We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel--great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We absolutely loved staying at the Tierra Viva Puno. The hotel was in a great location, just off the main Plaza. The staff were incredibly kind and took care of everything we could have asked for. The breakfast was excellent. Try the fresh squeezed juice! Also, they had a couple different breakfast items every day. It was fun to see what they came up with :)

As a side note, if you are sensitive noise, hotels on the plaza may not be for you. This hotel was VERY nice, but the whole are is very noisy. My boyfriend and I are NOT sensitive to noise (I'm from Chicago after all), but the cars drive around the plaza and honk their horns at all times of the night. Furthermore, people play music all over the plaza trying to get tourists to give them money...and I'm pretty sure that there may be a nigh club with loud bass in the area. I'm glad we were not directly on the plaza, but this was one of the noisiest ares that I've ever been to. It may be worth getting a hotel at the top of the hill and walking quite a bit to escape the noise, if you are a light sleeper. Both my boyfriend and I wore ear plugs PLUS noise canceling headphones to get through the night, and we are NOT sensitive to noise.

However, I just want to emphasize that this was not the problem of the hotel, which was fantastic. This is a problem all of the hotels on the plaza face.

Also, I recommend booking through hotels.com for a better rate. I'm not affiliated with hotels.com, but the rate we got there was considerably cheaper than any of the other booking sites we tried or going directly through the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back. The view isn't quite as pretty, but it helps cut down on some o...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Amanda H,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “Great Hotel”.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 893 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

I chose this hotel with some reserves for the comments that I saw here but I want to say that I didn't have any problems in this hotel. The breakfast is good, the room is little but with all the stuff that you need. You will stay a lot in excursions so the space is not a big deal. The bed is enormous and comfortable. The hotel staff is friendly and they can help you with suggestions and directions. I recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando_AMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear ,

Thank you so much for considering Tierra Viva “One of the Best Hotels in Puno”.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

After a long scenic bus ride from Cusco, we eagerly looked forward to freshening up at our hotel. We immediately felt at home from the friendly staff. We had a speedy check-in and had our bags brought up to our room on the fourth floor. The modern room was super clean and comfy. Loved the bed. The hotel was in a great location just a few doors down from Lima street where a lot of tourists roam for familiar food and drinks. The thing that really stood out for us was the staff. They were very helpful when we needed help with our inquiries. They even gave us umbrellas when an amazing thunder and rain storm opened up. It rained so hard that even Noah would have been impressed. Our umbrella managed to collapse because of it. This was not a problem, they simply gave us another one. The breakfast that was provided was good. Loved the coffee. They volunteered to arrange our pickup from the airport in Lima so we could be driven to the Tierra Viva hotel in Mira Flores. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Kevin F,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 days during our stay in Puno. The location is great being one block from many restaurants and shops. The room was a good size with a huge double bed. The staff went out of their way to be helpful when ever we looked in a daze. Although the room does not have a mini-bar there is a fridge downstairs with a good selection of drinks which can be added to your bill.
Breakfast was adequate without being exceptional but certainly sufficient for the day ahead.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear ichibanwanderer,

Thank you so much for considering Tierra Viva a “Good Hotel”.

We are so glad of knowing that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel was very clean and modern. The bed was huge & very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and staff at the front desk were very helpful in organising trips etc. Central location near the main square.
We would highly recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eamonn1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear eamonn1981,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the
near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We only spent one night at this Tierra Viva, but definitely wanted to stay there given the quality of their sister location in Cuzco. We did not regret it: rooms were very spacious, the location super central and the breakfast possibly the most generous one served in Peru (quinoa pancakes anyone?). After a long bus ride, we were pleased to be checked in in no time at all before being ushered to our room very fast. Very comfortable mattresses, high-quality linen- we slep like babies...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank StephaneRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear StephaneRey ,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The room is super clean and beautifull, it has a heater (which is a must in july/august), location wise is at the back of the central plaza, staff was also very friendly, free breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazmin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Jazmin T,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “great hotel with great service”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of having you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
2.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
2.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Address: Jr. Grau 270 | A Media Cuadra De La Plaza De Armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#2 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $57 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno's Cathedral and Main Square ("Plaza de Armas") and a few steps away from Jiron Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the "capital of Peruvian Folklore". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, BookAssist, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing