We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the breakfast cops!”
Review of Hotel Balsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Balsa
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Balsa's on an unimpressive side street, but convenient to the bright lights of Jiron Lima. Hotel caters to adventure tour groups. Rooms are fairly nice. Wi-fi is relatively reliable. There's a nice breakfast buffet, aggressively policed against those trying to cop more than they've paid for!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nworbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 222 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed two nights as part of GAdventures trip. Good location and clean room. No problems with hotel. Did not spend a lot of time in hotel . Breakfast was fine and included in the room rate.Easy walk back into the tourist areas of the town

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckybearriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in Puno on two different nights as part of a G Adventures holiday.

The hotel exceeded my expectations. Comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, good wifi access In both rooms that I stayed in, heaters and TV with one English speaking channel

The hotel is well located within easy walking distance to the Plaza De Armas.

Puno itself is nothing special, just a stop over location to and from a homestay in Lake Titicaca.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfq_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Friendly staff. Good location. Spacious comfortable room. This is a very decent hotel. breakfast was good but needs to get up early to have a good choice. I'd recommend hotel balsa.
It does get a bit cold even with the radiator but plenty of blankets

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was clean and very comfortable due to it being nice and warm. I found it a real plus having a radiator in the room when travelling around at high altitudes and the carpet also made the room cosier. The bathroom was new and the shower hot, all big pluses. The staff in the hotel were polite and helpful, especially Santiago, one of the doormen/cleaners who always had a smile on his face and was super friendly in a sincere way (ie not just trying to get tips).
Breakfast was ok but not the best. The only thing I noticed which was a negative was that one morning we had to wait a little for breakfast to start and once the hall was open they didn't have the eggs ready until about 25 minutes later. This can be an inconvenience if you're in a hurry but I don't think it happens regularly.
The hotel can arrange day trips to the Uros islands.
Overall a reccommendable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilaczebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Free internet and WiFi available. Rooms clean and comfy. Breakfast continental buffet, cold meats, scramble eggs, bread, fresh fruit and cereal, milk and yogurt, thought good value compared to other hotels we stayed in.
We were to be collected to go to Lake Titicaca by our tour operator, {nothing to do with hotel}, however they forgot to collect us, spoke with staff who made several phone calls on my behalf and within 15 minutes transport arrived and the ferry was delayed for our arrival. Extremely grateful as my Spanish poor and not up to telephone conversations. Staff very helpful and friendly. Close to main square, so good location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in different rooms whilst on a tucan tour. Rooms are basic - ours were cold and had signs of mould and damp. They do provide an electric heater though.

Lift wasn't working so big hike to 5th floor

Breakfast was ok but not worth the 13 soles in my opinion. Scrambled eggs cold, bread dry and

Free wifi although most times unusable. 2 pcs for Internet in reception.

Staff rarely available and difficult to communicate with.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flossy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 64 in Puno
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qelqatani Hotel
Qelqatani Hotel
#21 of 64 in Puno
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balsa

Address: Jiron Cajamarca 555, Puno 01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $36 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balsa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your best and safer choice. With our welcoming attention and efficient service you will feel at home.The Balsa Hotel offers to all its guests the comfort of its modern facilities and equipment, thus like its experience in Hotels.Our only intention is to satisfy desires and necessities with our guests, guaranteeing their unforgettable holidays and making the most of your . Luxury rooms and bathrooms Buffet Breakfast included for all guests All carpeted rooms Box spring beds Super king beds Private bathroom with tub and shower Hot water 24 hours Heating in all rooms Hair Dryer in all rooms Safe box in all rooms Telephone in all rooms WI-FI in all Hotel TV per cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Otel, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Balsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing