We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“modern but cosy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“modern but cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Helpful staff that helped book a tour of the uros islands, centrally located this was perfect for 2 night stay. Clean, modern rooms as pictured, wi-fi and a decent breakfast. Great view onto the street, good for people watching
Much better than I expected for a place in Puno

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmepani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear jmepani,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for sharing you excellent experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    257
    52
    6
    3
See reviews for
107
447
53
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Autour du Monde
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

A really great and excellent place to stay. Nice and helpful staff. Very close to everything. The breakfast is perfect and very good. Rooms are very clean, modern and spacious. Well, great price, great location, great staff: so a great hotel for Peru! Wonderful! Nothing negative.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfschwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear jfschwab,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “very excellent hotel”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is in in excellent condition and offers great price and location. It is one block from the main plaza and Lima st. close to restaurants and bars. The staff was very helpful and friendly and helped me arrange my tours to Lake Titicaca. The hotel breakfast was excellent as well.

Room Tip: If you arrive by bus, walk outside the terminal where for 3-5 soles you can find a cab to drop you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WTraveler_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear WTraveler_14,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

My experience at this hotel was made exceptional by the extremely helpful attitude efforts by the hotel staff. The hotel is well placed half a block from the plaza de armas and the walking only road which is the heartbeat of the town. Furnishings are OK. Where the hotel excels is in the attitude and commitment of the staff to help the guest with whatever problems may arise. I travel on a motorcycle, and due to the extreme altitude and cold to be found in Puno, it would not start. The staff went overboard in working with me to start the machine. In the end the receptionist called a friend to come in with a car and we jump started the machine. This is not a problem the average traveler will encounter -- but it does symbolize the extreme commitment to passenger care by hotel staff.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear James C,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We absolutely loved staying at the Tierra Viva Puno. The hotel was in a great location, just off the main Plaza. The staff were incredibly kind and took care of everything we could have asked for. The breakfast was excellent. Try the fresh squeezed juice! Also, they had a couple different breakfast items every day. It was fun to see what they came up with :)

As a side note, if you are sensitive noise, hotels on the plaza may not be for you. This hotel was VERY nice, but the whole are is very noisy. My boyfriend and I are NOT sensitive to noise (I'm from Chicago after all), but the cars drive around the plaza and honk their horns at all times of the night. Furthermore, people play music all over the plaza trying to get tourists to give them money...and I'm pretty sure that there may be a nigh club with loud bass in the area. I'm glad we were not directly on the plaza, but this was one of the noisiest ares that I've ever been to. It may be worth getting a hotel at the top of the hill and walking quite a bit to escape the noise, if you are a light sleeper. Both my boyfriend and I wore ear plugs PLUS noise canceling headphones to get through the night, and we are NOT sensitive to noise.

However, I just want to emphasize that this was not the problem of the hotel, which was fantastic. This is a problem all of the hotels on the plaza face.

Also, I recommend booking through hotels.com for a better rate. I'm not affiliated with hotels.com, but the rate we got there was considerably cheaper than any of the other booking sites we tried or going directly through the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back. The view isn't quite as pretty, but it helps cut down on some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Hotel”.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I chose this hotel with some reserves for the comments that I saw here but I want to say that I didn't have any problems in this hotel. The breakfast is good, the room is little but with all the stuff that you need. You will stay a lot in excursions so the space is not a big deal. The bed is enormous and comfortable. The hotel staff is friendly and they can help you with suggestions and directions. I recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando_AMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear ,

Thank you so much for considering Tierra Viva “One of the Best Hotels in Puno”.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

After a long scenic bus ride from Cusco, we eagerly looked forward to freshening up at our hotel. We immediately felt at home from the friendly staff. We had a speedy check-in and had our bags brought up to our room on the fourth floor. The modern room was super clean and comfy. Loved the bed. The hotel was in a great location just a few doors down from Lima street where a lot of tourists roam for familiar food and drinks. The thing that really stood out for us was the staff. They were very helpful when we needed help with our inquiries. They even gave us umbrellas when an amazing thunder and rain storm opened up. It rained so hard that even Noah would have been impressed. Our umbrella managed to collapse because of it. This was not a problem, they simply gave us another one. The breakfast that was provided was good. Loved the coffee. They volunteered to arrange our pickup from the airport in Lima so we could be driven to the Tierra Viva hotel in Mira Flores. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Kevin F,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
2.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
2.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.8 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Property: Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Address: Jr. Grau 270 | a media cuadra de la plaza de armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#2 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno's Cathedral and Main Square ("Plaza de Armas") and a few steps away from Jiron Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the "capital of Peruvian Folklore". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing