We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, creepy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, creepy city”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

You certainly get the feeling that you don't want to spend a lot of time wandering around Puno. You go there only because you want to see Lake Titicaca. But this hotel is comfortable and safe. The restaurant was good, both for dinner and the included breakfast. Our room was clean and perfectly acceptable. I liked the llamas out back--they seem pretty content. I appreciated the computers that were there for visitors to use. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolFMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    195
    110
    24
    6
See reviews for
78
165
36
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel is a long way from the centre of town, about a 15 soles round trip in a taxi. However, this may not be a bad thing considering Puno is not a very attractive, friendly, charming or interesting town. Just do be lake and honestly then get out of there. Wifi in the hotel was very weak, but breakfast was pretty good. Service just ok

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLDOZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My family stayed here two nights, before and after an overnight trip to Amantani Island in Lake Titicaca. The rooms were neat and clean but basic. The staff was very helpful and the restaurant was certainly acceptable considering they had a captive audience. It was a cab ride to any place. There was no walking available, especially after dark (the front desk advised adamantly against this idea). Downtown Puno is somewhere else, not near the Eco Inn. We ignored the "no walking" advice and went to the Libertador Hotel for dinner the second night, about 1/2 mile away via a causeway, where we were rewarded with a five star meal and access to an ATM - neither of which was available at the Eco Inn. (The Libertador itself looked like a five star property. You might check for reviews.) The Eco Inn staff will provide oxygen in the lobby (if you don't mind looking dorky in public with an oxygen mask) or in your room. Don't pass up the opportunity unless you are accustomed to 12500 feet elevations! It does make you feel much better. Also, I suggest you insist that they set the oxygen bottle on the opposite end of the lobby, well away from the fireplace which is always burning in the evening! I expect their casual attitude about bottled oxygen may result in forced renovations one day.

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to the second floor. I suggest a room on this level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ras828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Eco Inn was the best experience among hotels in which we stayed during our Peru trip. It is located a little bit far from the center of Puno, but since the price for the taxi was only 8 soles and it took around 10-15 minutes to get to the center or to the port, I see no problems in the location. On the other hand there are beautiful views of the lake (not magnificent but quite peaceful), very quite place, free coca tea, excellent breakfast with great variety of food and funny alpacas at the backyard. In each room there is a large sill turned into sofa where you can sit and look at thee lake - quite romantic)) Staff was quite helpful, rooms are very clean and modern. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is an affordable, clean, and perfectly nice hotel for a visit to Puno. The staff is helpful and friendly. Té de coca is available for free all day long in the lobby. The continental breakfast had a good variety of options and was pretty good. The rooms are spacious, though a little bare with light wood furnishings and only a few decorations. Overall, the hotel was quiet and seemed to be popular with larger, older tourists groups and families (there is an animal petting area out back with llamas and alpaca).

We recommend booking online on booking.com. It was the first time we had used this site, which seems to be pricer for some places and have discounted rates for others. We paid $52 with breakfast included by using them; if I remember correctly, rates secured directly from the hotel began around $90 without breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanandCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Eco Inn is a simple unpretentious small hotel by the Titicaca lake (don't imagine any spectacular view though). Modern and very clean with comfortable beds. It is at 3 km from the center down and that assures a good sleep (Puno can be very noisy). Surprisingly, dinner was simple but food was perfectly cooked (not cheap though). Our waited, Julius César, was very kind and helpful. Breakfast included was well prepared with all sorts of fruits (everywhere in Peru) and freshly baked bread. Wi-fi connection not so great.

Room Tip: A possible decent destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed here 2 nights during a trip to Lake Titicaca and found it very nice and away from the downtown area (quiet!). The room was very large with a nice bathroom. There was also a smallish heater in the room which helped during the cold nights. The breakfast was one of the better that I had in all the hotels I stayed at with a large selection.

The hotel is located across the road from the lake, but there wasn't much traffic while I was there.

The staff was very nice and helpful in answering questions.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazcatrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puno hotels
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
2.5 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake

Property: Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake
Address: Avenida Chulluni 195 | Barrio Nueva Esperanza, Puno 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puno
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Inn Puno Titicaca Lake Hotel Puno
Eco Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing