We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tierra Viva, a Traveler's Friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tierra Viva, a Traveler's Friend”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After a long middle of the night bus ride from Cusco, we arrived in Puno at dawn.

Tired and in need of some sleep, the warm and friendly staff invited us to enjoy their delicious breakfast buffet. Unbeknownst to us our rooms were being prepared hours before normal check in.

Following an early breakfast, we were allowed to check in to our rooms. It was such a tremendous relief and much appreciated.

As far as the hotel is concerned, we found it very charming. comfortable and hospitable.

The location is safe and centrally located to the heart of the city's best bars, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear MartinDuran,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    280
    58
    7
    4
See reviews for
113
482
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Honestly speaking, taking Tierra Viva hotel was maybe the best hotel in Peru.
Clean, comfortable, with big breakfast and as bonus very helpful staff.
The location is on silent street (void for cars) and just 2 minutes walk distance to main square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef7375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Josef7375,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva as“The Best Hotel in Peru”

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed a great stay of six nights at this wonderful hotel. They offer modern, spacious and clean rooms that make you want to stay in your room for the whole day... A very helpfull staff helps you with all your questions and organizes everything. They also have a great variety at breakfast. Location downtown, next to main plaza makes this hotel an outstanding choice in this town.


.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Roland K,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel and for sharing your Tierra Viva experience with other travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay in puno at Tierra Viva. It located right off the main plaza, so you can walk to everything. Breakfast was included each morning. Room was nice, clean, hot shower. Overall, great for the price, great location, and clean - would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye_TravelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Buckeye_TravelerSF,

Thank you so much for yourexcellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva experience with other travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent two nights in Tierra Viva in Puno and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well located (2 mins from the Plaza de Armas) and has recently been refurbished. The rooms are very clean, functional and really warm. The staff was friendly and very helpful, especially since we had to scan and email some documents. Breakfast was plentiful and nice. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear EveWellington,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending Tierra Viva to other travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we hope to have you again with us
in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

When we book Tierra Viva hotel in Puno we were under the impression that their double room has a king size bed so we were a bit disappointed when we saw a double size bed and the room was very small. 

The bed however is very comfy. The location is good, very close to plaza de armas and all the good restaurant. The service and breakfast are also up to standard. 

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Kimikal,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile


Nice, helful staff. They even changed our soles for us into smaller bills. Beautiful room with chocolates on the pillow. Good breakfast-best that we had in peru. Super close to the main square and main street. Very close to a really delicious pizza place (pizzeria andina )if you are almost done your trip and longing for some non Peruvian food like we were.
Bad things-awful plumbing. Our sink never drained the entire night. Also, it's such a nice place but you still have to throw your toilet paper in the trash! I understand for public restrooms etc but come on...you provide us artisanal soap but you cant provide us will toilets that can handle TP??
Also, the room had a weird smell to it when you walk in. Not dirty...more like moth balls maybe? But it was easy to get used to.

No fridge in the room

Overall I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dana9880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear dana9880,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We are taking in consideration your recommendation in order to improve our service.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
552 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
2.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
2.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 65 in Puno
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Property: Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Address: Jr. Grau 270 | A Media Cuadra De La Plaza De Armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#2 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno's Cathedral and Main Square ("Plaza de Armas") and a few steps away from Jiron Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the "capital of Peruvian Folklore". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookAssist, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing