We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a reason this place in number 1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loving Hut Vegan

Loving Hut Vegan
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Vegan Food, Products, Lunch, Cafe, Cokkies and Cakes gluten free, If you are Vegan, please call us any time and let sorprice you.
Taganga, Colombia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“There's a reason this place in number 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

As soon as we walked in we were given a smiley welcome from the guy running the place. He told us to help ourselves to salad, a drink, and cutlery, and sit ourselves down for the set menu deal.

After the salad we got a big bowl of soup with veggies and a quinoa/barley type grain.
Then we got a taster plate of all three dishes they had on offer that day - a broccoli tart, a bean stew, and a veggie curry-like dish, along with rice and various sauces.

We were far too stuffed to find out what was for dessert!

This place is bright, bustling, and very healthy. There is lots of vegan messaging and literature around the place which could come across as preachy, but don't let that put you off - the vibe is very positive and we were sad to only have gone here once.

They also have lots of grain, sauces, and other products to buy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    35
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ah, vegetarian!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hard to find veggie food in Peru. Loving Hut has a variable menu every day and the day we ate there they had a sort of noodle dish along with rice, a soup, beans and dessert. Very reasobnably priced. I wish they didn't have any TVP either for true vegetarians.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Puja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great healthy food, friendly owner, well priced :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hard to find healthy food in Peru.
This place was a stand out.

Yummy, healthy food at a low price. Couldn't ask for much more!

The owner is a Dr with experience in natural, alternative and conventional health.

Highly recommend grabbing a bite for lunch if you are in Puno.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vegan heaven in Puno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were surprised to find this amazing gem of a place in Puno. Even though this is a chain ( Asia, USA) the place had a local small town feel to it. The owner was very friendly and explained the dishes to us in English. The food itself was amazing and fulfilling :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KP82125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great vegan oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We are not vegan but may now become vegan. This restaurant really turned us on to the diet. Apparently this is a chain ( please dont let that scare you away ) that started in asia and made its way through north america, europe and this is the first one here in Peru. We got the set menu and for 12 soles per person you get a delicious salad buffet, choice of three types of drinks, i got mate and honey. A huge main entree with really four dishes of an artichokes dish, lentils, quinoa, and something like chickpea falafel ball. As bland as that might sound it was fantastic and very flavorful. Dessert was something of an apple sauce but nothing like from back home. An excellent meal and maybe life changing as well.

Helpful?
2 Thank miablee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loving Hut T, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Loving Hut Vegan, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Miablee,
Really We hope that you will be vegan.. and open a restaurant in Fresno soon.
Thanks for your letter to Trip Advisor... but we do not use honey... it was whole sugar honey...
Please look at this: "The vanishing of the bees" www.vanishingbees.com/‎ This is the reason.
We love your heart.. please try vegan.
:) Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loving Hut Vegan also viewed

 

Been to Loving Hut Vegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing