We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Centrally located, nice, clean if somewhat small rooms. Hotel staff was very helpful with getting a taxi, offering upfront to help. Free WiFi worked as advertised. Rooms are a bit small and the plumbing in our bathrooms were not great, but for a short stay where you really just come back to sleep, it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 913 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, they really go out of their way to please you- we were given an extra heater too! Rooms are very clean and new, the beds were a little bit hard and no detachable shower head which would be our only criticism .
We had left something in the room and the Hotel sent it to their Cusco Hotel for us to collect as we stayed there too. Service was amazing, nothing was too much trouble!
Great value for money would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms have double glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topbanana1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Topbanana1234,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highlighting our service considering it as “amazing”.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The room was very nice - clean, spacious, quiet, plenty of light, comfortable beds. We were on the 4th floor facing the street (room #401?). The only complaint we had is that there is not a fan in the bathroom, and it got very steamed up and stayed damp after a shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They offer a complimentary pick up at the bus or train station upon arrival, but we arrived by plane & shuttle from the airport. So, instead the hotel provided a ride to the bus station when we left. I would definitely stay here again. Note that the hotel is on a corner (one block from the main square); it's a little difficult to find because they do not have a sign, and the front door is recessed from the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlquestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear trvlquestions,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for rate us with 4.5 stars!

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Agree with previous reviewer about the high quality of Tierra Viva hotels. We stayed in this one in Puno and in one in Cusco.
This one in Puno is very centrally located just metres from the central square. The Festival de la Virgen de la Candelaria was on while we were there so roads were closed and our tour guide had to go round the houses to find the place, but it did mean our entertainment was taken care of - hundreds of dance and music groups parading all day along a narrow street just down from the hotel, despite the rain. And a band competition in the central square the next day under the blazing sun.
The hotel is very modern, very clean, helpful staff, decent breakfast, and our room was a decent size and very cheap for the quality offered. Would go back in a heartbeat if ever in Puno again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear RedHeadPeter,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment about our hotel in Puno, and for mention the quality of service of one of the Tierra Viva´s Hotels in Cusco.

You will find the same quality of service in all our hotels in Peru.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Tierra Viva chain of hotels are fantastic. I stayed at the Puno and Arequipa branches on a recent trip to Peru and was impressed by the quality of both hotels. The rooms are comfortable, huge beds, clean big bathrooms, welcoming staff, good breakfast selection and central location. Additionally, the rate makes these hotels very good value. Good, modern hotels in regional Peruvian cities are quite hard to find, so I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear joegriff,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering our hotel chain as “Fantastic”.

You will find our hotels in Cusco, Arequipa, Puno and very soon in Lima.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great little hotel with very helpful staff. Room is tight, but the very large and comfortable bed was worth the crowding. Very good TV and Internet service in room. Ask for a room on the street side. Average breakfast for peru , but very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear adventurer61,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first five nights of March. It is located on a pedestrian street and hardly any noise. The room was very comfortable and the heater worked really well. The bathroom was excellent and the amenities were above standard. The free breakfast was great and even one morning they made my wife pancakes. The staff were wonderful and would do anything to help you. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Puno.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bankerross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear bankerross,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
2.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
422 reviews
2.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel

Address: Jr. Grau 270 | A Media Cuadra De La Plaza De Armas, Puno 21001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#2 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $58 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is located in Grau Street, at the heart of the city of Puno, just a block away from Puno's Cathedral and Main Square ("Plaza de Armas") and a few steps away from Jiron Lima, an important commercial and touristic pedestrian street.Our hotel has been completely renovated and offers 30 spacious and comfortable rooms.Tierra Viva Puno Plaza is the ideal place to rest, recharge your batteries and prepare for a new adventure at the shores of Lake Titicaca, in the city named as the "capital of Peruvian Folklore". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookAssist, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing