We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”
Review of Isla Suasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Suasi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I had a wonderful time at this eco- resort on Isla Suasi. The staff was very caring and friendly. The food was great and plentiful for all three meals. I had an excellent hot stone massage. I highly recommend this resort for a relaxing get away on beautiful Lake Titicaca. The flowers and views of the lake were unbelievable. Grab one of the hammocks for an afternoon nap. Or you can take out one of the canoes or kayaks and paddle around the island. I did both.

Room Tip: If you want a warmer room ask for a 1st floor room that has a stove. The 2nd floor rooms are cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W5937TKjudym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    74
    26
    20
    4
See reviews for
91
263
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

There's something about arriving by boat across a huge lake, under blue skies, to a peaceful, beautiful island that is unforgettable. The first night there I was the only guest, which was magical. Had a short walk to watch the sunset, a lovely dinner, then a session star-gazing: must learn more about astronomy! The next morning went on a bird-spotting walk: not very keen on the gulls but thought the hummingbirds in the owner's garden wonderful. Still good when other guests arrived, but that one evening will always stay wth me

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
913 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The setting: You are about 3-5 hours from Puno by boat, depending on whether you are visiting Uros and Tequile islands en route. Otherwise, it's a 2.5 hour ride from Juliaca with a 30 minute small boat ride. The visits to Uros and Tequile are very touristic. You come ashore and the locals put on a demo of their ways of living on the respective islands. It's interesting to see both islands, unfortunately you are not given any time at all to explore Tequile, which is worth exploring. Once you get to Suasi island, you and your bags will be driven uphill to the hotel proper. The main building houses the reception, lounge, dining room and upstairs are the hotel rooms. There is a large building off to the side which is another block of rooms. There are a few other structures on the island which are not worth your time. The island is hilly and difficult to hike if you have altitude sickness. However, the flora and fauna (alpacas, vicunas, vizcachas, humming birds) are well worth the hike/walk. Lastly, if you are a smoker, you will not find a single ashtray, nor are there any trash cans on the property.
The boat transfer: We were shocked to board a boat with large packs of people. Think families with four young children running a mock and large family packs of adults. You pay through the nose to stay on Suasi; you don't expect huge crowds or screaming children running all over the place. Tranquil relaxation it wasn't, so be ware. Also, the guide on the boat, member of the hotel staff, chose to wear a Jack Daniels shirt, perhaps advertizing his alcoholism. He also made racist jokes about 20 Americans fitting on a reed canoe on Uros Islands, whereas 30 Peruvians could, or 60 Japanese. The whiskey shirt and the racist joke was vulgar and unprofessional!
The rooms: The rooms are clean and bright. There are balconies off each room as well as sky lights. The beds are plush and the bedding is luxurious. There are robes and slippers in the rooms. The bathroom is spacious but also lacks electrical outlets. Unfortunately, that's the end of all luxury. The rooms lack electrical outlets, phones or wifi. You are forced to charge your electronics in the main lodge, by the reception desk. The wifi only works in the lobby area and is weak at that. The hotel either constricts the bandwidth or only pays for the slowest internet speeds. Also, the rooms are not heated at night. The hotel puts a hot water bottle in your bed to make it cozy but by the middle of the night, should you have the misfortune to awake, you will be shivering.
The food: When the hotel is full, there are many options. The breakfast buffet and the lunch bbq buffet was impressive on day one. On our second day, when the crowds thinned so did the buffet options, by half. Dinner was buffet style when the hotel was full and a la carte when the hotel was empty. The food is average. If you are expecting high quality meals, you will be disappointed. Think dry baked potatoes, quinoa, grilled meats and pudding type desserts. At inflated hotel rates, the food is a disappointment. Also, expect to be gouged for drinks, as neither the alcoholic or alcoholic options are not included. You may notice that all meals are included in your booking, but the word beverages is not included. Be ware!
The tours: You can join a complimentary group hike up the island's hill. When occupancy is high, avoid the herd and go alone. There is no way to get lost and you will see the fauna and flora just as well on your own. Kayaks are on offer and are complimentary, reserve ahead. There is a steam room, which must be reserved but also complimentary; it functions from 6:30-7:30pm. Massages are on offer for $60-80 USD/hour.
All in all, avoid this overpriced hotel. Stay at the Private Collection sister property on the mainland, at more than half the price of this place. The food is better and the tours on offer will take you to all the islands you desire, at your own pace, without the herds. If you want deluxe accommodations, there is a boutique property 30 minutes outside of Puno. It's pricier but won't disappoint as much as this place will. To underscore how cheap this operation is, electricity here is available only from 5-10am an 5-10pm. Regardless of the solar panels, I am sure this property has a generator. At prices of $300+ USD/night, electricity should be available 24/7. Also, on the date of our departure, they canceled the boat transfer and forced us to go by land, as there were too few people. We had pre-booked our transfer in advance and had lunch reservations and a tour in Puno upon our return. None of this was possible.
Suasi is gorgeous, but the hotel operation is poorly managed. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Isla Suasi Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your time in letting us know about your experience at our Private Collection Isla Suasi hotel.

We regret to know about your perception of the service and if you perceived it did not match with our quality standards. Rest assured that our hotel manager is aware of your comments and will definitely take them into consideration to reinforce our procedures and ensure our guests´ satisfaction.

However, we believe it is important to mention to you that our hotel is eco-friendly since we want to offer a different experience to our guests. Also, we must express to you that upon your return to Puno, the island tide was high and it is not safe to return by boat, especially if we are going to put your life at risk; that is why we chose to keep you safe and return to Puno by land.

We are glad you enjoyed the Suasi Island.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
913 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Come here to stay overnight or for a few nights. The island is flush with flowers. You can hike and see alpacas grazing, as well as wild vicunas and vizcachas (chinchilla like rabbits). You won't see the same fauna on Tequile, but the landscape and the flora are the same as on Tequile. Therefore, if you spent a day visiting Tequile, and are staying on the mainland, Suasi is not a must.

Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful lush garden, great food and helpful stuff. Lunch served as BBQ in the garden, overlooking the lake. Hammocks and bed chairs available to relax.
I would recommend rooms in the upper floor as they get naturally heated through sunshine during the day. The rooms at the ground floor are a bit dark and cold. Make sure the fire oven is working properly. There is a beautiful private cottage down at the lake. Stuff is very friendly. Simple but fresh and high quality dishes. Good choices incl. eggs and fresh fruits for breakfast. Would go back any time.

Helpful?
Thank Anjaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
767 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We only have raves for this hotel. It is situated on its own island, Isla Suasi, the only privately owned island on Lake Titicaca. It is built in the form of a two story mountain lodge. There are 24 rooms.
Our room was on the second floor, was large, comfortable, clean and quiet. The room had a small stove heater which was lit for us every night to ward off the chill, and hot water bottles (which were actual glass bottles) placed under the comforter in the evening while we were at dinner.
The food was excellent (breakfasts, lunches and dinners). Free local wine and beers are available on request, as well as water and soft drinks/juices, and come as part of the all-inclusive room rates. This is not a cheap place, but it was well worth the expense.
What made our two night stay special was the ambience. As soon as disembarks from the boat, one is met with a sea of colors from the flowers that surround the immediate slope and area of the hotel. The gardens surrounding the hotel are verdant and well-tended. One is struck by the air of tranquility and repose. It was like stepping into another world where one's cares just disappeared.
The staff was very warm and accommodative. A guide organizes the various activities such as hikes up to the tallest point (almost 4000 meters), a zodiac ride around the island, a tour of the small museum, star gazing, a bonfire, etc. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and caring. You can take a canoe or kayak around the island (about an hour). The hotel maintains a herd of 10 alpacas and there is a small herd of wild vicunas, as well as numerous Peruvian rabbits (they look like squirrels), birdlife.
The owner of the island is a kind woman named Marta. If you have a chance to meet her and perhaps have a coffee with her, she may invited you to tour her gardens. She walked a group of us around one morning, and we were privileged to witness how Quechans prepare their fields for planting using the traditional foot plow (the male breaks the ground and the woman turns the large clods of dirt over). Marta is a very special person.
If one goes to the trouble to go to lake Titicaca, we cannot imagine how one would not stay at this extraordinary island hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in a lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
767 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is the only privately owned island on Lake Titicaca. It is small but has a nice hill with a great view of the lake. It takes about 3.5 hours to reach this island as it is on the eastern side of
the lake. It has a herd of wild alpacas as well as vicunas.There is a wonderful 24 room hotel on the island. Frankly, I don't know how one accesses the island without staying at the hotel. It seems to me that one can't really appreciate this island without staying at the hotel situated on one end of it.

Helpful?
Thank RodMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
43.3 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
43.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
43.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
45.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
21.2 mi away
Amantica Lodge
Amantica Lodge
#17 of 66 in Puno
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Suasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Suasi Hotel

Property: Isla Suasi Hotel
Address: | Isla Suasi, Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#4 Family Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Suasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solar-powered ecolodge on remote and uniquely beautiful Isla Suasi-the only private island in massive Lake Titicaca, the world's highest navigable body of water. Featuring panoramic lake views from every room, surrounded by terraced gardens and designed with native materials (stone, adobe and thatched roofs) to blend into the island, the lodge is committed to being green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Isla Suasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing