We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel, needs TLC”
Review of XIMA Puno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
XIMA Puno Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is on the outskirts of Puno and it is no good if you want to walk into town.
It is getting a bit tired and the rooms, fixtures and fittings could do with some TLC. The staff are helpful and friendly and we only had the breakfast there which is the normal basic selection of cereals, bread and some fruit.
You can do better in Puno.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 472 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived at the Eco Inn Puno coming in from the Eco Inn at Cusco.

The property at Puno is smaller than the property at Cusco, this comparison apart on its own the property is well kept neat with friendly people serving you. There is a nice log fire in the lobby which leads to a nice well lit with natural light restaurant.

The room numbering is misleading as rooms starting with 2 & 3 are on the same floor different directions. There is a single lift but as it goes up only one floor it is not inconvenient. The rooms are nice they advertise every room as a view of the lake, which is not quite correct as you do not have a view but more of a glimpse between trees and buildings.

The restaurant is good we choose to have both dinners here by choice the food was good. The breakfast also was quite satisfactory.

The Hotel is above average but below very good, as trip advisor does not have a good rating have chosen very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyKochhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Eco Inn is situated on the outskirt of Puno and you'll need to take a cab to get into town. We appreciated being out of town though. The hotel was clean, and service was very good. The restaurant is ok - the staff were very good, but Puno can be cold and we found that the significant use of glass windows left the restaurant chilly at both breakfast and dinner. Our room (101) was among the largest on our whole trip and there was a heater in the room to help keep it warm. The biggest problem that we had was that our toilet would not flush properly and had to be fixed twice in two days.

Room Tip: If possible get a room away from the lobby - we stayed in room 101 and could hear the lobby music at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Eco Inn is situated on the outskirt of Puno. The hotel is clean, rooms are fairly big, service is also good. The nights are very cold in May but the heater in the room helped to keep it warm. The restaurant is...welll...ok. The best plate is trout, the wine list is very poor. Bring your own or take beer. Considering that Alto Plano is not a wealthy area of Peru and tourism came here only recently Eco Inn is doing a great job.

Room Tip: Ask for the room looking at small garden at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A nice hotel on the shore of lake titticaca. We had 2 nights here and found it comfortable, clean and the staff were nice. The rooms were big, had really nice showers / bathroom and there was free wifi throughout the building. My only criticism is that the location is quite a way out of town which is good in some respects (quiet) but there was nowhere local to walk to at all for food or snacks. We ate one night in the restaurant (nothing special at all) and the other night we got a taxi into the main puno square and ate there. The taxi to town was very easy to arrange and cheap (8 soles each way) and I think that the location balanced with ease of access to town makes this a good option to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found this to be a lovely hotel. Very clean and one of the few places that did not have rugs. They have a large buffet in the morning, that had a nice selection. The hot water took a few minutes to arrive but plenty once it started to come. You had to take a taxi to get here but the views were beautiful and it was very quiet area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utopianvoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Puno is an ugly, dirty city. There are lots of little hotels of low to moderate quality in the heart of the city, but we decided to stay on the outskirts near the lake. Eco Inn was incredibly affordable, so we weren't sure what to expect. Once we arrived in Puno and saw the shape of things, we were immediately happy with our decision. Don't get me wrong, the area around the Plaza de Armas is decent with some nice restaurants and bars, but we were happy to take the $4 cab ride back to the Eco Inn at the end of the night. The Eco Inn seems relatively new and is very well maintained. We found the staff to be exceedingly friendly and they went above and beyond to help us out when we had questions. The cab ride into town is about five minutes and, as I mentioned, a fixed 10 Soles (currently about $4). We never had to wait more than five minutes for a cab after notifying reception. In summary, while this is simply your average clean, comfortable hotel, with the town of Puno and it's other lodging offerings as a backdrop, I give Eco five stars. I would easily stay here again if I ever find myself in Puno again.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
8.6 mi away
Taypikala Lago
Taypikala Lago
#12 of 64 in Puno
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
421 reviews
2 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XIMA Puno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XIMA Puno Hotel

Address: Avenida Chulluni 195 | Barrio Nueva Esperanza, Puno 00000, Peru (Formerly Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake)
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puno
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range: $44 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — XIMA Puno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your XIMA Puno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake Hotel Puno
Eco Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing