We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was so slow”
Review of Lago de Flores

Lago de Flores
Ranked #35 of 92 Restaurants in Puno
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Peruvian, Cafe
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Service was so slow”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were the only group for dinner. Service was so slow. I think it's a general trend with Peruvian restaurants. Everywhere we went, service was slow. But this place was epic. From the time we sat to the time we got our first plate, an hour had passed.

We were seated upstairs and somehow, the smoke from the oven located on the ground floor kept wafting upstairs. We had to keep the window open to clear the air even though we were freezing.

The limonada mint (s3) was a disappointment, looked like made from a syrup. It wasn't good.

I ried the sopa de la criolla (s10). The soup was lukewarm by the time I got it. The noodles were soggy and the meat chunks tough. I was so hungry I didn't care.

They had no more kingfish so my mom had the grilled trout (s22) and she said it was very fresh. My sister had the pasta bolognesa (s16), it was passable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    37
    16
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Misleading menu and credit card info; dumpy interior”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

1) The door lists about 6 different credit cards accepted, but when we were there yesterday, they accepted only ONE (Visa). So ASK FIRST.

2) The place is unattractively dark, almost depressing. The first floor has three tables right next to a large pizza oven which was stone cold at our visit - good thing. I can't imagine how anyone could sit right in front of the open fire pit if it were actually fired up. The upstairs has an opaque window that lets in light but there is no view or decoration.

3) The menu looks extensive and interesting, but we were just there for a late afternoon break from the rain. When I didn't find any wine (other than vino caliente) on the menu and asked the waitress, she looked confused and clueless. An older woman sitting nearby referred her to the two bottles in the bar. Both bottles of red were open, with little left. I asked to sniff them. One had turned. I would have left at this point, but my husband had ascertained that the restaurant had free WiFi and had already opened his computer and ordered a beer. So I asked for a glass of the other red wine, which was OK. For an appetizer I ordered an intriguing sounding bruchetta with fig jam and a red wine sauce (about 10 soles). The presentation was attractive but the bread had been microwaved to heat it, ruining the texture. We paid 34 soles for a wine, beer, and bruchetta.

4) When we arrived, admittedly, at an off hour, the lights were off downstairs while a party was going on upstairs. The older woman had to tell the waitress to turn the lights on!

Conclusion: There may be reasons for a restaurant to have an off day, but everything was off here - a dimwitted waitress, old wine, microwaved bread, and a permanently unattractive interior. We visited only because the woman at a nearby botica recommended it as having WiFi, and it was starting to rain really hard.

I don't think I have ever given a restaurant 1 star before. This one deserves it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were tempted by the restaurant by the menu and the young man outside. It was a disappointment. The service was slow, the portions small (like a failed attempt at nouvelle cusine) The desert was... not good. Ate dinner beside the waitress who spent the entire time on Facebook at an oddly place computer. All ended with the theatrics of not having you're full change thus pocketing an undeserved tip. I don't easily give bad reviews, but with this place I was compelled.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christophe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Great value, great place”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The restaurant is just out of the main street, Calle Lima. We were pulled in the restaurant by someone on Calle Lima. Usually I don't like that, but it turned out to be a great place for dinner.
They had a great value menu with starter, main, dessert and one hot drink for S/19. Food was well-presented, good, and they had vegetarian options. The wood-fired pizza oven in the dining area adds up to the athmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, good service.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was great. We tried cuy (guinnea pig) for the first time and it was very good. The alpaca kebobs and alpaca in red wine sauce were fabulous. Pisco sours were generous and delicious. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanneD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago de Flores also viewed

 

Been to Lago de Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing