We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel in Puno” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in Puno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved this hotel - in line with what you'd expect from a Tierra Viva property - but location is ideal - half a block off the main strip, so close to everything, but on a quiet side street. Right across from a bank where the cutest local women lined up each morning in their beautiful local outfits! Breakfast was great; Wifi strong; great shower; comfortable bed; friendly staff. Check-out at 10 am seems a little odd - although they gave us a "late" check-out until noon. And can't beat the value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Lawrence D,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Puno Plaza as the “Perfect hotel in Puno”.

If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    257
    52
    6
    3
See reviews for
107
447
53
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

One of the best decisions we made during our trip to Peru was staying at this hotel in Puno. It is a legit hotel, not a hostel/B&B masquerading as one. After a full day of sightseeing at Lake Titicaca and Puno, all we wanted to do was take a hot shower and relax, and this hotel totally allowed us to recharge.

We stayed in their standard double room, which has a super comfortable king size bed with multiple large, fluffy pillows, a flat-screen TV with a decent selection of channels (both in Spanish and English), and a beautiful ensuite bathroom (the hot water and water pressure = glorious). The hotel also offers laundry service (which I totally would've taken advantage of if we had more time and a breakfast buffet to its guests for a charge. We didn't try the breakfast buffet, but it looked pretty good!

The staff were great and provided a map of nearby attractions, and were also more than happy to arrange for a car to bring us to the bus station in the morning.

The only thing I would caution against is ordering room service from La Casona, which is a restaurant near to the hotel that handles the hotel's room service requests. We ordered two orders of lasagna (one beef, one vegetable), a pizza and hot chocolate. The hot chocolate came in a gigantic plastic container (which wasn't a problem - just odd) and did not taste good. The beef lasagna came and was half cold (as in, it had once been frozen and was not properly cooked through) and the vegetarian lasagna had waaaaaay too much pesto sauce. Long story short, the food was pretty disappointing. The availability of room service was great, but the actual room service food was not. This isn't really the hotel's fault, but just something to keep in mind.

Overall, we loved our stay here. Quite honestly, this hotel was probably our favourite part of Puno.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear V V,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza with other travelers.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Puno, Arequipa, Cusco or Lima.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel was amazing; superb customer service, comfortable bed and shower. I have nothing but great things to say about the customer service. I got altitude sickness (made the mistake of flying into Cusco and right now, made my way to Puno) but was well taken care of at this hotel. I was able to drink their coca tea as well as use their oxygen tank, which made me feel better. That was able to get me through the night.

Their breakfast was excellent (eggs, sausage, bread, yogurt, fruits, etc.). I was fed well before my tour to the Lake.

Highly recommended and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Canal M,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Puno Plaza as the “Best customer service!”.

If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

A very nice hotel with attentive staff and a huge surprise of a birthday cake served at breakfast!
Would definetly recommend this hotel group.

Only complaint was that the (huge) bathroom was very cold with no heating possibility.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karina_jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Karina_jag,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza with other travelers and for having stayed at our hotel.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima, Cusco, Arequipa or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Welcoming staff and a slightly strange smell in our room greeted us at the Tierra Viva - all in all, we felt very much at home. The hotel is located close to all of the action and we actually had a fairly good view of the cathedral from our room. The building is pretty anonymous from the outside, to the extent we walked straight past it on a couple of occasions when we were headed back, but the inside is tasteful and modern.

When choosing a hotel in Puno, we were slightly torn between the convenience and simplicity of staying in a conventional hotel like the Tierra Viva versus some of the more characterful, but more remote, hotels nearer the lake. We’re pleased with our choice of the Tierra Viva – we had more than enough lake time on our tours and the hotel meet all of our expectations in terms of service and proximity to good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Mutandis,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza with other travelers and for having stayed at our hotel.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima, Cusco, Arequipa or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

They had incredible service, comfy beds, modern showers, and a flat screen!!! I felt like for the first time in Peru there was a real nice modern hotel with the biggest bed ever! The location was really nice because there was a lot of restaurants near by. Their breakfast had such a variety to it not to mention how tasty it was.All in all Tierra Viva made our stay in puno all the better!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Burdekin,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Puno Plaza as “Amazing”.

If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you at our hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great location in Puno- one block away from the main square and about a 15 minute walk to the lake. The staff was wonderful. They sent someone to pick us up from the bus station at 5am free of charge and held our bags for two weeks while we went to Bolivia. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the showers were AMAZING! There was great water pressure and no issues with water temperature, which is something you can't take for granted in South America. They provide turn down service at night with fresh towels and yummy chocolates. The only complaint I have about this hotel is the street noise. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay and they were both a bit noisy. The wifi does go in and out too. Most of the time there was no problem connecting but a few times we had issues and were kicked off. Overall this is a great hotel and I would definitely recommend staying here if you are traveling to Puno!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the least amount of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Devon S,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza with other travelers and for having stayed at our hotel.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible. We are so sorry and strongly apologize for the noise issues that you had during your stay at our hotel.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
2.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
2.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.8 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Property: Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Address: Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#2 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno's Cathedral and Main Square ("Plaza de Armas") and a few steps away from Jiron Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the "capital of Peruvian Folklore". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing