We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of Casona Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casona Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we have arrived without hotel reservation to Puno. After rejecting several locations, we have decided to stay here. The four stars status can be discussed, at least the breakfast is at the expected level. But after price negotiation (-40%), the stage was not bad and good for money. Room with heater, bath with small bat tub, king size bed. It is less than 5 minites far away from downtown (plaza de armas)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dofi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 447 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

After visiting hotels in Lima and Cuzco it was a delight to stay at Casona Plaza Hotel. The previous places did not have hot water and did not seem to be as well kept up. Casona is very central in Puno and well maintained. It is a bit of a problem for large buses as the streets are narrow but the porters bring your baggage to the rooms. We had an excellent breakfast each day before we went to Lake Titicaca and Taguille Islands.

The rooms were quite large and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJohn022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights as part of an Intrepid tour of Peru. This was my favorite hotel of the trip. The room was really big and clean. Location was good- near the central square and close to restaurants. My room was a perfect temperature (facing the street) but others who got internal rooms said their rooms got cold at night which wasn't good. Breakfast was nice- big enough selection for Peru standards. Staff were friendly. I found out after you can get free oxygen for a certain amount of time! Free wifi was good too.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Located in the centre of Puno. Hotel is a 4 star. Rooms big and clean. Bed was very comfortable, tv, wifi in the room. Complimentary bottle of water in my room was opened. Staff was very helpful. Restaurant serves quiet good food. Had dinner - was very good. Breakfast was excellent - great choice of food cold and hot. Hotel offer transfers to station, has mail box, location 10 out of 10, Service 7 out of 10. Staff gave keys to people who was already given to others - oops. Overall 6 out of 10

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaimisMacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for two nights as a part of Intrepid tours. Warned by group leader to stay within 3 blocks of the hotel for safety. Hotel is a block from the main square, with lots of restaurants, and a grocery store.

We had hot water and a great shower on the 4th floor. Breakfast was standard, and one day they served cooked to order eggs.

Internet in rooms, and TV was limited.

Only reason to go to Puno is a brief trip to Lake titicaca.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fencejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at Casona Plaza for two nights as part of a tour. Puno is a very humid city and is situated at pretty high altitude, so it was very cold. Unfortunately, the cord of the heater in our room was too short to ever plug in. In addition, the vent in the bath could not be entirely closed, letting in both noises (like loud music) and cold air. The mattresses were not very comfortable, either.

The next day, we asked them to check the heater and it was never done. Or it was and they decided not to change it.

Casona Plaza has a great breakfast buffet, with many more options that I've seen anywhere else in Peru. Unfortunately, they are not use to having large groups, it seems, as they couldn't refill the various plates, or bring enough utensils, cups and plates. If you see a large group when you go down for breakfast, wait for them to leave. Besides, you will probably not be able to sit down. The next day was fine.

The hotel is located a few blocks from the main plaza, and a bike-tuk ride away from lake Titicaca. They will provide you with 5 minutes of free oxygen if you're feeling bad from the altitude.

Room Tip: In autumn and winter, make sure the heater in your room works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyaReiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a room on the 5th floor which was very large (had two double beds which were comfortable) but was also not very clean - the main reason was that the carpet looked about 10 years old and was frayed and dirty - the bathroom was also very dated and the toilet would not stop flushing
it was an ok hotel for two nights but needs updating
breakfast was nice - although get there early as very busy around 7am

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
421 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#10 of 64 in Puno
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Plaza Hotel

Address: Jiron Puno n. 280 - Cercado, Puno 051, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $38 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casona Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casona Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing