatched roofs) to blend into the island, the lodge is committed to being green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Isla Suasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing