We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isla Suasi Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Amantica Lodge(Puno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Titilaka(Puno)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vestigios Hotel(Chucuito)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveler rating
408
78
30
20
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
78
30
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake titicacaboat ridehot water bottlesperfect place to relaxtake your breath awaylonger stayeco hotelsmall woodvery attentive to our needsprivate boatrelaxing stayhigh altitudehuge bedpisco sourstwo night stayonly stayed one nightperu trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 540 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

ISLA SUASI is a traveler's dream. A small private island, a bit isolated yet a perfect getaway.
After a week of visiting canyons, churches and cultural sites, the island helped us relax and prepare for another week of Journeys. The island is not easy to get to, recommend booking your entire stay with Casa Andina. The setting was idyllic and although rustic, the staff were welcoming, especially Rolando. Martha the island's owner has a sense of place and culture, the small exhibit house and library chronicle the art of this land. Truly a hidden gem in this modern words of ours.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tak90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We transferred from Puno by boat via 2 stops enroute to Suasi the first stop us the floating reed island. Whilst interesting to learn of the history it's clear that a lot is put on for the tourists look for the hidden trainers and other modern trappings of the 21st century. 


Suasi is an idyllic island and is very laid back. When we arrived there was only a total of 7  guests. The staff are all very  helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Our Room was very well laid out, clean and well decorated. 
It's the little things that make this hotel special such as hot water bottles in the beds at night and the log stoves to keep the rooms warm at night. There is free wifi in the lobby reception areas.  

Small niggles which might be an attempt to find fault is that they could do with a decent espresso coffee machine. Charging of electrical items is restricted to 2 plug sockets in reception due to the island running on solar power. If the hotel is empty it takes 5 minutes to get hot water. 

Overall the food is quite good but is not upto standards of a 4 or 5 star hotel. Limited selection of 2 for all courses. It needs to raise its game in this area. Although the chocolate brownies at lunch time were to die for.  Breakfast was a good buffet. 

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel is the sole occupand of this beautiful island in the northern part of Lake Titicaca. We arrived by boat with a boat tour arranged by the hotel. The boat stopped at two other islands to see/learn how locals live. Although it was cheezy and a bit of a tourist trap, it was still very interesting learning about. The food was very good, our room/bed was very comfortable. We ate outside for lunch with a nice BBQ. We saw a breathtaking sunset from atop a hill after a small hike.

The porperty is 'ecologically designed' and entirely powered by solar panels. This means that there are no outlets in the rooms (it was a bit of a challenge to recharge the old iPhone; shared outlets in the lobby ...), and the lights in the room only work in the morning and in the evening till 11 PM. No TVs, but really, none are needed in such an idyllic place.

We did have a 4 PM flight, and the only scheduled way to get out of the island was the daily boat out at 1 PM, and it was a BIG struggle to get alternate plans organized to get a ride to the airport. I strongly recommend double-confirming the transportation times in and out of the island anc compare them to flight times.

Overall, a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggtirevite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I've visited Suasi Island in May 2012 after my travel agency (Imagine Latin America ) highly recommend me visiting this island, it's privately owned and provide you with maximum relaxation, generous meals everyday and stunning view to lake titicaca, there are also some vicuña and alpacas that live on the island also it's great for bird watching. the island is 3 hours away from Puno by boat. on the way you'll get to see Uros island and Taquile, so it's an enjoyable journey.
hotel staff were very friendly and cooked us amazing food and bbq everyday. i highly recommend spending 2-3 nights in the island.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzedean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our overnight visit to Isla Suasi was an oasis in an otherwise busy two week itinerary, and the chance to relax overlooking the beauty of the island and Lake Titicaca was extremely welcome. The transfer from Puno by boat, visiting Uros and Taquile en route was smooth and enjoyable with an extremely knowledgeable guide in Maria de los Angeles. Met by Gilbert, the on-island guide, we immediately felt welcome and at ease. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a luxurious bed and stunning views over the lake. The welcoming barbeque lunch was delicious, and dinner and breakfast were tasty too, with freshly-prepared dishes (can thoroughly recommend the chicken noodle soup!). Take the guided hike up to the island's highest point to see the sunset: it's truly worthwhile, and take the time to go star gazing, even if only for a few minutes (it gets pretty cold at night). The only downside would be the smokiness of the communal rooms once the fires are lit, but it is pretty cold and they are needed. And returning to our room after dinner to find a lit fire burning merrily in the corner of the room was a rare treat!

A beautiful island for a tranquil stay and a chance to recharge admidst the bustle of a full itinerary, for both of us it was the best night's sleep of the entire trip - take the opportunity if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MellieLou71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews