We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly managed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casona Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casona Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Southern England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Poorly managed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

#you can tell how well an organisation is managed the moment you step into reception - the staff were uninterested and bored. Our rooms were on the 1st floor (UK 1st floor) above the kitchens so we were woken each mornign at 5.30 by the juicing machines. Rooms themselves were fine, and quiet in the night. On our final day my husband managed to get back to seep but the hotel reception called each room on our tour at 6.30 with a wake up call - in error. I was already up and breakfasting (as the ktchen noise had made it impossible for me to sleep) but my husband was furious. We were already so tired. We got no sense form teh hotle, just arguement bewtwwen us, hotel and our crappy tour guide who they blamed (it was the hotel's fault not his). An apology would have gone down well. Breakfast was very good though - and location - these were the 2 good things.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    156
    92
    28
    11
See reviews for
50
147
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Arriving late in Puno, we had reserved a triple room. That part was ok; but only towels for 2 and despite a request we never received the third one. During the evening the elevator broked; 5 stories to climb, not an easy thing for every one at an altitude of 3800 meters. Next morning, was still unavailable until we left at 10. The shower had a malfunction...
But the breadfast buffet was very good and diversified.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonandreanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent one night here during our tour of Peru, after our night on Armantani Island in Lake Titicaca. Quite a change after the home stay on the island though more impersonal. Rooms have lots of space with en suite bathrooms. The bath is small but the shower is excellent. It's not far off the main square and the pedestrian area where there are lots of restaurants and shops. Breakfast is a buffet with lots to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkfootpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This comfortable hotel in in a little narrow street only a few blocks away from the main Puno Square. It is reasonably modern with a good reception area where you can access their two computers or use their free WIFI (also available in your room).
Our room was very clean and a good size with a very comfortable double bed. The ensuite had a good strong shower and was also very clean.
The breakfast meals area was large with a terrific selection of western style food.

Room Tip: No complaints from any of our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, either side of a trip to the islands. Our first room had the best power shower of our entire 3 week trip to Peru, sadly the second room we had didn't quite match up...
The rooms are perfectly comfortable but the whole hotel feels a bit dated in terms of decor, and the breakfast buffet was pretty un-appetising.
The hotel seems to be mainly booked out by large tour groups, which explains why they don't need to make too much effort.
The staff were nice enough but reception failed to pass on a crucial message to us, which meant that we nearly missed our flight home!
However, the location is perfect, as it is just a 2 minute walk to the main square in Puno.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed as part of an Intrepid group, 2 nights. The hotel is rated 4 stars and is well located for reataurants and the main square. It is within a rickshaw ride of the actual port area. I got a room on the front of the hotel and as usual in all Peruvian hotels it was noisy, the room was fine and the breakfast was one of the better ones on the trip. Plenty of hot water and the staff spoke good english. Wi fi worked well, all in all quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room or use earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of an Intrepid group. This is a nice hotel situated walking distance to the Plaza Armas and the pedestrian only shopping/eating streets. My room 213 was an inside room so was fairly quiet although I could hear when people were talking in the halls or in the room across the hall. You have to keep the curtains on the window closed because the window faces into another room. There are heaters in the room which our guide recommended we don’t use so I was pleased to find extra blankets and pillows in the room. The rooms had a flat screen TV and there was free Wi-Fi. There is oxygen available in the lobby should you need it, I wish I had known it was there during my stay, I only found out as we were leaving. The breakfast buffet at this hotel was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.0 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#12 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#8 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balsa
Hotel Balsa
#30 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Plaza Hotel

Property: Casona Plaza Hotel
Address: Jiron Puno n. 280 - Cercado, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casona Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Casona Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing