We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Isla Suasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Suasi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
malibu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Isla Suasi is an absolutely beautiful island - gorgeous, tranquil and good for the soul. We stayed for two nights, which was a perfect amount of time to explore the island on foot and by canoe, to relax and replenish in absolute beauty. The food is fantastic; abundant, healthy and delicious. The service was wonderful; everyone we met was friendly and helpful, especially Mario and Joshue, who really took pleasure in fulfilling our every need. Christian, the Naturalist and Guide, was a delight. He obviously loves the island and is so happy to share it with visitors. The spa is also fabulous; we had a eucalyptus steam both nights and hot-stone massages with Guadalupe. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaclyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    50
    19
    18
    3
See reviews for
70
212
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I really loved this hotel. The hotel is beautiful and the island is serene, but the best part of this island are the people working there. I loved the service- it is the most attentive, kindest I have ever received. I have never met a group of harder worknig people - the servers, gardeners, managers, the chefs all work so hard to make the guests happy. Really a lovely experience. I would go again and again and again if I could!

The one drawback that we experienced had nothing to do with the hotel or service - a group of three couples (each with two children) was there for the two days we were there as well and it was such a bummer because their children were running all over being increbily loud and disruptive. This was really a bummer because the vibe of the island and hotel is relaxation and calm (where else can you get a massage at 9 pm?!). I just mention it becuase it was such a disappointment for me because it is such a small island that loud voices (scraming, yelling, crying) carried throughout. THAT SAID - we had a wonderful time and the staff did a really nice job of trying to help make our stay more peaceful (they changed our room and offered for us to have dinner in a separate space, breakfast in our room, etc. So, despite the other loud guests, I really feel like the hotel strove very hard to make us happy (which we were!).

We did some lovely walks on this island and went canoeing - so lovely. =-)

The food was so yummy and we loved our waiters.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyL117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great place to rest, all ecological, easy walk through all the island, beautiful rooms, best view of Lake and surrouding town during the day and great skies at night, beautiful wild flowers, vicuñas, alpacas and vizcachas, staff made us feel special, fantastic BBQ, wifi for those needing to check their friends, .... A must for someone looking for some rest in a different setting!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielafort452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

We're from Lima. My wife, my 6y.o. daughter and I stayed in Isla Suasi for 4 days. The service was incredible due to hospitality of the Hotel staff. The first day we were picked up from our Hotel in Puno city early in the morning and taken on a boat to visit Uros Island and Taquile Island in around 3 hours where local people shared with us their lifestyles. We arrived to Suasi at mid-day and a nice barbecue in the Titicaca shore was expecting us. Food was excellent during all our stay. Although there are no kids fun area (which they could think doing it) my daugther had a nice time. We spent wonderful family time doing canoe paddling, walking to the wharf besides the rock beach and playing some table games the Hotel provided us. There's also a route along the Island that can be visited by car or walking where you can see llamas, vicuñas and at the top of the hill, the sunset. The best of Suasi are their wonderful Lake views including the one from our room, which also had a window on the roof were you can see at night the stars very brightly. The weather on the Island was sunny during day, but at night you feel the air very cold. The hotel uses solar panels to provide energy but only during limited periods of time. Useful things to carry: hats, t-shirts, sunblock, jacket, sweaters, gloves, and eventually pills for high altitud symptoms. There is no TV but all rooms has internet access.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsoMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I went to Peru for our honeymoon. After doing the 4 day Incan Trail hike, we came to Casa Andina on Isla Suasi. Exactly what we needed! Relaxing, wonderful staff, great food and drinks. At first you think you could get bored, but then you spend your days relaxing, eating, hiking, canoeing, getting a massage, enjoying nature and with no interruptions. We highly recommend a visit here for singes, couples, or families!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen2222_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Casa Andina at Suasi Island and what an unforgettable stay that was ! If you want to get away from it all and spend three days to totally relax this is the right place to come ! Our room was beautifully done with a large comfy bed from which you could see Lake Titicaca through the two large windows. In the evening a hot water bottle was waiting for you in bed and a fire was lit in the oven so even without heating it was cosy warm in the room. Breakfast, lunch (lunch was normally served outside in a buffet form) and dinner was delicious and the open bar was nice to help yourself to a glass of wine while relaxing on one of the sun loungers in front of the house with a book. The Spa can also be highly recommended ! The sunset walk with a visit to the Llamas that live on Suasi Island and the Star spotting at night were also unforgettable experiences.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondieandginger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul-de-Vence
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

Part of the highlight of staying here is the transfer from their Puno hotel by boat (seating about 20 in air conditioned comfort). The highly enjoyable journey (with guide) takes around 4 hours, includes a stop at one of the Uros floating islands and a demonstration of artisan crafts and live music and dancing on Taquile island. Casa Andina clients are really treated like VIPs by the local team. The focus at each stop is on education, information and entertainment, rather than exploiting commercial opportunities – although this does exist – however there is no pressure to buy anything whatsoever. A tip of 20-30 sols for the dancing troop at the second island was well received and well worth it. The boat trip was a memorable experience that set the tone well for our arrival at Isla Suasi.

The small hotel is set in a garden of beautiful roses, passion fruit, dahlias and hibiscus, where lunch is served al fresco (weather permitting). There are impressive views across the straits to the mainland and Soto island. Solar panels provide electricity, which is restricted to several hours in the evening. Surprisingly, we did not find this an inconvenience at all – helped no doubt by a full moon through the large skylight panel of our room, through which you could stargaze. Isla Suasi is definitely a place ‘away from it all’ – a place of tranquility and calm.

Three acceptable meals are included in the nightly tariff, together with wines, beers and sodas. The bedroom was comfortable; there was plenty of hot water in the shower after a wait of around 2 minutes. There is even Wi-Fi.

There was one major negative we experienced concerning transport to the airport. Boat transport ex Puno to and from Isla Suasi is provided within the tariff. However we felt the timings might be too short to connect with our flight departure, so we opted to pay an extra $231 for road transfer by 4x4.

Some time later, the airline subsequently re-timed our flight to a later slot, which would enable us to take the included return by boat after all. The boat captain also confirmed that the boat scheduled timings should be sufficient to meet our flight departure – BUT he said that NO boat was scheduled to operate on our departure date – 48 hours later. We suggested to the hotel that the 4x4 transfer should therefore be provided by them at no cost as they were unable to provide the included boat transfer.

Eventually the hotel manager was directed by HQ in Lima to inform us that the 4x4 was operated by a ‘transportation company’ that could not be cancelled without a heavy penalty of 75%. The hotel company failed to mention that the ‘included in tariff’ boat transfer was not in fact operating on that day anyway. We felt somewhat disgruntled that no compensation was forthcoming – but even more so when we arrived at the 4x4 to find that instead of a ‘transportation company’ vehicle, the hotel group was actually using their own vehicle (Casa Andina logo painted on the sides) for the transfer – and their own driver!

It is such a shame that an otherwise excellent experience should be tainted by the hotel company’s commercial priorities, particularly as we had booked at 3 Casa Andina Private Collection hotels. Our thanks however to Christian at the Isla Suasi hotel, who looked a bit uncomfortable about having to ‘pass on the bad news’. He went out of his way to be as helpful as he could, provided a golf cart to the summit lest we should miss the sunset etc., – and even, as a small gesture to appease, he declined to charge us for our laundry.

Before posting this review, I sent a copy of it to Casa Andina’s Customer Relations Department to give them an opportunity (5 days) to respond to the transportation issue (in case I was mistaken in any way). No response was received.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Isla Suasi Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much regret the poor perception you got of our commercial practices and apologize if this issue somehow affected your overall experience with us.

As we mentioned on the e-mail sent from our Guest Relations department on February 7th, the road transfer by 4x4 is not directly provided by Casa Andina. This service is given by a third party that has its own policies and restrictions and we usually offer this alternative when we consider guests will not arrive to the airport on time if they choose the boat transfer.

We understand you preferred to cancel your land transportation service from Suasi Island to Juliaca due to a last minute change on your flight itinerary. Unfortunately, the 4x4 transportation company has a 48 hours limit for cancellations without penalty and it was responsibility of Casa Andina to respect this agreement since it was specified on the confirmation letter we sent you.

The 4x4 transfer was initially requested by boat from Suasi to Cambria and then by land from Cambria to Juliaca. We sincerely regret we couldn´t avoid the penalty and understand you finally preferred to return by land after all. Unfortunately, as land transportation by 4x4 service was cancelled according to your request, we therefore arranged the return to be made by our own van and a Casa Andina driver.

We understand your position and sincerely regret we could not make an exception with the transfer ¨No show¨ penalty. We hope you enjoyed your overall experience in Puno and cannot be more grateful with you for choosing Casa Andina for being part of it.

Cordially yours,
The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
43.3 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
43.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
43.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
45.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
21.1 mi away
Amantica Lodge
Amantica Lodge
#22 of 67 in Puno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Suasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Suasi Hotel

Property: Isla Suasi Hotel
Address: | Isla Suasi, Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#4 Family Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Suasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solar-powered ecolodge on remote and uniquely beautiful Isla Suasi-the only private island in massive Lake Titicaca, the world's highest navigable body of water. Featuring panoramic lake views from every room, surrounded by terraced gardens and designed with native materials (stone, adobe and thatched roofs) to blend into the island, the lodge is committed to being green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Isla Suasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing