We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Puno
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent service and staff!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I have read the other traveller reviews and frankly I am surprised!! Of course coming from Lima, Arequipa, Cuzco and Macchu Picchu to a much poorer less touristy place i did not expect 5 stars but this Casa andina as with all the others i have stayed in is clean, comfy and it you ask, they provide extra blankets and heaters! Ask people!! Don't complain if you do not ask.
I was very ill with food poisoning as soon as I got to Puno and only saw Uros island for 3 hours.. The rear of my day and half there was spent in the hotel sick. The staff ESP Jesus and Kyhara at the front desk were extremely helpful. Kyhara spent almost half an hour trying to get a doc for me to make a house call and repeated tried when the person on the other side seem to put her on hold a few times! Jesus brought me a hot water bottle when requested and he kept asking me how I felt when he saw me wandering around bend over.
Yes the rooms can be a bit cold but the extra blanket in the room was more than adequate. And showers were hot
Not cold as some people described. The water pressure was fantastic compared to what I had in Cuzco!
Breakfast was standard fare but enough selection of cereals and cooked pancakes and eggs. They had breakfast ready at 5am as well if you needed to be out by 6am.
Overall Thank you Jesus and Kyhara!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovychickMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    204
    99
    26
    3
See reviews for
70
197
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is a bit isolated so we just ate there. The breakfast is very good and served from 5 am if you have early tours. We had tapas and wine in the bar for dinner at a good price and excellent, although their idea of 3 glasses of wine is really just about one decent sized one. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, although the beds are miserable. The place is a bit tired and shabby but we had their tour to Suasi and liked that. Not a destination,but a good place to camp out between tours.

Room Tip: The ones numbered 221 up to 226 (?) have wonderful lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The casa Andina is always a safe bet. The rooms were clean and we were warm enough as we had a heater in the room.
The shower and bathroom was nice.
Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from.
The location was perfect too and not too noisy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlandorocks41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

There was only one thing actually wrong with the hotel, but it was a pretty damning one. There was absolutely no storage space. Our double bed just about fitted into the room, but there were no cupboards, no shelves and no wardrobe – just a single clothes rail at one end of the room.

We were on the ground floor beyond the pizzeria / breakfast area in the far corner, outside of which a little old lady had set up a stall selling mainly alpaca wool garments. This all opened up beyond the reception desk and may sound a bit cramped for a lobby area but there was plenty of space and the overall effect was actually quite pleasing. The hotel is situated on an extension of the main pedestrian street leading into the Plaza de Armas, Jirón Lima, which makes it very handy for a selection of bars, cafés and restaurants, which was good as the nights were too cold to make you want to venture far.
Staff were friendly and accommodating. Suffering from altitude sickness and having just had a long bumpy bus journey from Chivay I was not feeling hungry, and my wife didn’t fancy going out for a meal either, so we asked if they could fix us up with bowls of chicken soup, which they did willingly. Also, the following evening I asked for a whiff of oxygen before I went to bed and they gave me a 15 minute dose without any hassle at all.

Breakfast was as boring and monotonous as we had come to expect, no better or worse than other hotels in Peru, but we are not great breakfast eaters, and I was too nauseous with altitude sickness to eat anything anyway…

Room Tip: Our room was poky - others may be larger (I don't know) so ask to have a look first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Puno, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and share your impressions about our Classic Puno Tikarani hotel.

We regret that we could not meet your expectations on some of our facilities; however we would like to mention that they correspond to our Classic brand standards. As well, our Classic hotels are comparable to a 3 star, offering different services that can meet our guests’ basic needs.

Once again, thank you for your comments and rest assured they are being taken into consideration as they help us to improve our service.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

1. Great location and staff.
2. Freezing in the room! They have an energy efficient key (you walk in an insert your key card to turn on the lights). That was not helpful when we would come back late and the room would be cold. It wouldn't warm up until an hour or so later with the heater turned on. We eventually asked for a permanent key so we could at least keep the heater on while we were out at night.
3. Staff was very friendly!
4. Good food for breakfast
5. Cute fireplace...we would hang out in the lobby while our rooms would warm up
6. We had a clean room (2 single beds, desk, closet, flat screen tv, hair dryer (that didn't work) and heater).
7. It was quiet on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Ask to get a permanent key so if you leave at night you can at least keep the heater on low so your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunscreen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was decent but our room was like a cheap Motel 8 (low end motel in the USA). We were there in the winter season and found the whole establishment to be like staying at the ICE HOTEL in Quebec City, Canada. The rooms were so cold they had not one but TWO space heaters. You're skin almost gets stuck to the toilet seat at night its so cold. Not only that , but the main area was also chilly. The only problem with this was that the dining area was in this area too and if you didnt eat quckly, your food would get cold fast. (sure i see people eating outside in montreal terraces in 10 degree (50F) weather, so this may not bother you..
the rooms were basically almost bare.. only 2 benches for your suitcases. and one chair...
There was no table.. no desk.. no clock... walls seemed to be slapped together with chewing gum...
the beds were comforatable and the staff was very helpfull. i wouldnt say this is a reason to stay here. Peruvians in general are the most friendliest and helpful people in the world. i never met an unfriendly peruvian (sure they must be hiding somewhere)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intellibyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Puno, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

We cannot be more thankful for letting us to know your insights regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations in terms of our rooms. We would like to mention that, according to the brand of our hotel, Casa Andina handles different standards that are consistent with our guests’ needs.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and offer you the real Casa Andina experience at any of our properties.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were at the hotel for two nights. We received very good service from the stall especially Jesus. When we arrived at the hotel we were sick from alt. sickness. We thought we were going to have to cancel our tour but, with the help of Jesus who provided us with oxygen and called a doctor, we were able to finish our trip and felt good for the rest of our vacation. Hotel was clean, breakfast was good. The location was convenient to the shops and restaurants. Our one complaint would be that the room and bed were small however; we made it work for us. We felt we got excellent service and would recommend the hotel to others. T&C USA

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
1.9 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
0.8 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 65 in Puno
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Puno

Property: Casa Andina Standard Puno
Address: Jr. Independencia 143, Puno 21001, Peru (Formerly Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani)
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Puno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A medium-size, easygoing hotel with several relaxing public areas, including a fireplace lounge and courtyard. Close to Puno’s restaurant and bar scene along the pedestrian-only Lima boulevard — just a 5-minute walk— but just far enough removed to make sure visitors get a good night’s sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing